We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA
Save
You added St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very nice place. We had reserved a tent site but when we came there it was badly raining. No problem for the very friendly and helpful staff - they gave us a cabin without extra charges!

The surrounding is also very nice - beautifully located at a mangrove lake and it's was definitely the quietest place we had on our journey through Florida. And the facilities are well maintained.

All in all, the best camp-ground we have seen in Florida.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    39
    23
    8
    21
See reviews for
81
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the campground for 2 days in a camper cabin. It's a simple way to stay and enjoy the campground without a tent. The cabines are clean and nicely made. The campground is located directely at the pinelas trail, so we could ride easy to St. Petersburg by bicycle to visit the Dali Museum. In the evening we enjoy a fire and bought a basket with wood and matches. So we didn't had to care for wood or anything else. The staff was very friendly and helpful in any way. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kusi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We brought our group here for Thanksgiving 2012, 8 adults and 4 kids, mostly because we had run out of options. Although this place is not really a campground (not like in the forest), it served the purpose of providing the campfire experience for the group while providing cabins and showers and other amenities that make real camping a hassle. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the showers, restrooms and facilities were very clean and the pool/recreational area was very clean and nice. The only complaint I have is the fact that the firewood sold in their store was more like a bag of kindlin, but it was cheap and did burn well, just too fast.

Room Tip: They have really nice upgraded cabins for an additional fee. Request the cabins by the canoe launch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zodiacwarpspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We made a reservation a month in advance for our anniversary trip. It was easy to find. We reserved a pull through and were pleased to find it was paved when we arrived. When checking in, they greeted us very nicely and right away. They had a welcome sign at the door and had written out names and welcomed us that way as well! The spot that was chosen for us was over looking an inlet and was very beautiful. The electrical and water were on the opposite side of our camper, but luckily we have long lines. Cable was also included. The facilities for showering and restrooms were very clean. We used the laundry room as well and that was clean and well taken care of. It was close to Halloween and they had decorations. It was cute. There is a large pool and a jacuzzi. We used it in the evening and I think they do the chlorine treatments in the evening as our suits colors were changed. The smell of the chlorine was not super obvious- so we thought nothing of it until we noticed the swim suits. There is mini golf, kayaking and activities but we did not use these as we were so busy. Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrs_LPeckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've stayed here a few times with our camper trailer and have always had great times and great hospitality by the KOA staff. This past weekend we and another couple got 2 of the Kabins. These were the basic ones with no running water, so it was kinda like back when we were tent campers, only with air conditioned cabins and cable TV. Again, we were not disappointed - staff members were very gracious and seemed committed to making sure we had a great stay. Since we didn't have our camper, there were a few items we realized we had forgotten to bring, so I was pleased to see that the prices in the camp store were not out of line with what you pay at a convenience store. This is not always the case at other parks we've stayed in. Thanks to Lori and her staff - we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brunkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let me start by saying that I read some previous reviews about this place and we almost didn't book. Now, after staying there, I really don't understand why anyone would write anything bad about this place. We met up with some friends of ours who were already staying there and our son who is 8 and their twin boys (8 also) had a great time in the park, pool, and mini golf, by the way were very clean areas. They also did some fishing off the dock and one of the boys caught a Redfish. The staff there was fantastic and very helpfull, and the security guard was a real treat to talk to. I've been to other camp grounds and this place gives you that "family" feeling. Although we didn't stay in the cabins as we had our own travel trailer, they looked beautiful. I just can't get over how clean and friendly the camp ground is. Thanks and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place was great. A gem in St. Petersburg. Once in the KOA campground we forgot how close we were to home. The staff was courteus and friendly. Plenty of stuff to do with the kids. The weekend we were there they had a scavenger hunt. The kids loved it and so did we. The pool was clean as well as the the shower rooms and restrooms. So much to do there it will keep you busy. Planning our next visit soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Triz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
1.7 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
8.0 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boca Ciega Resort & Marina
Boca Ciega Resort & Marina
#2 of 12 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
8.7 mi away
Flamingo Resort
Flamingo Resort
#24 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Bungalows Motel
The Bungalows Motel
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA

Property: St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA
Address: 5400 95th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33708-3737
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the sugar-white Gulf of Mexico beaches and the beach-front community of Madeira Beach, this Gulf Coast KOA is located in tropical paradise setting along a mangrove-lined bayou. Active adults will love our on-site recreation. Play any of our eight shuffleboard courts, try out your bocce ball toss or petanque, or enjoy a game of mini golf or volleyball. Water aerobics, yoga, quilting, and water color classes are just some of our many programs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koa St Petersburg / Madeira Beach Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing