We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure of taste”
Review of Crowley's Downtown

Crowley's Downtown
Ranked #114 of 908 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ocala, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A treasure of taste”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Looking for a late night place for great food, wonderful service and a variety of beers? Look no further than Crowley's on Central in St. Pete. To start, the staff is fun, friendly and genuinely interested in making sure you enjoy your stay. The selection and variety of beers includes something for every taste, always including something from the local Cigar City Brewery. And I'm fairly certain that if heaven has a waiting room, they serve Rueben Rolls and St. Pete Rolls to give you a taste of what is in the next beyond.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QuestForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    52
    17
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Average Sports Bar”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Enjoyed the entire staff who were all friendly to the level you'd expect to find in a Boston-type sports bar. Some were actually quite humorous upon getting to know them. However, the menu was unoriginal and small (how are there not even fish and chips in a pub?! They had the malt vinegar!) consisting of a few sandwiches and burgers and only boneless wings that were really just fried chicken tenders dipped in sauce. I just found myself bored with the menu. Decent beer selection though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Crowley's Feeds Up Golden Deliciousness!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

On a recent visit to St. Petersburg, a friend and I visited Crowley's Downtown for some late evening food and drinks. We found a quaint Irish Pub that also served up some excellent authentic eats and variations that proved to be a savory treat. We ordered only appetizers and still took plenty home with us for another meal. With the help of our server, we decided to try the Scotch Egg. It was made from a hard boiled egg, wrapped in sausage, then breaded and deep fried. When it arrived at the table, it appeared more like a dark brown softball cut in half and was served with an A-1 based sauce. The Scotch Egg was Delicious! Next we tried the Reuben Egg Rolls and later decided this was the best of what we tried. Perfectly seasoned and sealed in an egg roll skin, it also came with thousand island dressing and was amazing. We ordered the Pub Fries and Gravy, and got exactly what we ordered. This is very traditional and was great, but after the Scotch Egg and Reuben Egg Rolls, it was a bit bland to the taste. Finally, we tried the Captain Marty's Dirty Nachos which were also outstanding. This dish starts with deep fried potatoes (similar to tator tots) with plenty of spicy ground beef, corn, cheddar cheese, diced tomatoes, jalapenos and drizzled with a spicy sour cream sauce. While we opted for the jalapenos on the side, this proved to be our second favorite and truly a meal in itself. I will definitely visit Crowley's Downtown on my next visit to St. Petersburg and highly recommend the same to all!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSpotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crowley's”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Good place for a beer and watch sports, especially Boston sports. Like family run restaurants.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food Good”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I enjoyed the food but was quite annoyed by the gentleman playing bingo. Was hard to converse with my family during dinner.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dijaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crowley's Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Crowley's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing