We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FOR A LIGHT DINNER” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryst

Tryst
Reserve with OpenTable
Tryst is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 894 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: A mix of eclectic foods and high-end wine and spirits, including one-of-a-kind signature cocktails on Beach Drive in St. Petersburg. Discover the indulgence of our culinary team's unique take on traditional and nontraditional creations served every night in addition to one of the best parties in Downtown.
Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR A LIGHT DINNER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The food here is very good quality. It's a nice place to sit outside and order drinks and small plates. The French owner is lovely, and adds to the ambiance. The only downside to our experience is that they allow smoking in the outside eating area. There is a chain smoker who is a regular. She sits in the corner outside at the bar. Fortunately the wind was blowing away from us. Had it not been, we would not have been able to enjoy our meals. I recommend this spot if you're in St. Pete, but beware the smokers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainewanderer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    65
    22
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very creative light food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Gourmet over you can go there, feel like in south beach for a while with great creative meal.
Owner are super nice and welcoming.
I will go back there very soon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover33760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Seared scallops is such a simple dish. But difficult to find done right. Not here - they were perfect! So sweet. No sauce or heavy flavorings to cover up the delectable taste. Had them with the pumpkin risotto. What a wonderful meal. Hubby had the duck appetizer as his meal. Duck was done to perfection and the couscous that came with it was prepared with oranges. It was yummy. I agree that prices were a little high, but I feel the food was definitely worth it. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FLRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for drinks...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for dinner. Outside seating is great. Had the cheese board which is always nice. Th cheeses were too similar but still good. Ordered the tuna tataki...not what we expected. The presentation was nice but there was so much avocado and sauce we couldn't taste the tuna. It just made us think this was leftover tuna from something else. Also had the corn chowder. Way too rich, way too thick, I swear I tasted mayo.
The food was just ok. The atmosphere was nice. The drinks were good. I'd recommend it for drinks and an appetizer. But not sure I'd make it my first choice in a meal.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fireflyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super waiter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a trendy, in that way unoriginal, spot for the area but it is lively and offers a good European beer selection. We had great desserts here and cofffees, late one evening. It was lively and had a nice vibe but nothing too unique (though maybe for that area). the best part was our server, who was funny and charming and lovely. A decent place to people watch, as well. It would be 'average' if I hadn't like the waiter so much.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cookie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tryst also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Tryst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing