We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn on Third
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Cordova Inn(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hollander Hotel(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon Hotel(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ponce De Leon Hotel(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Birchwood(St. Petersburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
401
185
26
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
185
26
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourb bmeet other guestsrooms are smallcontinental breakfastgreat ownersantique furniturewithin walking distancefree beerfriendly hostsdowntown stsocial houryogurthard boiled eggsdali museumreception areast pete
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 635 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to St. Petersburg so we selected a hotel within walking distance of points of interest. This hotel meet the bill. The hosts:Brian and Stephanie made the visit. Enjoyed their"Happy Hour"feature. Easy access to the museums and great food.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Hello and thank you for your short but sweet review of our inn. We appreciate you taking the time to go online and submit your write-up and hope to welcome you back on a future trip to St. Pete.

All the best and happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel was awesome. Brian greeted us at the door the day we arrived and the customer service continued throughout our entire stay. Stephanie and Brian were friendly, accomodating and full of information (thanks for the help identifying the birds!). This is a historic inn so the rooms are smaller than the conventional chains, but are charming and clean ~ and provide everything you need for a comfortable stay. I loved the antiques. The Inn is conveniently close to resturants, attractions and the waterfront. It is also close to the freeway access. Breakfast was simple but filling. We made a point of returning daily for happy hour were we enjoyed conversation with the other guests. All of this for a wonderful price. Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, you need to stay on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Good morning and thank you very much for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and were happy to help with the identification of the birds. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The best customer relations of any hotel I've ever stayed! Brian and Stephanie will do everything possible to make sure that you have a great time in St Pete, the only thing that they couldn't help with was the rainy weather. The rooms are small but comfortable, older but clean. The location is ideal! The price for four nights was similar to staying one night at the fancy places. Breakfast was great, happy hour was really great! I would recommend staying here to everyone.

Room Tip: Maybe request second floor to avoid hearing guests walking around.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWolney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Sunny greetings from St. Pete and thank you for your fabulous review of your inn! We are ecstatic to hear just how much of a great time you had at with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

All the best to you!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn ~ Downtown St. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our second stay and the owners could not have made us more welcome. My husband hates B&Bs but this is the best of both worlds. There is a 'happy hour' every day with a complimentary glass of wine or beer and a surprising number of guests turn up. We ended up having a delightful dinner with a solo woman traveler we met one happy hour.
The rooms are small but comfortable with a fridge in each room. There are no individual coffee makers but coffee is available in the lobby and breakfast is also provided. The hotel is very close to everything in St Petersburg and we were able to walk to our favourite bar on Beach and also to the Dali Museum. Thursday night admission to the Museum of Fine Art is $5 after 5pm which is well worth a visit!
We will definitely stay here next year when we come back to St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northerntraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

And another wonderful review from a return guest! We appreciate you choosing our inn again and want to thank you for your review. St. Pete truly is a gem, one that is slowly gaining in popularity. Our world class museums and abundance of casual to fine dining options, plus countless other diversions make it a wonderful place to visit. Being within walking distance to all St. Pete has to offer is one of the many great perks one receives by staying with us.

We wish you all the best and Happy Travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn ~ Downtown St. Pete

p.s Not only the Museum of Fine Arts, but also the Salvador Dali Museum offer discounted admission on Thursday evenings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Friends told us about this hotel as being a good place to stay. Conveniently located near Central avenue and downtown,the rooms are a little on the small side, as it is an old building, but the owners are very friendly and try to please. Nice happy hour with wine and beer. Great value for the money

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank steelpanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hello and thank you for your very nice review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as much as your friends have. Yes our rooms are on the small side. As you pointed out it is due to the age of the building. Back in the 30s, hotel rooms weren't designed to be built as large as most newly built hotels. As most travelers come to St. Pete for all our amazing city has to offer, not much time is spent in the guest rooms. It makes the small size of our rooms less of an issue.
Once more, thank you for taking the time to write this review, it is truly appreciated.

We wish you all the best!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn ~ Downtown St. Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews