We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm heaven”

Gizella Kopsick Arboretum
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
St Petersburg Segway Nature Tour
Ranked #36 of 130 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Palm heaven”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I think this is the largest collection of palms in the world that is free to walk thru. Brick pathway winds among the palms which are labeled.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank StPeteCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“For all palm tree fans”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is in the midst of one of our waterfront parks in St Petersburg. It will take you 20 minutes at most to view it but if you are a fan of palm trees, then this is your place. It's a wonderful quiet space in our neighborhood. Stop by and enjoy it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JohninStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Special place, easy to miss”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

In downtown St Pete near the water is this lovely little palm garden. It is easy to miss since it is small and has no big ages, only a small sign.
All the palms are clearly labeled and the path is meandering. It is a tropical respite, free and a lovely place to learn about and enjoy palm trees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LPE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horn Lake, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I try to go to the Palm Tree arboretum each time we visit the area. Always beautiful. It never ceases to amaze me the variety and quantity of Palm trees. Quite area for walking, you'll find people just laying in the soft grass reading. Read the signs if your into botanics. Even though this is in town and tiny, it is free and doesn't take a lot of time to visit. If your on vacation and busy going to other areas for fun, this doesn't take very long and is very relaxing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“So Many Varieties”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A palm tree arboretum, who knew there are so many varieties? If you like nature and do not need an interactive app to keep your attention this is a great free outdoor activity.

We found the setting to be very relaxing as we strolled along the paths between the palm trees and looking out into Tampa Bay. They have done an excellent job on identifying the various different species which really helped us in enjoying the arboretumThere are two sections with an open space between them which is provides a nice view of Tampa Bay. There are the occasional benches to sit and relax and enjoy the view.

As with most cities there can be problems, we encountered two old stoners sitting on a bench almost hidden by the trees enjoying their weed. Their presence did not bother us, but it might bother some people. They were there when we arrived and were there when we left after walking all over the place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank OBX717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gizella Kopsick Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Gizella Kopsick Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing