We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bontique Hotel and close to great restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bontique Hotel and close to great restaurants”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for the past two regattas, (ST. PETE NOOD REGATTA) and really like it! It is walking distance to the Yacht Club and walking distance to great restaurants! Plus we love to eat in the little corner bar of the hotel. The food is awesome and bartenders are very friendly. PLUS the staff at the hotel is very attentive! We will be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ann,

Thank you for your feedback! Here at the Ponce De Leon we truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests, and we are most happy that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to check on how we are doing. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Cheers,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    186
    125
    70
    98
See reviews for
88
273
56
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stay here all the time. The hotel is close to everything- fun - clean- and full of history and the staff is phenomenal. I would recommend -and do recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting St Pete. You will not be disappointed and you will absolutely fall in love with this boutique hotel, as I have.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikleitzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback! Here at the Ponce De Leon we truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests, and we are most happy that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to check on how we are doing. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Cheers,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

- Lovely location that's close to everything that is the city central as well as by the beach and various tourist-y attractions.

- Friendly and helpful staff

- Beautiful Accomodations

- No addded amenities though

Room Tip: They have negotiable discounts for military members and students. Beautiful staircase makes you WAN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MissEmilyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Here at the Ponce De Leon we truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests, and we are most happy that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to check on how we are doing. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Cheers,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the first time last weekend and the location is great, right in the middle of the downtown district. The hotel is very old but kept up well. Rooms are small but very cute! The staff there is phenomenal, very friendly and helpful. The price was certainly good for the room. The restaurant was fabulous-tapas menu, very fun! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Here at the Ponce De Leon we truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests, and we are most happy that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to check on how we are doing. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Cheers,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was a long time resident of St. Pete and have stayed at the Ponce before and decided to make the Ponce my headquarters while welcoming in the new year. I made the reservation through PriceLine and was given a small room with a full-size murphy bed. The price was reasonable and the accommodations were more than adequate for our stay. Upon check-in, the manager pulled me aside and informed me that my room was one of the smaller rooms and was only assigned as they were full for the night (NYE). He very graciously offered a better room (which ended up having a regular queen size bed and and awesome view of Tampa Bay) to switch to the next day after people had checked out at no additional rate change.

Overall, this is a boutique hotel that is nearly a century old and should be judged as such. The rooms have charm that have seen adjustments throughout the past 10 decades and the hotel carries an overall sense of history with it that you appreciate as a St. Pete native. It's in a great location; service is more than friendly and welcoming. If you want a cookie-cutter hotel room, sure book at the hilton or right next door. But if you're alright with experiencing the full charm of historic St. Pete, the Ponce is great.

My only qualms with the hotel was the knowledge of the concierge staff: they weren't too familiar with the area, but the hotel offers plenty of resources to research things to do/places to eat at odd times.

Overall, I've stayed here twice, I'd book here again.

Room Tip: Queen Size bed on the East side for best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Here at the Ponce De Leon we truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests, and we are most happy that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to check on how we are doing. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Cheers,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have sailed in the St Petersburg Yacht Club NOOD Regatta for a number of years and stayed at a number of chains around town. The Ponce is THE place to stay. Very convenient to the venue, very convenient to a lot of great restaurants, and a great place to stay. Staff is friendly and helpful. It's a real pleasure to be able to avoid a car ride in the morning before racing. Try it... you'll like it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Roger,

Thank you for your feedback and patronage! Here at the Ponce De Leon we truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests, and we are most happy that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to check on how we are doing. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Best,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great place to stay with family,We have stayed at this hotel for the past two regattas we have gone to it and really like it! It is walking distance to the Yacht Club and walking distance to great restaurants! Plus we love to eat in the little corner bar of the hotel. The food is awesome and bartenders are very friendly. PLUS the staff at the hotel is very attentive! We will be back again!

The month we stayed was Feb 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#22 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#6 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Property: Ponce De Leon Hotel
Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing