We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic hotel in st petersburg” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ponce De Leon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in st petersburg”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this basic hotel. It was listed as a boutique hotel but was rather a standard motel room (the lavatory was outside the toilet in the bedroom itself) it was noting special to stay at this place although the location in its citycenter is a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    156
    111
    60
    63
See reviews for
63
214
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis Indiana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this hotel. Small rooms and a very small elevator. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was helpful. Enjoyed the small bar next to hotel on the corner. Location was excellent and within an easy walk to a very wide assortment of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierSherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

THE PARKING... is ridiculous! Upon arriving, my first thought was "there's no parking..." When we checked in at the lobby, the kid working told us that there's a parking garage not too far from the hotel that they advise the guests to park in. Literally said "It's only $3 a day"...WELL, when we left, (the following day), we stop at the parking garage cashier to pay for our parking, and she tells us we owe $12!!! I said "well, is there a special price for guests staying at the ponce de leon hotel, because the guy there told us it would just be $3/day?!" and the woman just looked at me like I had two heads. We only had a $50 bill (which she couldn't break) and a few singles. Long story short, we had to wait for her to go to the main office to break the $50 bill we had.

EVERYTHING needs to be upgraded. There were very few things in this hotel that didn't look outdated or hardly functioning. There are little random signs taped to things to basically say they're not working. The shower in the bathroom had a sign saying to wait for hot water. The public bathroom in the lobby had signs informing that the lock was "broken". Even the walls on the 6th floor looked like they were about to fall down. Hard to describe, but this place is super run down.

THE ROOM: Our room was disgusting. Thank goodness they didn't have carpet in the rooms, because (even with wood floors) it smelled so musty. The bathroom door was literally "see-through". Who puts a glass paneled door on a bathroom so that everyone can see you on the toilet, or undressing to shower? The bathroom was so small, they couldn't fit a sink in it. The sink is awkwardly placed right at the front door to the room, alongside a very old and disgusting microwave & a small fridge. The bathroom smelled like awful body odor. Straight up sweaty armpit scented. I had to hold my breath in there. And lastly, we had unwelcome "visitor" in the form of a pretty big gecko-type lizard crawling up the wall.

The ONLY good thing I can say about this hotel, is that the location is PERFECT. That's the only thing that made this trip bearable. So many places within walking distance.

Room Tip: Higher rooms (6th floor) offer a very nice view of Pioneer park, and of the water. Our view was pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staff was nice, room was clean, and bonus for a small fridge in the room. The room was tiny, but worked OK. The TV was ancient, but worked. The bathroom was small, but fine. Sheets and towels were all clean. Great location. Hallways are too dark. It's tired-looking inside. I'm not sure "boutique" is the right word, I'd say more like "funky". But really, nothing bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retreiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

What's wrong with this place? The better question is what's NOT wrong with this place.

Upon Checkin, we had reserved the corner room for a higher rate but they tried to give us a standard room for the same price.

The room was filthy. The sheets weren't changed, the bed was horribly uncomfortable and the sheets were so thin you could see the mattress. There was no mattress pad.

The bathroom was so small you could literally fit one person in it. It was a converted closet! The sink couldn't fit in the bathroom. The shower had used soap where it wasn't cleaned. The shower head leaked so that the spray shot over the shower curtin soaking the "bathroom".

It was so loud as well. I don't think I slept more than an hour. There is a really popular restaraunt bar that is NOT part of the hotel, called Ceviche's that is located where the hotel is. They had people partying til 4:30 AM. And then the drunks started rolling in around 4-5 AM.

Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything.

Needless to say, if you stay here be prepared for the worst night of your life!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnfclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip in July. The hotel looked like it was undergoing some renovations. I picked it because I like the more boutique style hotels but this left me a little disappointed. The first clue was the very slow elevator to my room on the 4th floor and then emerging from the elevator to a dark corridor leading to my room. It felt seedy and I half expected someone to pop out of nowhere and offer me some drugs or even sex for sale.

Opening the door to the room left me more disappointed. I read a comment about IKEA furniture and that best sums it up. The room was fine for my requirements but would I return with my wife? Not likely. The bathroom was very small but I coped...somehow.

The best thing about the hotel was the location. Superbly located and very easy to get to everything in the city if you want to walk. I had an event at the Mahaffrey theater to attend and that took around 5 to 10 mins.

Parking could be an issue as I parked where recommended. The hotel will say it's $3 but beware of special events when that rate goes up.

Overall, this hotel could do better. It has an elegance and it could do much better if a) the staff were more attentive and b) the owners decided they really were in business to service guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeginFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I were here in June. The setting is cool, the building itself is neat with a bar and restaurant downstairs. Our room was furnished by IKEA with enough room for 2 on the 4th floor.

the cool thing was how close we were to the water to watch the 4th of July fireworks. Also, it was an easy walk to the very active downtown - food, drinks, lots of folks. Kind of a 20 year old pick up scene.

We caught the shuttle to see a ballgame which was easy, and walked back after the game. Kind of a long drive to a nice beach, but overall a nice spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpylamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Property: Ponce De Leon Hotel
Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing