We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Greek Cuisine”

Acropolis Greek Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
Acropolis Greek Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 894 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Acropolis in downtown St Pete is a beautiful location. Hosting two floors and patio seating upstairs and downstairs. A Greek and Mediterranean inspired menu that serves lunch and dinner and a unique Champagne Brunch on Saturday and Sunday from 11am - 2pm. Weekends offer live entertainment including a Bouzouki player and belly dancer.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Acropolis Greek Taverna is a great local spot in Downtown St. Petersburg for authentic Greek cuisine. The outside seating on the sidewalk is a great way to enjoy the ambiance of the city. Service was great and our server seemed very knowledgeable about the wines and menu. Food quality was fantastic. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon8w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    87
    32
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not a Very Good Experiance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visited 4 times.

Each time a little less of a good dining experience. Tonight was the last straw. Actually small portions (odd for a Greek Place). The worst service I had ever seen in the Tampa Bay area, (which is saying a lot). The food was under-cooked and carelessly arranged on our plates. Table service arrives at 20 minutes intervals.

I almost get the feeling that this place is about to change hands or go our of business.

Young girls dancing through the place does not necessarily mean than the service or food is worth while.

This will be my last run over the causeway in search for good ethnic food at low prices for some time to come..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaGulfSailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent gyros.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

No lack of meat in the gyros. Fries were not so good, but they took then off the bill without question. Great place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmehaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food, great value, fun downtown location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great place for authentic Greek food in downtown St. Petersburg. I had the grilled whole Red Snapper. A generous portion very nicely prepared. My dinner companion had pasta with shrimp, scallops and mussels in a spicy olive oil and feta cheese sauce. On a separate occasion I had their Grouper sandwich which is one of the best Grouper sandwiches in Tampa Bay.

There are plenty of non-seafood entrees as well. Prices are very reasonable. Atmosphere is lovely but comfortable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlesblumenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
501 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Short Walk from the Hotel - Biggest Gyros Ever Eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just a short walk down fourth street from the courtyard hotel is central ave. On this street they have several restaurants. We drove by and when I noticed the sign and I said "I could really go for a gyro" not knowing what to expect we walked in. AMAZING! Lesson learned, never judge the book by it's cover. We were promptly seated before the dinner crowd around 1800. Happy hour is 2 for 1 from like 5PM to 7PM everyday. BONUS. I ordered the Gyro and and Buffalo chicken wings for appetizer. Then a piece of baklava for dessert. The food was awesome, presented and well prepared. The Gyro was the biggest I have ever seen for $7.00! The baklava was soft, with just the right amount of clove, cinnamon and sugar. Everything was excellent, including the OPA and the belly dancing which is around 1900 and 2030 on the saturday night. (At least when we were there). Shout out to Danny our server, Jenn, and Summer the bartenders. Thanks. Long story short we walked out 2 hours later, full, smiling and very happy we decided to "Walk In". For the total of $30 including 2 beers, 1 shot, buffalo wings, gyro, tip and baklava with entertainment! Short vids on youtube channel. Thanks for reading.

RetiredArmyRANGER

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredArmyRANGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Acropolis Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing