We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting food”
Review of Tryst

Tryst
Reserve with OpenTable
Tryst is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 907 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: A mix of eclectic foods and high-end wine and spirits, including one-of-a-kind signature cocktails on Beach Drive in St. Petersburg. Discover the indulgence of our culinary team's unique take on traditional and nontraditional creations served every night in addition to one of the best parties in Downtown.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“interesting food”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nice atmosphere. Crab spinach dip is a must try appetizer. Many people like their risotto balls as well. Good bar scene and crowd.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amraac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    70
    24
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, food and cocktails.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I chose this place because it is located right across from the Museum of Fine Arts. There is outside seating and the place is totally cute. I was served immediately and ordered appetizers. I wish I could remember the name of the cocktail I had because it was delicious...it was made with cucumber and lemongrass. I had the Tuna tartar, the Beet salad and the Duck confit spring rolls. They were great, but I must say the spring rolls were a total surprise. Super creative and tasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank lovefortrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview Hills, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great sidewalk lounge spot”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I came across Tryst while enjoying a stroll on a warm mid-December day. The great music and the lounge-y vibe enticed us to stop for drinks and an appetizer, even though it wasn't time for dinner yet.

Our arancini appetizer was generously sized and delicious. The St. Germain cocktails were enormous (although perhaps a little watery). The service was great.

We enjoyed meeting and talking to another couple while people-watching other patrons and plenty of passers-by. In the end, it was difficult to leave, we were so relaxed and content.

Overall, a great little spot in a great area. Recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pasta & Bacon”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Two of the best inventions in history and they did it well. What more can you ask for? Service was excellent. I don't drink so can't comment on the bar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best for lunch or drinks at the Bar”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked a table for two for Christmas Eve - 4 course set menu. All items on menu were very creative, but food for the most part was average. Exception was the Baby Beet Salad. It was excellent! I had the Duck Spring Rolls for appetizer, which didn't taste like they were freshly made at the restaurant. The Potato Chip Crusted Grouper sounded awesome, but the fish was somewhat dry and bland. The Creme Brûlée was good, but nothing special. We received our 2nd course before finishing our 1st. Waiter took our drink order, meal order & presented our check. That was it, except when I asked for him only to remind him of the glass of wine I ordered with dinner. Tab was $130 including tip for two 4 course + 1 glass of wine + 1 specialty drink. I didn't find that expensive at all. Valet would have been a great perk at this location. Had to park a good 10 minute walk from the restaurant. Outdoor & bar areas are fabulous & would return for that, and for lunch. Dinner, not so much.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tryst also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Tryst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing