We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Convenient”
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly and Convenient”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This affordable hotel is located three blocks off of Beach Drive and is within easy walking distance of good restaurants, shopping, and museums. If you don't want to the walk, for 50 cents the Downtown Looper trolley bus stops right across the street and makes stops near most of the attractions in downtown St. Petersburg. The rooms are simply furnished, clean, and comfortable. As noted by others the owners are very friendly and helpful. While the hotel is far from luxurious, I have no problem recommending it for those who are just looking for a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for your wonderful review! Brian and I are both happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our inn. Hopefully we get to welcome you back to St. Pete in the future!

Best wishes and Happy Travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn ~ Downtown St. Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    176
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
92
296
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The rooms are small, but well kept. Has much more of a bed and breakfast feel to it. Owners were super helpful and friendly. You could tell that they really care about the inn and their guests. Location is awesome- only three blocks from the modern art museum and other down town attractions. I really think this is hard to beat for the price, will stay again next time I'm in St. Petersburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review! We appreciate your recent stay with us as well as your time in writing this review. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Until then we wish you all the best and happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn ~ Downtown St. Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Central Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from spending 3 nights. Never took the car out of the lot - walked everywhere throughout downtown St. Pete. Easy 5 block walk to free shuttle to Tropicana Field. More like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. All the guests interacted well during complimentary continental breakfast buffet and evening happy hour. It was quiet, clean, and we will return. Ask for a downstairs room if you need an elevator. Worldwide clientele - met a lovely couple from The Netherlands. Perfect spot for out of town guests coming for baseball. We attended 3 Rays games. Only thing Brian and Stephany could have done to make our stay better was to have ensured the Rays would beat the Rangers. The visiting Rangers fans were friendly too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFLTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hello there and sunny greetings from St. Pete!
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our inn so much. Positive feedback like yours, confirms to us that we are doing things right and that all the hard work we put into our inn is worth it in the end.
Unfortunately we have no say in the outcomes of the games, and if we would, I doubt my husband would let me do anything but make our Rays win - guest satisfaction or not, lol.
We wish you all the best and happy travels in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Cute, quaint, reasonable hotel - super clean and nice owners. Only here for one night last Friday but well situated - thanks for letting us leave our car there for the day while we did the 'Dali' museum etc.
We will be back next time we are in St. Pete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adclark2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your great review! Brian and I are both happy to hear you enjoyed the time at our inn and hope to welcome you back to St. Pete in the future!

Happy Travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Owners are helpful and friendly. They genuinely care about their guests, and will jump up to do the smallest things such as open a door for you. I enjoyed sitting in the lobby talking to them and other guests over a beer. Rooms are small but quaint, clean and well-kept. Great location within walking distance to down town St. Pete. Not the right place if you are looking to spend significant amounts of time hanging out at the hotel. But if you want somewhere to come back to, after vacationing or working in St. Pete, that is comfortable and enjoyable, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello Jon and sunny greetings to D.C.!
It was a pleasure meeting you and we thank you very much for your nice review of our inn.
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back on your next trip.

Happy Travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My son and I came into town to see a Rays game. This hotel was fairly inexpensive and extremely worth it. The owner, Brian, was very, very friendly. He's a family man and small business owner who obviously understands how important it is to be welcoming. The room was quite comfortable and quaint. Very clean with free parking. The free (one) beer at 5:00pm didn't hurt the experience either. To get to the ballpark one walks about 5 blocks to catch a free shuttle. After the game, a taxi ride home cost a whole $7. We even enjoyed sitting outside the hotel on the outdoor furniture to wait for pizza delivery to arrive. The closest grocery store needs a car unless one enjoys walking a long way in very hot temperatures. The hotel itself looks like it is frequented by older patrons who appreciate hospitality in the middle of a downtown area. While the ballpark was a bit weak (we've seen nearly all of them), if we ever get to St. Pete's again, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello there and thank you very much for your great review! We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to tell other travelers about our inn and St. Petersburg.

Two things to touch base on, in case interested guest were wondering:

- The free shuttle mentioned by you also offers return trips. It starts 90 minutes prior to the game and the last one back leaves the Trop 60 minutes after the game has ended. Of course a cab is always an inexpensive option due to the close proximity of the ball park.

- A Publix grocery store is 7 blocks from our inn, which comes to app. a 15 minute walk or a very short drive.

Once more, thank you very much and we hope to welcome you back to St. Petersburg in the near future!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our experience echoes that of other reviewers: this is an old property, with certain quirks and limitations, but the location is perfect, the price more than fair, and the owners absolutely charming and helpful. My daughter and I spent four nights in St. Petersburg apartment shopping and it was wonderful to come "home" every day to a warm, personal welcome and a cool, quiet room. I look forward to many more nights here while visiting my daughter!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! We are glad that you were able to feel at home during your stay with us - it's the biggest compliment you could have given!
We too look forward to welcoming you back to St. Pete soon. Until then we wish you and your daughter all the best!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#24 of 42 in St. Petersburg
650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 20 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Social, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing