We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime rib dinner”

Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse
Ranked #21 of 904 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rediscover the Great American Steakhouse tonight at Harold Seltzer's. Located in the heart of St. Petersburg, the Original Seltzer's Steakhouse is back with excellent food, friendly service and roaring fireplaces for a guaranteed good time.Join us for date night or a family outing and enjoy delicious steaks, seafood and homemade sides in our classic and cozy atmosphere. Our extensive lunch, dinner and late night menus offer a variety of dishes including our hand cut steaks that are perfectly aged (35+ days), flame broiled and lightly spiced for better flavor and tenderness. We also feature weekly specials and a daily happy hour at our full bar with specialty cocktails, draft and bottled beer and a wide selection of wines.Please visit our website for a full menu and additional information on takeout, delivery, catering and private party availability. From everyone at Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse, we welcome you to our family and hope you enjoy your time with us as much as we enjoy serving you!
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Prime rib dinner”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have driven by this restaurant many times and decided to stop on a Friday evening. We were not disappointed. If you do not like prime rib or steak, there is not a lot on the menu for you, but if you do, it is a hard decision to make! We started with a fried onion with a unique sauce that was very good. The side salad was accompanied by homemade dressing as well as croutons, and the croutons are served on the side. I should add that the rolls are also terrific. We split a 1/2 pound prime rib dinner and it all was more than enough. Sometime we need to reserve enough to have dessert! This is an old fashioned and rather dark interior steakhouse with attentive wait and management staff. As it is a local restaurant, I recommend you try it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    129
    72
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Shrimp Dinner”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Responded to Harold Seltzer's shrimp special at $11.99 (although the first "1" had fallen off one side of their sign, but we didn't really expect it to be $1.99). The shrimp was perfect. The fried had been nicely butterflied, and the broiled shrimpo were also perfectly seasoned. The potatoes appeared to be from fresh, not frozen.The mixed green salad was also superior with a nice vinaigrette. The bread and croutons were served hot. The only thing that might be improved was the black beans and rice - the beans appeared closer to refried rather than in liquor. Could be better served in a small ramikin. Our server, Melissa, was obviously busy but served our needs admirably.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guglielmotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ribeye thin and tough as shoe leather.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We always visit this restaurant when we get to this area and this time though not good. I had ordered ribeye and it came very thin and tough. I guess after cooking it to medium this is what happens. I have never seen a steak cut so thin before. We also had a card from our desk clerk where we stay for a free onion bloom. I handed our waitress the card and asked her to order for us but it never arrived. She said she was sorry a couple of times and then left. She seemed to be stretched to the limit since we saw her at the other side of the restaurant at other tables. No refills until I asked and then took it to go. My husband ordered the prime rib and it was a nice cut of meat at 16 oz.. He said it was good. The waitress did bring us a free dessert for forgetting our app. It was delicious! It was a Napoleon cream pie drizzled with chocolate. It did make up for the forgotten app.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rockcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Family Steak House”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A very old and dark restaurant with tires fittings, for the most part there are booths to sit in, place was full and we have been several times over the years. Food was all american, as in you get what it says no surprises, good choice of sides with the meals and large portions. no kids menu so we usually end up splitting an entre and ordering an extra fries. Staff each time are a mix of college kids and professional waiters. Again my biggest disappointment is that there are no surprises and this is purely personal to myself and not a issue for management.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“an old fashioned steakhouse”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This restaurant is lovely-all dark wood with nice decorations and small rooms. The prices are very reasonable-lots of specials everyday. The primerib is delicious, the ribs fall off the bone. Happy hour lasts all day except from 6:00-8:00pm. The staff also are great. On your wedding anniversary &/or birthday you can have a free bottle of wine and dessert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moxiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Harold Seltzer's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing