We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food, and Food Now delivers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trip's Diner

Trip's Diner
Ranked #12 of 857 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, and Food Now delivers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Consistently good food. Love the fried green tomatoes and meatloaf. Added bonus that Food Now brings it to me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladyvol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    78
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St; Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The transformation from Dave's to Trip's covers everything from the lovely appearance of the restaurant to the excellent food. However, I wish they had been able to save the mural on the outside back wall of the Everglades. Just a suggestion: the house salad is one of the best I have ever eaten!!! We go there frequently since it is only a few blocks from my home and the large selection provides everyone with their favorite meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JakeSt_Petersburg_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum, yum and yum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Now this is what I love about TripAdvisor - when I travel, it helps me find unique and delightful places to eat that I might never have otherwise found. trip's is one of those wonderful finds.

Mu husband and I have several diners that we frequent up in NJ, so we were looking for a casual breakfast on our visit to St. Petersburg. Based on the reviews here, we headed to Trip's and had one of the best breakfasts either of us have ever enjoyed.

Although the restaurant was full, we waited only a few minutes before being seated, and the manager who seated us accommodated our request for a table instead of a booth. Our server came by quickly with our coffees and said she needed to type in a big order and would be right back - while she did this (in our view) the manager saw our menus still on the table and checked to make sure we were being taken care of, and we assured her we were fine.

The strata I ordered was huge and magnificent - the bottom layer was all egg, while the top layer had a delightful mixture of egg and bread seamlessly blended with sausage and tomato and spiced with basil and pesto. The obviously homemade hollandaise sauce was just delicately flavored with lemon - it was delicious! My husband had homemade corned beef hash with eggs that he thought was very good as well. I think we paid about the same for this homemade meal as we did for our Waffle House breakfast on the road....what an amazing value!! And in this case, the leftovers fed us for another day!!

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Trip's and look forward to returning the next time we are visiting St. Pete.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ErikaS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We drove the 15 minutes from St. Pete's beach after reading good reviews about Trip's. It was worth the drive. Bring your appetite if you plan to order any of their signature omelets! Although they were very busy, our wait was only 5-10 minutes. Trip's even provided a fresh bowl of water for a dog accompanying a group seated outside...pretty cool. Great food, nice clean dining area, we'd go back again and again if we lived nearby.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yep ,They were right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We heard many good things about Trip's and they were all right! The food tasted homemade and the soups were especially delicious (though I thought there were too many potatoes in the corn chowder). The atmosphere is very pleasant and the place is spotless. And I recommend the club sandwich for a great lunch. And did I mention that the prices are very reasonable. We'll be back.

ps try the pies.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ckucharski2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trip's Diner also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Trip's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing