We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT Stay HERE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First, let me say, that for me to write a negative review I would have had to be absolutely disgusted and uncomfortable!....I was!!!! Booked the room because it was close to USF campus and area restaurants, and price was right. Photos looked good online, but really wish you could smell all the smells!...halls smelled like an antiseptic herb of some kind and very musty. Room smelled like when a guy doesn't wash his hair!... That funky, dirty, sweaty, hair smell!... The room smelled like it.... The pillows and bedding smelled like it!...could not get away from it! Bought some Fabreze so that I could sleep, but it did not last long and I tossed and turned all night. The shower.....it had a bath mat in the bottom (rubber and foam mat...Gross!).....looked like it had been there awhile and I tried to remove it....HUGE mistake! The mat was hiding the fact that the tub had been painted and was peeling! I put a towel on top and took my shower, having no choice at this point. When done, the paint chips clogged the drain!... Tiled floor in bath was dirty ... All of the molding and trim looks to have moisture damage. Toilet was not bolted down and moved every time you used it!.....And finally, the hairdryer did not work!....PARKING is a nightmare!!... Bring quarters and be prepared to fill the meter every two hours because that is all it will allow for! There s a garage across the street, but very sketchy at night. The only positive is he staff.... They were all very nice and upbeat. Shame on management.... Clearly maintenance or cleaning does not appear to be a priority!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Debbie,
Appreciate the feedback and the time to let us know how we are doing. We apologize for the inconvenience you experience while staying with us. I have taken notes and will pass your suggestions on to the manager. We are working on minimizing the bad smell. As for the bathroom, I have let maintenance know that the tub is peeling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 661 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is ideal for singles or couples looking to experience the downtown St. Pete's area. It is also about 20 minutes away from downtown Tampa via car. The staff and facilities are excellent, and the hotel restaurant, Ceviche, is one of the best in the area for lunch, dinner, and a night cap. I would stay here again the next time I am in St. Petersburg. Overnight street parking is annoying in St. Petersburg overall, but it is free from 6pm-9am right in front of the hotel and spots are not difficult to find. One night when we knew we were sleeping in late, we parked in the municipal lot two blocks away for $3. This lasted us all day/night and we were able to freely come and go to this lot on only $3.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear Michael,
Appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Glad to hear that the $3 parking garage worked out and that your stay with us was a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I made a huge mistake with my reservation, but the staff was so helpful in fixing it. They were very nice. The hotel is in a wonderful location which makes it very convenient. The pricing is reasonable. My only real complaint is the lack of parking, but that really comes with the territory of a hotel downtown. The room was quaint, but comfortable. I loved that there was a murphy bed for us to use in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gluttonousqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for the kind review, it is most appreciated. We truly value your opinion and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

-Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were on the other side of Tampa Bay on family business and finished early. On a whim we decided to go to St. Pete for the night. We were looking for something different than a chain motel and found it in the Ponce. It is an old hotel that has been remodeled and we found it quaint but nice. Our room had beautiful hardwood floors, clean, the furnishings were relatively new and the bed was comfortable. What more do you want? We ate at the Tapas restaurant next door and had a great time and meal. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Dave,
Thank you and appreciate the review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, at the Ponce de Leon.

Ceviche is a great restaurant and very delicious tapas indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a strange place... Made as a small European style hotel, but it's not really comfortable... Most of the things look pretty old and dirty... I had even a cockroach in the room... The only good thing is the location

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Петр Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear reviewer,

As always we appreciate the feedback. We are taking our guests' complaints seriously and hope to improve and grow. We are truly sorry that your experience was not the best. Since your review we have changed several things here at the hotel. For instance, we have improved the quality of our linens and have updated many of our rooms. You will now find trendy European style decor and even hard wood floors. Yes, our rooms are a bit smaller than a traditional chain hotel. The Ponce De Leon was first constructed in 1922, making the hotel a historic landmark. Additionally, being a boutique hotel each of our rooms are unique just as the city of St. Petersburg. Thank you for pointing out that we have a great location. We are truly nestled in the heart of downtown and along the beautiful St. Petersburg waterfront.

Thank you for your feedback,
Ponce De Leon Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Downtown St Pete has so much to do, I enjoy everytime I go. The PDLH is a historic hotel that is in the best location to experience all the restaurants, bars, and Indy car racing. The hotel is a good value. I had a comfortable bed in a quiet setting, which was all I was looking for that night. Nothing fancy with few amenities. I was happy the see that the window in the room and bathroom opened! Modern hotels don't seem to realize the beauty of fresh air. The hotel competition is pretty fierce in the area, but I will always check rates here before I visit in the future.

Room Tip: Parking on Central Avenue is free on the weekends. Once you park, you're set for the duration of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GammaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location is perfect, right in the heart of vibrant downtown St. Pete! Nearby are restaurants, bars with entertainment, museums, shops, and the waterfront. The staff was very welcoming and made us feel right at home in this quant restored hotel. The room was nice, we had coffee and wifi. And the rate was very reasonable. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Watch for online rate specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonceDeLeonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce De Leon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Cindy P,
Thank you for staying here with us at Ponce de Leon. Happy to hear that you were able to try out our complimentary coffee and wi-fi.

Let us know how we can make your stay even better next time you visit us!
Ponce de Leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#24 of 43 in St. Petersburg
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#20 of 43 in St. Petersburg
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $92 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing