We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Value - Great Location”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel meets ones expectations for a Hampton in. Parking is by Valet only. The ticket says that wait time can be 30 minutes, but that is not my experience. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful, check-in has been quick and clear on both of my stays. The rooms are roomy and well appointed, the beds are comfortable. The heating/cooling system is efficient and not overly noisy. Not really a clean-modern feel to the rooms, but not dingy and old either. For a hotel with a great location, I have yet to have a room with a nice view. Shower is good with steady temperature and good pressure. Cleaning staff are good about replenishing the supplies. My only housekeeping issue was during my first stay, when there was the same long hair on the shower wall for the entire length of my stay. I left it up as an experiment (Yuck!).
There is a nice kitchen in the lobby that serves breakfast and hosts an after work reception with beer, wine and snacks. There is coffee in the lobby all day and night.
The greatest thing about this hotel is its location. It is right on Beach Drive and close to very nice restaurants and some shops - as well as the bay. Very pretty place to go for walks. This area does not seem to have the extensive street-people presence that most of the rest of Downtown St. Pete does, which is a nice break.
Overall, I intend to keep staying at this hotel, i like the value and love the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for the very detailed account of your stay. Some very good, some good, some OK and one "experiment" that is completely unacceptable from my view. However, your review sounds honest and sincere and we appreciate your loyalty. We will work on improving areas that you mentioned and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    277
    52
    20
    13
See reviews for
275
322
50
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for a wedding, recently. The hotel is perfectly located in Downtown. Close to the Saturday Market and on Beach Drive with all the eateries. The rooms were very nice. We were automatically upgraded to a suite – without asking. The rooms were clean and nice. Bed was comfy. The thing with this hotel that stood out was the SERVICE. It was exceptional. Everyone must have been practicing their customer service skills the entire weekend. All the way from the valet guys to the check in desk to the cleaning people. I was very impressed by the way they treated all their guests. And not just one or 2 staff members, but the entire hotel staff.

A few tips when you go – you can only valet your car. There is no parking unless you park on the street. No biggie though – if you call the valet attendant, they will have your car ready for you at whatever time you tell them and have it waiting when you come down.

Breakfast – I will say, this is just a get something in your mouth/stomach breakfast. Good coffee. Nice and convenient but nothing more than that. Which is ok, because in DT St. Pete, there are so many places to sit on a sidewalk and have breakfast with a mimosa or bloodymary.

I would make this my first choice if I stay in the area again.

Room Tip: Ceviche's has a basement (yeah... a basement in "Florida" terms....) bar. Good music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for the compliments regarding our staff. "Exceeding expectations", "being proactive" and "going above and beyond" are all overused phrases I hear from other companies regarding their customer service. Here, at our property, we do work very hard to make sure that every guest is given the attention and service levels they deserve. Again, I appreciate your recognition of our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed there for a teacher's conference. Very clean, staff was both friendly and professional. Pool was nice..the breakfast rocked!! Manager happy hour with cold beverages and hot appetizers was well received. .......

Room Tip: Be sure to take the Loop bus for 50 cents right out by hotel -Stop 13 to the Pier for a walk,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougapher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. I'm glad you mentioned The Looper Trolley. A narrated tour of downtown St Petersburg that makes the entire loop in 20 minutes. And it only costs 50 cents! We highly recommend this "trip" for any first time visitor to the area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Service, breakfast, and location all outstanding. The beds are very comfortable. I love the multiple electric outlets on the nightstand. I was pleased I could buy a snack by the front desk in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Another business edge: Both wired and wireless Internet access in all rooms free of charge. Thank you for pointing out our advantages to the business traveler. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

With the birth of our newest grandbaby taking place at Bayfront Hospital (and her being moved into All Children’s), we needed a hotel close by. This Hampton Inn was recommended by Patient Services and I can honestly say it couldn’t have been a better choice. The hotel staff became like my second family. Rooms were clean and serviced daily if needed, beds were comfortable & rooms had small fridge & microwave oven. Dvd player in room & a good selection of free dvd’s available in lobby to check out. Free wi-fi, too. I enjoyed the daily breakfast selections (various hot items), cold cereals, waffles, oatmeal, fresh fruit , breads & danish. And the coffee & hot water for tea/cocoa was always ready in the lobby. Mon. – Thurs. manager’s reception offers soda, beer & wine along with various appetizers. Can’t beat it!! Staff are so nice…every one of them! This hotel is convenient to so many offerings of Downtown St. Petersburg (loved Saturday market ) and there are museums, waterfront, parks , the Pier and so many amazing restaurants (loved Beach Drive!!) Tropicana Field also very close by. You can even take a ride by horse and buggy or the Downtown Trolley to view the area. Valet parking guys were also so polite & friendly. I will definitely return here and look forward to another outstanding hotel stay THANKS!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for the exceptional review. Usually I will try to expand on your compliments or mention another attribute that was not reviewed. However, I think I will let this review speak for itself. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Came up from the Miami area for a womens half marathon and could not of asked for a more perfect friendly hotel and stay!! First and for most 2 "QUEEN" beds and couldn't ask for a better location. Staff was excellent from the valet to the front desk and the icing on the cake was they opened up their free continental breakfast an hour early (5 am) to accommodate us runners and the selection of food was great (loved the mini omelettes). Was pleasantly suprised to come back to the room from a full day of walking the town to a basket of fresh towels, soaps and shampoos waiting at our door since we left the do not disturb sign on the door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySOFLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
The marathon is a great event for downtown St Pete and we are glad you participated. We strive to get the little "extras" right so they make an impact on your stay. Opening the breakfast early and providing our DND basket to your door seems to have accomplished this goal. We appreciate your comments and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We're locals but decided to stay the night here to be close to an early-morning event on weekend. We love the Beach Dr./downtown St. Pete area so being located in the heart of it was like being on vacation. Upon arrival, we were surprised to find we'd been upgraded to a nicer room and as it turned out, it had a private balcony over looking Beach Dr. That was a very nice surprise! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the valet parking (which I highly recommend given how hard it can be to find a parking spot in that area on the weekend) attendants were friendly and welcoming, all in all everyone was just wonderful. The room itself was nice and clean and appointed with all the usual amenities of a mid-range hotel.

We're very glad we made the choice we did, had a very enjoyable stay and would happily recommend this as a place for people visiting the area who want to be within easy walking distance of all the dining, museums and sights that downtown St. Pete has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Beach might be a little bit noisier but overall, this is a very quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleInJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Great to get a response from a local resident. We are not just for individuals from far away, but we can be a perfect place for a quick weekend getaway as well. With all the events in downtown St Pete year-round, we always recommend staying here and experiencing the lovely downtown area to its fullest. Thanks for the positive review and we hope you will stay again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing