We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, charming -- wonderful hostess”
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We picked this charming place from the #1 reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Be aware, this is an aging, historic boutique hotel that doesn't offer the amenities of a larger, more modern hotel. The hostess is a delightful young woman who makes you feel welcomed and valued. The small rooms and bathrooms are showing their age but have a rustic, antique comfort. The continental breakfast is cereal and juice/coffee. The hotel is within walking distance from a number of restaurants along the St. Pete pier. It is quiet and a lovely place for a short visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruinSeniorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello and thank you so much for your wonderful review! We appreciate that you have chosen our inn for your recent trip to St. Petersburg very much.

Just to update all Tripadvisor readers, we do offer more than just cereal and coffee/juice for breakfast. We would like to take this oportunity to list what one will find at our continental breakfast: Coffee, tea, cocoa mix, juice, water, milk, a variety of cereals as well as granola, oat meal, bagels, muffins and a variety of pastries, banans, oranges, butter, jelly and creamcheese.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 604 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

I made reservations here but, being an occasional idiot, I entered the wrong month on my reservation. Stephanie figured out my screw up, cancelled my future reservation with Booking.com to avoid no show charges because they were full due to the Triathlon, recommended the Hollander and told us to come back is they could not accommodate us. She would find us a room. If she was typical of the treatment we would have receive had we stayed this is a great place. Other than Stephanie my review is pretty meaningless.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

You are the sweetest! Thank you very much for your review, even if it is just about me :)
We hope you enjoyed your stay at the other hotel as well as your weekend in St. Petersburg to the fullest and hope to welcome you to our inn at another time!

All the best to you!

Sincerely,

Stephanie Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a simple no frills B&B right in the heart of downtown St Pete. You can walk to everything - Jannus Live, museums, Vinoy Park, Pier, etc. We have stayed here multiple times and the rooms are clean and simple. The beds are not awesomely comfortable but not horrible. They have a simple little happy hour (beer/wine/snacks) in the afternoons and breakfast (oatmeal, cereal, rolls, yogurt, juice, coffee/tea) in the morning. They have no parking on Sunday mornings due to church but you can park for free at the bank across the street and we have never had any problems with doing this. It's always the best deal by far in downtown St Pete, and much more fun than staying at a large hotel. Owners are a friendly young family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FestivalGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your review of our inn!
It's been a pleasure welcoming you to our place and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time, please let us know what type of mattress you prefer (firm or soft or something in between) - as mattresses are such a personal comfort issue, it is hard to please everyone all the time - once we know what you sleep well on, we can do our best to match you up with the perfect room for you.

All the best to you and happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Yes the pillows need changing to something a little more comfortable, but, otherwise I have no complaints. Stephanie is a warm and welcoming hostess and the location is almost perfect- a short 4 blocks to the major bar/restaurant areas of town.
Unless I got a super deal at another hotel, I wouldn't pick any other location for my next stay in St Pete's.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JedLeonard1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our inn and location so much. We also appreciate your comment about the pillows and will make sure to replace them as needed. Our guests comments help us determine what we need to change/do to make our inn even better - so thank you!

We wish you happy travels in the future!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had three nights here while in St Petes.

We were met by Stephanie at the door, who was immediately friendly and welcoming. The lobby and breakfast area is spacious and comfortable, and Stephanie made us feel at home straight away.

We didn't find the room small (we're English and used to smaller rooms); it was just fine for us. It was clean and comfortable, and for a budget hotel, it was more than expected.

Yes, the bathroom is tired (as mentioned in previous posts, but I believe due to be upgraded), but it was spotlessly clean and the water was hot, and I was able to get a nice bath and shower. The toilet handle came off in my hand, so I went to see Brian at reception, who apologised and didn't make me feel bad at all. We went out for a couple of hours, and when we got back it had been repaired and worked fine after that.

The breakfast is continental, there was plenty of it. There was no bread for toast one morning (there had been the previous day), so I mentioned it and Brian immediately returned with several slices.

It felt very much like we were staying with family - Brian and Stephanie are very approachable and friendly. Sure it's not a formal place with swanky fittings, but it's in a fantastic location, it has free parking and wi-fi, and it was perfectly fine for a few days.

At the end of the day, you don't come to St Petes to stay in your room the whole time, so why pay over the odds for stuff you don't need or want?

We would visit again without hesiation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Sunny greetings to the UK and thank you so very much for your kind review.
Brian and I are both happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our inn. We appreciate your time for the write up and hope the rest of your trip was just as pleasant.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pros - convenient location, free parking, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

Cons - musty smell in bedroom, small bedrooms, bed not very comfortable, cat in hall lead to allergic reaction, bathroom really needs a renovation as lamp was dirty and bathtub paint job was peeling, lots of chipped paint around door frames.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bills_pix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello and sunny greetings to Canada! Thank you for your review of our inn. Thank you also for your compliments on our staff and breakfast among other things.

Now to the cons. We've elaborated on most of the points you mentioned in previous managment responses.

Yes, our rooms are small, but we do not make a secret about it.

Yes, our bathrooms are in need of renovations, which we hope to start this summer or fall. Either new tubs or showers are planned, as resurfacing usually only holds up for a couple of years before peeling occurs - again.

Our family pet, the mysterious cat in the hallway, typically stays inside our apartment. Every once and a while she manages an escape attempt and takes a walk down the hall. We are sorry this has caused you issues with your allergies.

Beds, particularly the comfort of the mattress is a very personal prefernce. A mattress that feels just heavenly to one guest can be experienced as too firm or soft to the next guest. It is impossible to make every guest happy when it comes to mattress comfort.

With all this said, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to St. Pete.

We wish you all the best and happy travels in the future!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you're bored with homogeneous international hotels then Americas Best Inn is a breath of fresh air. The hotel is run by a lovely family and there are homely touches throughout the reception area and in your room. It's like staying with friends. The rooms may not be spacious but they have lovely wooden floors and comfortable beds. The hotel offers a happy hour from 5-7 where a complementary glass of wine or beer is provided. We'll come again.

Room Tip: All seem nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. It's good thear that you enjoyed your stay at our inn so much and we appreciate you sharing your experience via this review.
Brian and I hope to welcome you back to our inn during your next trip to St. Pete.
Unti then we wish you all the best!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#26 of 43 in St. Petersburg
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#20 of 43 in St. Petersburg
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $104 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 20 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Social, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing