We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel in a classic town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic hotel in a classic town”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Right in the heart of the nightlife. It's a great place to stay with a great staff. The rooms are unique and the bathroom might be a little small, but it is all a part of the charm of a classic downtown hotel. Clean updated rooms with neat views of town. Right next to one of the best night clubs and restaurants in town!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thistle384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    190
    128
    72
    99
See reviews for
89
279
57
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Cute boutique hotel, with a great location. Very cute rooms, shower could have been cleaned better because there was quite a bit of soap scum on the faucets but it by no means ruined this trip or the quality in my eyes. Within walking distance of bars, and many restaurants. If you go definitely check out ruby elixirs about 2 blocks away, awesome jazz bar! Would absolutely stay here again, friendly staff, accommodating, good location, and great price...can't beat it.

Room Tip: No tip. Theres an elevator so being high up doesn't matter and both times I've stayed I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great location in downtown St Pete! We were able to walk to Jannus Live for a show, walk to Ringside Café for and back to our hotel for a drink in the Flamenco Lounge in the basement of the hotel that is open til 3 am. We got an adjoining room (2 rooms with connecting door and one entrance) it had 2 bathrooms but one didn't have a sink??? Rooms were clean and front desk personnel were great! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beachbum0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very much enjoyed the stay. Clean rooms, bathrooms, and overall great experience. Can not beat the location, if you are wanting to be in the middle of everything. Will stay again and recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chick1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff. Charming room (we loved the wood floors - no icky carpet), well maintained and comfortable. Location was perfect for visiting museums, restaurants, shops, without getting in the car. And the beautiful bayfront parks right across the street. What could be better?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Everything about our experience at this hotel was great. The staff were friendly and the location was convenient for walking to many St. Pete attraction including the downtown restaurants and shops. The hotel had a lot of character and I really liked that each room was modern and unique.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I spent a week at the Ponce de Leon in St. Petersburg and was very impressed with the service. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are modern and spacious. The location couldn't be better if you are interested in downtown St. Petes. Cerviche, the attached restaurant, is fantastic! Great room, great food, great service. At happy hour you can get tapas for $4 M-F. For me that was a fabulous dinner for $8! Small quibble, the PDL is advertised as "Waterfront" which it is not. The yacht club blocks the view from most room, although the water is only minutes away. I asked to change rooms to get a view and they were very accomodating.The hotel is very quite but there is quite a bit of noise from the street. Oh and the beds are super comfortable.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms end with a "0" or choose a room on the north side to get away from vehicl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#23 of 42 in St. Petersburg
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#17 of 42 in St. Petersburg
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Property: Ponce De Leon Hotel
Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing