We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale at a fantastic price!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Went to Devil Rays game, that was ok. Hotel was fantastic! Right next door to The Pier, Baywalk all the downtwon bars and restaurants. Room was clean and neat. Front desk staff very courteous and helpful. Absolutely wonderful. I was nervous because of the great rate, but I was pleasantly surprised! You will be too! (Half the price of the Haampton on same block)

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank locuslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 669 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2007

if it is a pool you are looking for this is not the place.
but it has alot of history being build in the 1920's.
alot to do within walking distance. the pier, museums.close to tropicana field.
at present they are under construction in the lobby and elevator
the room was small but clean overlooking the street you can open the window and listen to the music from the outdoor resturant below.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank jeanne8735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

I unpacked and took a shower where I noticed the plastic shower curtain had holes in it- it looked like someone chewed on it. The walls looked like something had also been chewing on them and the curtains had a large burned section at the bottom. I left for the evening and I got back to my room late that night.

When I pulled back the comforter, I noticed that the sheets on the bed had what appeared to be two small circular brownish red stains on them, the bed skirt was burned, and the comforter had a large stain and two cigarette burns on it. I took the sheets off of my bed and slept on the hotel towels in my clothes.

In the morning, thinking that the dirty comforter and sheets were a fluke, I went downstairs and asked if I could have a clean comforter and sheet set. The receptionist apologized and said of course and they would fix the problem. I figured everything would be ok and left for an early morning seminar. I returned to my room to find that it smelled moldy and my bed had been made with another stained comforter (some brownish stain). I took the comforter downstairs and put it on the front desk and asked for another one (a man who I found later to be the manager was at the desk at this time). A man brought up a different brown folded comforter and I left for the day. At the end of the day I unfolded the comforter and found more stains and noticed my pillowcase had stains. I brought this one down to the front desk and was again told that they would bring me a comforter. This, the fourth comforter, had cigarette burns in it. I figured it was better than the stained ones that I had earlier and packed my bags to leave in the morning.

I checked out in the morning and asked what the hotel was going to do to make up for the fact that out of four tries, they could not provide me with ONE unstained/ unburned comforter during my two night stay. The receptionist told me that the manager told him/her to not give me any compensation or discount. I said I would like to talk to the manager. S(he) said he was in a meeting and I would have to wait. I waited and then interrupted his meeting with his employees (he was ignoring me). I asked him what compensation he was going to offer me for my disgusting stay in his “hotel” as they were not able to provide me with an unsoiled comforter. He said he would offer me no compensation. He offered no apology and no assistance. I was shaking and mad. I said the hotel was a joke to which he thanked me.

If you stay here, don't say I didn't warn you.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank HotelGuest12222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tampa, Florida
15
Reviewed April 13, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Ponce April 8 - 10, 2005. We had a great corner room on the top floor. The view was great looking towards the water where the boats are docked. The staff was friendly and great. The Bellagio Restaurant had great food and service. It's definitely worth trying for homemade Italian food. My only complaint is the bed wasn't too comfortable and the bathroom was small. Other than that it was a great location and central to everything. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank 10miriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Berti21981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank Patriciav762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#23 of 43 in St. Petersburg
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#6 of 43 in St. Petersburg
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#22 of 43 in St. Petersburg
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce De Leon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce De Leon Hotel

Address: 95 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce De Leon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Ponce de León Hotel is a Spanish Mission Revival building of great historic interest. Located at 95 Central Avenue and Beach Drive, one might notice that this hotel is only one block away from Saint Petersburg’s beautiful and vibrant waterfront and in the heart of downtown. The Ponce de León Hotel is at doorstep to the most popular restaurants, museums and music venues in the city. Some of which include; the Salvador Dali Museum, Janus Live, the Mahaffey Theater, Tropicana Field, Vinoy Park, and much, much more!Boasting 74 modern rooms, and home of one of the city’s most popular and award winning restaurants, Ceviche Tapas Bar & Restaurant. You can unwind with a drink or dine at the hotel bar & restaurant while you enjoy nightly live entertainment. They make their dishes with locally sourced ingredients for the freshest and finest taste. From the moment you walk into the hotel you will be impressed by the style, décor and air of calm professionalism. Ponce de León Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St. Petersburg’s most popular recreational and business districts, offering convenience, effortless style, and affordability to leisure and corporate travelers. The Ponce de León Hotel combines impeccable service and comfortable accommodation with spectacular views of the waterfront and downtown St. Petersburg. Be delighted by incomparable value harmonized with everyday amenities, service, plus all the attention you expect from a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ponce De Leon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing