We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Seminole, Florida
1 review
“Good for the price”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was here for one night on New Years Eve 2013, it is very boutique with a chandelier over the bed nice hardwood floors, the bathroom still had a blue tub and was dated but it was very clean. When I checked in they don't accept Discover card and only had one key, a real key, not a swipe key and it has the room number printed right on it. My friend who checked in after me (I was out of the hotel) had to have someone walk her up to the room and let her in. Parking was an issue as well, I had to park on the street and use a parking app to make sure it didn't expire. The one thing was they didn't price gouge for the holiday, the price was very good and for the money it was very acceptable.

Room Tip: Lower floor the elevator is very, very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leza32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Leza32,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Here at the Ponce De Leon we greatly value and appreciate our guests’ reviews. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences, it also allows us to check on how we are doing. A few of the issues that you have pointed out have been fixed and/or are being worked on. As always, we are constantly trying to improve as a boutique hotel in any way that we can, and this is made possible by guest reviews and feedback. Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Best,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    188
    128
    72
    99
See reviews for
89
276
57
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Downtown St Pete...It does not get any better than Ponce De Leon...period !!! Superb location with Waterview, connected to a great restaurant and staff Ceviche's, walk to trendy lounges & shops on Beach Drive you are in the heart of all the action. The Ponce staff was like family and the room was eclectic and funky. Each room has a different feel. It is the ultimate in Boutique hotels. Stayed in room 502 with waterview to die for. Never really needed transportation. All amenities are a short walk away. The best value in downtown St Pete bar none. Check out the Saturday Market from 9 - 2 a wonderful experience. Can't wait to return. Enjoy !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Donn D,

Wow, thank you for your honest feedback! Here at the Ponce De Leon we truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests, and we are most happy that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to check on how we are doing. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Cheers,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great location but the rooms are a little dated.
There is no parking but ample places near the hotel.
The rooms are clean and the hotel has a Mediterranean feel.
The shower and bathroom needs replacing. I think they are the original and about 50 years old.
The staff are very good.

Room Tip: The rooms need modernizing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livelifetroon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jeffbuffenbarger ,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Here at the Ponce De Leon we greatly value and appreciate our guests’ reviews. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences, it also allows us to check on how we are doing. A few of the issues that you have pointed out have been fixed and/or are being worked on. As always, we are constantly trying to improve as a boutique hotel in any way that we can, and this is made possible by guest reviews and feedback. Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Best,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location was prime. Right off Beach Blvd and walking distance to all the spots in downtown.The bathrooms are tiny and don't leave you with much space to put your toiletries; the room smells horrible, they can at least get some of those plug-in air-fresheners! Room was nonetheless comfy and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magellan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Magellan87,

First, thank you for providing us with your feedback. Here at the Ponce De Leon we truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests and we apologize that your stay was less than perfect. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to check on how we are doing. However, a few of the issues that you have pointed out have been fixed and/or are being worked on. As always, we are constantly trying to improve as a boutique hotel in any way that we can, and this is made possible by guest reviews and feedback. Again, thank you for your time and honest feedback. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Best,
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

i only stay a day,. but it is a old hotel it look like it bean renovated. it has small room but very nice and clean small tv. it has a Murphy bed and a regular bed to. it's cute. great location i didn't have time to eat at the restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Theresa,

Thank you for your honest feedback! Here at the Ponce De Leon we truly value and appreciate the feedback provided by our guests, and we are most happy that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is the best way for us to connect to our guests’ experiences and allows us to check on how we are doing. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Best,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

First, let me say, that for me to write a negative review I would have had to be absolutely disgusted and uncomfortable!....I was!!!! Booked the room because it was close to USF campus and area restaurants, and price was right. Photos looked good online, but really wish you could smell all the smells!...halls smelled like an antiseptic herb of some kind and very musty. Room smelled like when a guy doesn't wash his hair!... That funky, dirty, sweaty, hair smell!... The room smelled like it.... The pillows and bedding smelled like it!...could not get away from it! Bought some Fabreze so that I could sleep, but it did not last long and I tossed and turned all night. The shower.....it had a bath mat in the bottom (rubber and foam mat...Gross!).....looked like it had been there awhile and I tried to remove it....HUGE mistake! The mat was hiding the fact that the tub had been painted and was peeling! I put a towel on top and took my shower, having no choice at this point. When done, the paint chips clogged the drain!... Tiled floor in bath was dirty ... All of the molding and trim looks to have moisture damage. Toilet was not bolted down and moved every time you used it!.....And finally, the hairdryer did not work!....PARKING is a nightmare!!... Bring quarters and be prepared to fill the meter every two hours because that is all it will allow for! There s a garage across the street, but very sketchy at night. The only positive is he staff.... They were all very nice and upbeat. Shame on management.... Clearly maintenance or cleaning does not appear to be a priority!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Debbie,
Appreciate the feedback and the time to let us know how we are doing. We apologize for the inconvenience you experience while staying with us. I have taken notes and will pass your suggestions on to the manager. We are working on minimizing the bad smell. As for the bathroom, I have let maintenance know that the tub is peeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is ideal for singles or couples looking to experience the downtown St. Pete's area. It is also about 20 minutes away from downtown Tampa via car. The staff and facilities are excellent, and the hotel restaurant, Ceviche, is one of the best in the area for lunch, dinner, and a night cap. I would stay here again the next time I am in St. Petersburg. Overnight street parking is annoying in St. Petersburg overall, but it is free from 6pm-9am right in front of the hotel and spots are not difficult to find. One night when we knew we were sleeping in late, we parked in the municipal lot two blocks away for $3. This lasted us all day/night and we were able to freely come and go to this lot on only $3.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Michael,
Appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Glad to hear that the $3 parking garage worked out and that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#23 of 42 in St. Petersburg
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,353 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Property: Ponce De Leon Hotel
Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing