We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting”

Florida Holocaust Museum
Ranked #11 of 130 things to do in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
alexandria va
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is small but complete. The tour starts with a history of antisemetic thought and action and leads you through to discrimination and genocide. Probably ok for kids who are mature enough to have an idea of what happened but not much detail about it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ritch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    97
    35
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“sobering”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully a city remembers the past.This was not an extensive view but certaiwas sobering in it's portrayal of this horiffic time in history.

Helpful?
Thank insureu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Very Moving Experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A must see. This musuem is a must see with the family. We were very pleased with the set up and that they offer complimentary personal recorders that you can carry and learn more about each exhibit. Everything was well thought out and it took you through a timeline of anti semitism and through the rise and fall of Nazi Germany and the devestation they caused on not just the Jewish people but everyone the Nazi's attacked.

There were no images that I felt were too much for my 10 year old to see. We did not join a guided tour (we missed the last one of the day) but a very special thanks should go to the wonderful older British/American tour guide who was walking around the musuem and spent about twenty minutes or more showing our family the exhibits and giving us a wonderfully educational private tour on his own time.

The musuem was fairly empty at the time we were there (late Sunday afternoon) and we know he would not have normally been able to do that, but he was on his own time and did not have to do it at all. Props to a dedicated employee who went above and beyond.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“5 th grade”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place was geared more to the 11 year old. I didn't leave there feeling a true understanding of the Holocust.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank merrylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Well laid out...”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I really like the fact that I had my own recorder, and just entered the number on the exhibit and was able to hear the information that went along with the exhibit.

Very tastefully done... not many exhibits, but lots and lots of info. Next time I will take my daughter.

It is a must for all to see, to make sure nothing like this ever happens again.

"He who saves a life, is considered to have saved the whole world" The Talmud

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Holocaust Museum also viewed

 

Been to Florida Holocaust Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing