We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great way to camp without the hassles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great way to camp without the hassles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We brought our group here for Thanksgiving 2012, 8 adults and 4 kids, mostly because we had run out of options. Although this place is not really a campground (not like in the forest), it served the purpose of providing the campfire experience for the group while providing cabins and showers and other amenities that make real camping a hassle. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the showers, restrooms and facilities were very clean and the pool/recreational area was very clean and nice. The only complaint I have is the fact that the firewood sold in their store was more like a bag of kindlin, but it was cheap and did burn well, just too fast.

Room Tip: They have really nice upgraded cabins for an additional fee. Request the cabins by the canoe launch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zodiacwarpspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    46
    25
    9
    23
See reviews for
92
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We made a reservation a month in advance for our anniversary trip. It was easy to find. We reserved a pull through and were pleased to find it was paved when we arrived. When checking in, they greeted us very nicely and right away. They had a welcome sign at the door and had written out names and welcomed us that way as well! The spot that was chosen for us was over looking an inlet and was very beautiful. The electrical and water were on the opposite side of our camper, but luckily we have long lines. Cable was also included. The facilities for showering and restrooms were very clean. We used the laundry room as well and that was clean and well taken care of. It was close to Halloween and they had decorations. It was cute. There is a large pool and a jacuzzi. We used it in the evening and I think they do the chlorine treatments in the evening as our suits colors were changed. The smell of the chlorine was not super obvious- so we thought nothing of it until we noticed the swim suits. There is mini golf, kayaking and activities but we did not use these as we were so busy. Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrs_LPeckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've stayed here a few times with our camper trailer and have always had great times and great hospitality by the KOA staff. This past weekend we and another couple got 2 of the Kabins. These were the basic ones with no running water, so it was kinda like back when we were tent campers, only with air conditioned cabins and cable TV. Again, we were not disappointed - staff members were very gracious and seemed committed to making sure we had a great stay. Since we didn't have our camper, there were a few items we realized we had forgotten to bring, so I was pleased to see that the prices in the camp store were not out of line with what you pay at a convenience store. This is not always the case at other parks we've stayed in. Thanks to Lori and her staff - we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brunkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let me start by saying that I read some previous reviews about this place and we almost didn't book. Now, after staying there, I really don't understand why anyone would write anything bad about this place. We met up with some friends of ours who were already staying there and our son who is 8 and their twin boys (8 also) had a great time in the park, pool, and mini golf, by the way were very clean areas. They also did some fishing off the dock and one of the boys caught a Redfish. The staff there was fantastic and very helpfull, and the security guard was a real treat to talk to. I've been to other camp grounds and this place gives you that "family" feeling. Although we didn't stay in the cabins as we had our own travel trailer, they looked beautiful. I just can't get over how clean and friendly the camp ground is. Thanks and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place was great. A gem in St. Petersburg. Once in the KOA campground we forgot how close we were to home. The staff was courteus and friendly. Plenty of stuff to do with the kids. The weekend we were there they had a scavenger hunt. The kids loved it and so did we. The pool was clean as well as the the shower rooms and restrooms. So much to do there it will keep you busy. Planning our next visit soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Triz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My daughters & I stayed in a studio lodge/deluxe cabin at this KOA for 2 nights in July. The cabin appeared to be very new and clean.It had a mini-fridge with small freezer compartment, microwave, coffee-maker, and a gas grill on the porch. All linens were supplied as well as paper products. Each cabin also has it's own fire pit area surrounded by pavers and benches. We felt safe, there were cyclist on the bike path but I never saw anyone that appeared homeless or just hanging around as an earlier reviewer noted so maybe security has increased. The pool and hot tub areas were very well kept. We did see snakes in the bayou, don't plan on swimming there. One item that I wished I had packed was cintronella candles for the porch because the bugs were terrible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amyino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lovely log cabin by bayou, everything we needed, fire pit, nice decking out front, until a group of country hicks turned up and decided to party all night! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and did everything they could to remedy the situation. The site is pleasant, 2 miles inland from Madeira Beach and within walking distance of a couple of places to eat and right on the Pinellas Trail.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
8.7 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 41 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#8 of 41 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
6.3 mi away
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
#20 of 41 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#32 of 41 in St. Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA

Property: St. Petersburg / Madeira Beach KOA
Address: 5400 95th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33708-3737
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the sugar-white Gulf of Mexico beaches and the beach-front community of Madeira Beach, this Gulf Coast KOA is located in tropical paradise setting along a mangrove-lined bayou. Active adults will love our on-site recreation. Play any of our eight shuffleboard courts, try out your bocce ball toss or petanque, or enjoy a game of mini golf or volleyball. Water aerobics, yoga, quilting, and water color classes are just some of our many programs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koa St Petersburg / Madeira Beach Hotel St. Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing