We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meze 119

Meze 119
Ranked #45 of 869 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened in June of 2011. Great vegetarian restaurant in downtown St. Petersburg.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wow! I was introduced to organic and vegetarian by my son's girlfriend. She suggested we go to Meze. Wow, I was very surprised of the quality and taste of these meals. As a meat lover, I can honestly say you are not missing any flavors. I agree with one of the prior reviewers, I can believe it is not chicken and or steak! These are all vegetarian meals! I had the flat iron stak! it tasted just like the flat iron steak! Super flavorful! I did not miss the meat! The hot sauce on it drives it home! I would highly recommend you give it a try! Inexpensive also! we will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saptraveler_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

In a world of restaurants filled with dead animals, what a wonderful change walking into a restaurant where I felt safe. Although not all vegan, the vegan options were awesome! The food tasted delicious, the servings were generous, and the prices were very reasonable. The atmosphere was extremely comfortable, almost like a fast-food restaurant. I think even my "meatatarian" husband would have liked this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank izzwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a very unique restaurant in Saint Petersburg, from the clever menu to the creative names of the dishes. The food is very tasty vegetarian that a meat eater could enjoy. No, they don't have veg burgers. In some vegetarian restaurants the food tastes like cardboard, this is definitely not the case here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I can't believe it's not chicken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

There are very few 'proper' vegetarian restaurants: most serve huge piles of rice and vegetables in a canteen-style room. This place serves creative, gourmet food that just happens to be vegetarian. A glance at the menu might suggest otherwise, but on closer inspection all the 'meat' is actually fake. It's very convincing though! As a meat-eater myself, I had to remind myself that the dish I was eating didn't actually contain chicken. It was also highly flavoured and delicious. A great wine and beer selection rounds off this place. Really excellent stuff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flupsybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surisingly superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Quick service and amazing flavors this bistro surprises with meals that don't bring
"vegetarian" to mind. Very close to muvico will return

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sstefenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meze 119 also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Meze 119? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing