We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brilliant stay!”
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed here before in 2006 for over a week when we were in town to get married on and they were absolutely lovely then. We had such a brilliant time staying with them that we were thrilled when they told us they could offer us the same room we had for our honeymoon! They were such friendly hosts that we we felt like we were part of the family and rarely wanted to leave. They had loads of great ideas on places to visit and things to see that we were always busy! And being able to come back in the evening and share a glass of wine with them was a perfect way to kick off the night. We'll definitely be staying again and look forward to many repeat visits.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unicornfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 613 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

Brian and Stephanie were wonderful hosts! They made us feel right at home and went the extra mile in service. The rooms were a little small, but were adequate and quiet. The breakfast and evening snacks were greatly appreciated. The location is great, we walked around town some and ate at several restaurants nearby. We will definitely stay there again with our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed at this Inn for one night in June 2008 for a wedding at the Vinoy. Even though we are local to the area, St. Pete is always a great place for a short getaway. We found the Inn very charming and the innkeepers are extremely friendly and very helpful. The evening wine & beer with snacks in an extra benefit and the breakfast was continental help yourself and had plenty of choices. We loved how our room was decorated... very antique looking. There was even a mini fridge in the room. The only downside was the air conditioner was a window unit and those are always louder and the bed was not super comfortable. The Inn is within walking distance to everything in downtown St. Pete. We would definitely stay here again. This is a less expensive place to stay in St. Pete but offers great value and extras.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrettyInPink98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Stephani and Brian, the managers, were fantastic! Since the hotel was really like an inn, there were not as many rooms as a normal hotel, which made the experience more personable. They both had a great sense of humor and did a great job of treating you like family. They helped us with restaurants, getting taxis and directions. They even helped us after we had already checked out! I would definitely recommend this inn, and I plan to return again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazymeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Cozy and friendly. Stephanie and Brian are excellent hosts that make you feel comfortable as soon as you walk through the door. The rooms are clean and cozy. No run-of-the mill hotel furniture. Each room is different and feels like home. Close to good dining and bars. We parked our car when we arrived and never used it until we left. Everything is within walking distance. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLJaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Brian and Stephanie were absolutely wonderful! This hotel is EXTREMELY CHARMING and feels more more like a bed & breakfast. Rooms had pleanty of space for my GF (now wife) and I, as well as all of our "stuff"! The continental breakfast was a huge money saver and the location of the hotel was is amazing. Anytime we are in the Tampa/St. Pete area this will be our place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjdewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn for one night in July. Our room was very small, but very clean. The furniture had an antique look to it, which I liked. I am not someone who cares about the size of a place much, so that wasn't a problem. What I didn't like was that the room was on the ground floor and faced the parking lot. The windows didn't have any grates on them and for someone who's from NYC, this did not produce a general feeling of safety.

On the positive side, the owners of the place are super nice and friendly. They have irons to use, which are not stored in the rooms and serve a simple continental breakfast. I would stay here again, but would ask to be placed away from the Parking Lot.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WonderQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,422 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#23 of 43 in St. Petersburg
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#26 of 43 in St. Petersburg
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $104 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 20 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Social, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing