We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn on Third
Nearby Hotels
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$152
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Petersburg Northeast(St. Petersburg)(Great Value!)
$97
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$67
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
401
185
26
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
185
26
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourmeet other guestsrooms are smallcontinental breakfastgreat ownersantique furniturewithin walking distancefree beerfriendly hostsdowntown stsocial houryogurthard boiled eggsdali museumreception areast petechain hotels
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 635 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We relied on the reviews we had read on tripadvisor to book this hotel and we have not been disappointed. The hotel is really good and somehow different from your usual standard hotel room.

The location is really excellent close to the action... as long as you take the right direction when leaving the hotel (ie make a right when getting out). If your sense of orientation is as bad as ours and you take the wrong direction, you quickly arrive in a shady park where you don't want to be (I think it's called Williams Park). Well, nothing bad happened, it was daylight, we quickly went back to the hotel and realized we had taken the wrong way. But if you happen to be at the Pier and want to walk back to the hotel, avoid that area and just take the 3rd street.

The room is small but has some charm. The breakfast was rather average, but since it's a small hotel, it's understandable. The owners of the hotel are very nice and offer a drink to guest in the evening. We missed it but it's definitely a nice gesture. Overall, it's is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hello and thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your time and effort in writing it and know it will be helpful to fellow travellers in making their hotel selection.

Two things we would like to touch on:

Williams Park is a small park about a block away from the inn. Due to it being a major bus hub, there are a lot of people "hanging out" during the day. There really is no reason for cocern, yes you might encounter a cooky character here and there, but most importantly, every one is friendly.

Our breakfast selection is limited due to licensing regulations. We are allowed to serve only what is individually wrapped and unfortunately the choices for us to purchase are therefor limited too. We do offer the following: bagels, muffins, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, cream cheese, butter, jelly, OJ, tea, coffee, milk, hot cocoa mix, and fresh fruit such as bananas and clementines/tangerines.

We hope to have answered any questions that might have popped up for fellow travellers reading your review.

Again, thank you for your time and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in November. It was a nice alternative to chain hotels and a better price. It definitely has a more homey feel. We had a room on the second floor towards the back. There were windows on two sides which was nice. The room did have a bit of a distinct smell when we arrived, but after we turned off the a/c and opened the windows the smell went away. The room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small and basic, but just fine for a two night stay. we did not really eat breakfast at the hotel - just took some fruit and went to the Kawah coffee shop a few blocks away. We stayed over a weekend and parking wasn't a problem - we either parked on the street or across the street in the bank lot. We walked into the town in the evenings to go out and it was an easy 10 min walk to the center. I would have been slightly nervous walking back late at night alone just because there weren't many people on the street and it is in a quiet area.
all in all we had a pleasant stay. The owners were friendly and the price was good.
If you are in St Pete on a Saturday morning there is an interesting market.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palatino82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments are are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our inn. The Saturday Morning Market (Oct. - May) is indeed worth a visit and we are glad to have such a neat event to send our guests to during their stay in St. Pete.

Happy Holidays and a fantastic New Year to come!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were looking for a place that didn't break the bank and found that this property fit the bill. The Owner's live on site and were excellent hosts. Only a few blocks to the waterfront where all the restaurants and shops are located. The happy hour from 5:00pm to 7:00 pm was a nice little extra as well as the morning coffee and light breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfalfonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

We would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com and are happy to hear (or read) that you enjoyed your stay at our inn so much. We hope to welcome you back to our inn someday. Until then we wish you happy travels and a wonderful Holiday season.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was driven to this Inn by the reports I read at trip .
It is true that Brian and his wife work hard and are very friendly to their gests, but, this is all.
The rooms are clean but very,very small. The hallway carpet is dirty and full of " strange " things , like their kids bikes, and a couple of boxes with recicles.
Despite of their simpathy dont expect more.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cesar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your review on Tripadvisor.com. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our inn to the fullest. We strive to make our inn a welcoming and enjoyable place for everyone walking in our doors.Thank you also, for commenting on Brian's and my hospitality as well as the cleanliness of our your guest room. We will pass the compliment on to our housekeepers.

With this said, we would like to comment on the few things you have listed as our shortcomings.

Room size: The inn was built in 1937. Back then rooms were built on the small side, not like nowadays newly built hotels with large suite-like rooms. You will see many reviews commenting on the room size. They are small, it's a fact. As St. Petersburg is a city with lots to offer, one will find that there will be not much time spent inside the guest room. We also have a very comfortable and cozy lobby area which many guest use as a "iving room" to read, socialize or watch sports or the news.

Recycling Containers: We have taken up recycling this past year, to do our part to help the environment as much as possible. Recycling containers (in nice decorative bins) are located in both the ground floor as well as the second floor hallway so our guests can participate in our efforts should they wish to do so.

Bikes: We do sometimes store our kids two little bikes in the hallway and periodically a guests bike as well. They are out of the way and there is still plenty of room to walk.

Carpets: Our common area carpeting gets deep cleaned twice a year and spot cleaned as needed.

We hope to have answered any questions that readers might take away from this review and want to thank you once more for staying with us this past fall.

Wishing you all the best and sunny greetings from St. Pete,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is not to be missed in St. Petersburg - wonderful location, meticulously maintained, friendly hosts - all the reviews are to be believed! We have stayed here recently (and we have stayed in sister hotel Terrace Park Suites in Old Northeast) - wonderful - again ,stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C21Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you guys for your great review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and we of course look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a very Happy Holiday and a fantastic New Year to come.

All the best,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews