We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
“Customer Service”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I arrived at the hotel on Thursday evening (9/6/12). I notice throughout the night we had ants in the bathroom and in my daughter's bed. I informed the manager on duty (Nykisha Donato). She was great in assisting us with another room, actually she gave us a suite, and removed the charges for that night. Her customer service skills are second to none.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your story would certainly fit into the category of "sometimes the response can be more important than the problem". Obviously, we try to get everything right from the beginning, but occassionally inconveniences can occur. When this happens all of our staff are trained to respond in a way that will satisfy our guests. Nykisha obviously appreciates the importance of this and demonstrates that beleif on a daily basis. I will make sure that she is recognized appropriately.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    284
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
285
333
54
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here in August for fun with 2 girlfriends. Valet was $14/day, and the valet staff were all very friendly. The room was fine, didn't notice any weird odors or anything. The beds were VERY comfortable! Our toilet was having trouble flushing, we called the front desk and they came to fix it within 5 minutes. It didn't really fix the problem, and we dealt with the slow toilet. The hotel offers free DVD rentals which was nice. Like I said, there were free appetizers and beer/wine/soda from 5-7 PM. The appetizers weren't anything fancy, but they were still good and kept us full for a bit. The hotel is about 20 minutes from St. Pete Beach.

One of the female employees in the free breakfast area was extremely rude to one of my girlfriends during our stay. It was totally uncalled for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
First, I would like to apologize for my late response. I did read the review earlier, but failed to respond on this site. Age must be setting in!

Thank you for the detailed account of your stay and for mentioning the many "extras" available at our hotel. I have shared your comment regarding our breakfast attendant with all the breakfast personnel and reinforced our best procedures for ensuring all our guests feel valued and comfortable..

Thank you for taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

The staff is so lovely and
friendly. The location is perfect for business or pleasure. The room was very clean and spacious. I highly recommend this property.
I will definitely stay at this property again and again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KHitchins61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Your positive comments are very helpful to me in keeping my staff motivated. I thank you for sharing and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a suite, which was large but so dark and outdated! The bathroom seriously needs to be renovated too! There is valet parking at this hotel, but you can park on the other side of the street, which will cost you much less!
Good points: Staff was nice and breakfast was good, with plenty of choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am sorry that you thought our room to be less than expected. We have made several improvements to our rooms over the years to keep them up-to-date and competitive in the market. Perhaps a different room would be more to your liking and we welcome the chance to accomodate you again on your next visit to St. Petersburg. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, FL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Long-time returnees (since hotel opened a few years ago)...the hotel, which still appears "brand new," gets better with age!
There is no better location for Rays' baseball, Dali museum, Beach drive cafes and Central Ave. pubs, restaurants and entertainment!
The only component that exceeds the amenities is the staff, which is superb from the moment you arrive with the valet to check-in with Nykesha to room attendants!
First class all the way!
We are already looking for another reason to drive over from Cocoa Beach in the next few months!

Room Tip: Balcony room view is incredible; don't miss the incredible breakfasts each morning or the Happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
You know we love reviews that mention our staff members by name! Everyone works very hard to make sure all our guests have a great stay and it means a lot to be recognized by those who matter most. Thank you for taking the time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, wonderful breakfast with a full variety of foods. Right on the "looper" downtown trolley line and within less than a block of restaurants and a starbucks. What a find! Comfortable bedding as in all Hampton Inns and QUIET despite a full house. Nice pool on the 2nd floor so it feels private.

Room Tip: If you want to view the marina, you might want a higher floor. But it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing. We are definitely the most conveniently located hotel in downtown St. Petersburg. Once you arrive, the car is rarely needed.
So, we have the location, our job is to provide the service and we strive to do so every day. Thanks again for recognizing this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

great hotel the staff are so helpful, rooms are really nice pool is good and the breakfast is great.
Valet service is so good,

Room Tip: any rooms on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kjohansson, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate your time and effort. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 41 in St. Petersburg
758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 41 in St. Petersburg
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#4 of 41 in St. Petersburg
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Address: 80 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St Petersburg
Hampton Inn Saint Petersburg
St Petersburg Hampton Inn
Saint Petersburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing