We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never forget...........”

Florida Holocaust Museum
Ranked #11 of 130 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
dallas tx
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never forget...........”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Kind of small but interesting.The first floor have a permanent exposition........I have been in others much better than this one.......

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank eieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    97
    35
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Important Never To Forget”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I had toured the Holocaust Museum at least twenty years ago. It was at another location and only one floor of artifacts. My son expressed interest in seeing this so I took him and his girlfriend on Friday. They are sixteen and seventeen. I was amazed at the new building and it's exhibits. The first floor is a permanent exhibition and chronologically goes through Hitler's rise to power and how World War II began. It was very well done, with an audio device that told you information at different points. It takes at least a couple of hours to do this, if you see everything. There is even a boxcar that was used for transport to the camps. It has not been restored and is one of only three to leave Poland. The second floor is exhibits that are on loan for a certain amount of time, and I did not even make it up to the third floor as I ran out of time. I highly recommend that you give yourself enough time to tour the entire museum. I was there for over three hours and it still was not enough.

This is something that needs to never be forgotten, in order to make sure that it never happens again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Let us not forget , ever!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

A must see for especially the younger teens, to understand and realise that the world should never allow anything so horrible to happen again , anywhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Informative but tiring”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I am very interested in the Holocaust, but found this museum boring. I believe in reading, but there was just way too much information to read. Too bad that there is not a more interesting way to tell the story. I can not see that this would hold the attention of school children at all. There are 3 floors to this museum. By the time I got 3/4 of the way completed on floor 1, I just stopped because I was so tired by then. We had been standing and reading for about 1 1/2 hours by then. Second floor is just pictures of survivors and their stories. I would loved to have read all of them, but this would have taken at least another hour. The 3rd floor looked like a lecture hall. The gift shop had some interesting books for children. This is such a sad part of our history, and I do appreciate the effort that was put into the museum to preserve this information. No cameras are allowed, and you do have to go through a metal detector. The museum opens at 10 a.m.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sweetie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Ingles, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Impressive and icing site”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Would recommend it strongly to young generation unaware of Shoah... Sculptures are astonishing, architectural design not to call it scenography very thoughtful...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank doomsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Holocaust Museum also viewed

 

Been to Florida Holocaust Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing