We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our favorite getaway hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponce De Leon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite getaway hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We always return to this jewel. Staff is super friendly, and helpful. The hotel is in the middle of town and bay; so it offers a great variety of things to do. We come back every year for the Indy Racing event. Great location for it!!!
Not a fan for car racing? come any other time, you will have a blast!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms towards the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YSF09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    166
    114
    60
    70
See reviews for
68
225
50
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Called the hotel 3 months ago. Was told our room was $200 a night. Was over charged ($250) a night. Our room was never serviced, for $250 a night. Our room was disgusting. Our bathtub didn't drain and our toilet didn't flush. They deactivated our room keys a night early. staff has no idea what they are doing. They also never gave is a receipt upon check in because they "didnt know the system" when they were just screwing us. Spend the extra money and stay at the Hampton Inn next door or the Hilton down the street. Totally not worth it. This place may be what hell is like.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indykds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I dont know how anybody found anything negative to say about this place. Staff was excellent. Location could not be beat. Rooms were clean. All i needed was a place to crash after a concert at Jannus and was more than satisfied. If you are staying on a Friday night, be sure to check out the farmers market a block away for a great breakfast before you leave!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iheartjimmybuffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times before, and will again. The big draw (a tie) is LOCATION and THE STAFF. Can't get any more centrally located, and the staff is more than friendly. I know all of them by name, and they always remember me. The rooms are small, and minimally furnished-- more than adequate. When I come back, I feel like I'm coming home. There's a computer available to all on the mezzanine, which is handy, and wi-fi in the rooms if you bring your own. Also a laundry room on the third floor, and vending machines.
Near restaurants. A very nice place.

Room Tip: Just show up, you'll be welcomed. (call first for reservation!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I don't know where the negative reviewed stayed, but I feel it was a completely different hotel. The Ponce De Leon is a beautiful little place. The first night I checked in my flight had been delayed 2 hours but the staff was totally cool about it, and had all of my check in stuff ready. I was settled in within moments of arriving. From that point on, I had nothing but amazing service. The one thing I feel people haven't taken into account is the age of the building as well as the fact this is not some swanky, 5 star hotel. For its age, the hotel has been kept up very well. The decor is more modern, and after a thorough check I was pleased to find the room pristinely clean. Maid service even mopped(the rooms have wood floors, which is a breath of fresh air to disgusting carpet commonly found) during their daily cleanings. The location of the building is fantastic . I was able to walk anywhere in St Pete. As far as amenities, there is room for improvement. The only weird things I noticed missing was a microwave in the room and a box of tissues would have been nice. The bed was extremely comfortable, the first night i stayed i was a little disappointed in the pillows but I had failed to realize a very fluffy, soft pillow was stored in the closet along with a pillow top/comforter that only added to the comfort of the bed. The staff, once again was incredibly friendly and helpful. I'm sure I seemed incredibly needy, but they definitely at least tried to fulfill any requests I had, and were very knowledgable, recommending restaurants, activities, etc. I wouldn't hesitate recommending anyone stay here, as I have had nothing but amazing service. Just retro remember this isn't an overpriced, brand new building.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in a walking distance to the Dali Museum, restaurants, bars and shops. Service was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and offered all the amenities I needed during my stay. Every time I ate at Ceviche (the restaurant from the hotel) the food was excellent and the ambiance very inviting.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night just to experience downtown St Pete at a reasonable price. We were pleased with our choice. We had a fifth floor corner room that was clean and well decorated. Guests need to be aware that the hotel does not have parking. The metered street parking in front of the hotel is free from Friday evening through 9 am on Monday, so that worked for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#6 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#21 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Property: Ponce De Leon Hotel
Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing