We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Distinctive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Distinctive”
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay. Very happy to be here. European feeling; not your big fat American cookie-cut hotel. Quaint, comfy, well thought-out, great location and Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant is exquisite! Rays won to boot!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    186
    125
    70
    98
See reviews for
88
273
56
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I don't want to rip this place to pieces, because it isnt terrible. Withthat said, I would put it on par with a college residence hall. Small, uncomfortable, poor ac, broken and tiny tv. Bed is a little more comfortable than a air mattress, but barely.

Nice night lady at desk.

Crazy screaming next door lady at 3am was semi-amusing.

Hoped for quaint and romantic... Got small and boring.

Will not stay here again unless the price drops to around $50.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carbon4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hotel looks really cool and unique on the pictures but once you get there its actually kind of crappy. First you are greeted by the front desk staff who are not friendly or welcoming. My husband and I got a room with a full bed which had only 2 very thin hard pillows. The bathroom door had a huge tear in the wood. I am not really a picky person and I think if whoever owns this hotel would fire the front desk staff gets some friendly smiling faces in there,take a little pride in the rooms, upgrade the pillows and old tvs. Hotel is in a great location and could be a really neat place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was a bad experience all around. I ask about parking for the night and the clerk told me after 6 PM you could park anywhere for free. Well that sounded good...then I checked in. As we reached our small room that didn't impress me in any way we put down our suitcase and off to dinner. After we returned and I decided to shower I was faced with the smallest bathroom possible. Had to set my shaving cream on toilet because could not find any other place around sink. Oh, I also found the bathroom door wouldn't close. (Swollen wood) After the shower and as we turned back the covers of the bed we found just a sheet with no mattress pad and pillows with no pillow covers on the ticking. Said "oh well" and settled down to watch our 15" tv. (which was appropriate considering the size of the room), Had trouble hearing it for the loudness of the AC unit.

Finally off to sleep and awaken to quickly leave the hotel. As I arrived at my car I found a wonderful gift on the window shield...a $25 parking ticket! No one had told me until I returned to the hotel that only Central Street was the only place you could free park. I felt duped and the clerk was nice enough and recommended I call the manager later in the day. When I did my reply was short and to the point, "You should have seen the sign on the parking meter." Oh, there was no sign on the place I parked because I guess that was not free parking. Who would of thought. Oh well, you can see I am frustrated and really shouldn't be. I will be contacting the owner as soon as possible to lodge this complaint. My advice. Stay away!

Room Tip: Look our for 409!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have to say that I was not entirely surprised by my experience at this hotel. We stayed here due to a lovely hotel nearby was booked. Fortunately, we only had to stay one night before moving to the other place. One night was CLEARLY enough. We arrived at 5 pm and the front desk agent was struggling to find a clean room for us. Seeing as this was way past check in time, it shouldn't have been a problem. For our inconvenience, he stated that he gave us an upgraded suite for the trouble. We thanked him and went to our room. Wow! This is an upgrade?? To be honest, I hate taking the time to write all of this, seeing as we will never return, but I feel impelled since I use TripAdvisor always before booking a place. This is an Art Deco themed hotel which fails miserably. It COULD have been really cool, but our first impression of the room was that it was simply thrown together without very much thought. Hodgepodge at best. The first thing we noticed is the nasty stains on the ceiling. How gross. The wood floors were dirty and scuffed. The night stand consisted of a telephone. No clock OR lamp. When it is time to go to sleep, one must get out of bed, turn off lamp on desk and then return to bed in the dark. Hard to do if you want to sink into a good book before drifting off.

The television is 10 feet across the room on a wall that does NOT face the bed. Therefore, if you want to watch TV in bed, you must lay on your side. Forget watching if you there are two of you in bed. The toilet quit working on the very first flush which forced me to take off of the lid of the tank and reattach the chain. Oh ew!

Lastly and most important. Before we went out for the evening we opened a window to let some fresh air in and to air out the stuffiness of the room. Upon returning back later in the evening we noticed that the window was closed. Hum...The following morning upon check out, I asked the front desk agent (who was in shorts and T-shirt) if they offered a turn down service in the evening and he said "no." As I proceeded to tell him that someone had been in our room the night before he responded with "oh, that was me. I had to reset the cable and I needed to go into your room to check the TV....Don't worry, I didn't touch anything..." Well, I expressed to him that I found that unsettling. If in fact, the staff had to enter the room, they should have at the very least, left a note explaining this. There was no "privacy" card left to hang on the door, so we trusted that our things would be there when we returned. I will NEVER return to this hotel. It is creepy and gross.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swindleheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a perfect location but is far from perfect. The lobby is fantastic but every other floor looks like a fun house from a horror movie. Room was booked as a 2 double bed room. The "2nd" bed was a Murphy bed that unfolded from the wall. Rooms are inadequate and small. TV was a 15 inch tube TV and only received several stations. When I asked the front desk they stated that "they insist" that the room is 2 double beds and the purpose of the Murphy bed is to make more space. I informed them this is unacceptable and that the pictures on the website show a completely different room. They apologized and gave me another room. This room had 2 real beds but was no better. I would recommend to stay at either the Hampton next door or the Hilton that is 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel with the finer amenities this is not the hotel for you. The hotel is older and has a very rustic look and feel about it. From the hardwood floor in the room to the furniture all show signs of aging. The room was clean but just old. The bed was very firm and not very comfortable. The television was a 16" (yes 16") flat screen that gets very poor reception to the point you receive only about 5 channels clearly. The channel selection is very limited and doesn't contain channels like ESPN. The lighting in the hallways and elevator were very poor and the elevator stopped for no reason twice on me during the week long stay. I wasn't stuck in the elevator but I had to reselect the floor I was going to and it started back up. It is also very, very slow. Overall, if you are wanting one night in a historic, rustic looking hotel to sleep in while you party in St. Petersburg then this might be the place as the location is excellent. If you want a hotel to relax while you or a family are on vacation go somewhere else. The staff was just average, the check-in help was nice and friendly while the other staff had moments of rudeness. I think the hotel is trying to improve this but there is some resistance. There is no storage for your luggage should you request it. Or I should say it depends on who you ask. The two employees argued over this right in front of me with one saying they could store it while I was at work and the other said they had no storage. It reminded me of a classic comedy act the way they went back and forth. I chose to take my luggage with me to the office that day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsdaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#22 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#6 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Property: Ponce De Leon Hotel
Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing