We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food not hot-needed to be microwaved” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AnnaStella Cajun Bistro - CLOSED

AnnaStella Cajun Bistro
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
east greenwich, rhode island
Level Contributor
796 reviews
511 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Food not hot-needed to be microwaved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Came for lunch on the recommendation of the hotel, nether the gumbo nor jambalaya were hot. Needed to be microwaved and then they were okay. Skip the meal- go for the beignets. Just like in New Orleans.

Helpful?
Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    8
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tampa
Level Contributor
364 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“REAL Creole food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Bought a daily deal for the restaurant since I knew we were attending an event close by. Not at all what I expected. Cute little bistro. Nice and simply decorated. Loved the soft jazz music playing. We had fabulous service, and we were there around 7pm on Saturday. The prices seemed average compared to other creole/cajun places I've been and while their menu didn't have a lot of items, it had the staples I want from this type of restaurant. We ordered the Seafood Gumbo and Crawfish Etoufee and both were excellent. I do agree for the price, the amount was pretty small. For almost $15 I would expect more. But the food was wonderful and authentic. The Gumbo was some of the best I've ever had (and I LOVE Gumbo). It reminded me of some we had in New Orleans cooked by a friend of ours at her home. And for checking in on Foursquare we got a free Beignet. But they actually gave each one of us one which was nice.

So the food was excellent, service was excellent, but I do feel it was a little overpriced for the portions. Thank goodness we paid half price from our daily deal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiagayepfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food here is overpriced and average. But the service is worst. Me and my date didn't know what to do when we walked in. We didn't know whether to seat ourselves or wait to be seated. And the sad thing about it nobody came and told us. So no service from the get-go. Then it took forever for someone to get our drink orders. Then it took another 15 or so minutes just to order food. This place service is lacking bad. The only thing this place has going for them is they are in a great location in St. Pete. I don't know why they call themselves cajun...they have a couple items on there that is Louisiana based and its not even authentic. Didn't taste good. Step it up AnnaStella.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank khouse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Orleans style cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good food. Great coffee. Sidewalk dining across from Fine Art museum and Aquarium.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobsgoodwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broadlands,va
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The food was okay. The coffee was terrible. The staff was very busy and could not care less if they helped you. Would not recommend. many other nice places in this section of town.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vawert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AnnaStella Cajun Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing