We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We relied on the reviews we had read on tripadvisor to book this hotel and we have not been disappointed. The hotel is really good and somehow different from your usual standard hotel room.

The location is really excellent close to the action... as long as you take the right direction when leaving the hotel (ie make a right when getting out). If your sense of orientation is as bad as ours and you take the wrong direction, you quickly arrive in a shady park where you don't want to be (I think it's called Williams Park). Well, nothing bad happened, it was daylight, we quickly went back to the hotel and realized we had taken the wrong way. But if you happen to be at the Pier and want to walk back to the hotel, avoid that area and just take the 3rd street.

The room is small but has some charm. The breakfast was rather average, but since it's a small hotel, it's understandable. The owners of the hotel are very nice and offer a drink to guest in the evening. We missed it but it's definitely a nice gesture. Overall, it's is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your time and effort in writing it and know it will be helpful to fellow travellers in making their hotel selection.

Two things we would like to touch on:

Williams Park is a small park about a block away from the inn. Due to it being a major bus hub, there are a lot of people "hanging out" during the day. There really is no reason for cocern, yes you might encounter a cooky character here and there, but most importantly, every one is friendly.

Our breakfast selection is limited due to licensing regulations. We are allowed to serve only what is individually wrapped and unfortunately the choices for us to purchase are therefor limited too. We do offer the following: bagels, muffins, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, cream cheese, butter, jelly, OJ, tea, coffee, milk, hot cocoa mix, and fresh fruit such as bananas and clementines/tangerines.

We hope to have answered any questions that might have popped up for fellow travellers reading your review.

Again, thank you for your time and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    162
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
82
253
43
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in November. It was a nice alternative to chain hotels and a better price. It definitely has a more homey feel. We had a room on the second floor towards the back. There were windows on two sides which was nice. The room did have a bit of a distinct smell when we arrived, but after we turned off the a/c and opened the windows the smell went away. The room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small and basic, but just fine for a two night stay. we did not really eat breakfast at the hotel - just took some fruit and went to the Kawah coffee shop a few blocks away. We stayed over a weekend and parking wasn't a problem - we either parked on the street or across the street in the bank lot. We walked into the town in the evenings to go out and it was an easy 10 min walk to the center. I would have been slightly nervous walking back late at night alone just because there weren't many people on the street and it is in a quiet area.
all in all we had a pleasant stay. The owners were friendly and the price was good.
If you are in St Pete on a Saturday morning there is an interesting market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palatino82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your comments are are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our inn. The Saturday Morning Market (Oct. - May) is indeed worth a visit and we are glad to have such a neat event to send our guests to during their stay in St. Pete.

Happy Holidays and a fantastic New Year to come!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were looking for a place that didn't break the bank and found that this property fit the bill. The Owner's live on site and were excellent hosts. Only a few blocks to the waterfront where all the restaurants and shops are located. The happy hour from 5:00pm to 7:00 pm was a nice little extra as well as the morning coffee and light breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfalfonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com and are happy to hear (or read) that you enjoyed your stay at our inn so much. We hope to welcome you back to our inn someday. Until then we wish you happy travels and a wonderful Holiday season.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was driven to this Inn by the reports I read at trip .
It is true that Brian and his wife work hard and are very friendly to their gests, but, this is all.
The rooms are clean but very,very small. The hallway carpet is dirty and full of " strange " things , like their kids bikes, and a couple of boxes with recicles.
Despite of their simpathy dont expect more.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your review on Tripadvisor.com. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our inn to the fullest. We strive to make our inn a welcoming and enjoyable place for everyone walking in our doors.Thank you also, for commenting on Brian's and my hospitality as well as the cleanliness of our your guest room. We will pass the compliment on to our housekeepers.

With this said, we would like to comment on the few things you have listed as our shortcomings.

Room size: The inn was built in 1937. Back then rooms were built on the small side, not like nowadays newly built hotels with large suite-like rooms. You will see many reviews commenting on the room size. They are small, it's a fact. As St. Petersburg is a city with lots to offer, one will find that there will be not much time spent inside the guest room. We also have a very comfortable and cozy lobby area which many guest use as a "iving room" to read, socialize or watch sports or the news.

Recycling Containers: We have taken up recycling this past year, to do our part to help the environment as much as possible. Recycling containers (in nice decorative bins) are located in both the ground floor as well as the second floor hallway so our guests can participate in our efforts should they wish to do so.

Bikes: We do sometimes store our kids two little bikes in the hallway and periodically a guests bike as well. They are out of the way and there is still plenty of room to walk.

Carpets: Our common area carpeting gets deep cleaned twice a year and spot cleaned as needed.

We hope to have answered any questions that readers might take away from this review and want to thank you once more for staying with us this past fall.

Wishing you all the best and sunny greetings from St. Pete,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is not to be missed in St. Petersburg - wonderful location, meticulously maintained, friendly hosts - all the reviews are to be believed! We have stayed here recently (and we have stayed in sister hotel Terrace Park Suites in Old Northeast) - wonderful - again ,stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C21Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you guys for your great review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and we of course look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a very Happy Holiday and a fantastic New Year to come.

All the best,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and were very pleased by the experience. The Inn is centrally located in the downtown area within easy walking distance of everything. It has a lot of old world charm and is a nice change from the run of the mill hotel chains on the road. The lobby is a good place to sit and chat and meet new friends over a glass of wine or beer in the evening....my wife did just that! Brian and Stephanie are wonderful hosts and are very helpful at answering any questions you may have about the area. Parking is right next to the hotel and is free with your room rate. No need to worry about your car being left out on the street. The hotel is very affordable and the morning breakfast is just right. You can't beat this place! Loved it here and highly recommend it for a St. Pete stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeyuliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your wonderful review of our inn is greatly appreciated. We are more than happy that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our inn someday. Until then we wish you Happy Holidays and safe travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie and Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a wonderful find. This hotel is located right in Historic St. Petersburg. It is within walking distance to many of the sites. Don’t feel like walking? The touring trolley stops immediately across the street from the hotel every 15 minutes during daytime hours. Driving there? The hotel offers free off-street parking.

My father and I visited Historic St. Petersburg earlier this month. We did the whole tourist thing and had a most enjoyable mini-vacation. Our two evening stay at the Americas Best Inn was enhanced by the courtesy and friendliness of the hotel’s owners Brian and Stephanie. They could not have been more helpful in assisting us to find the best places to go. Their suggestions truly enhanced our stay. In addition, the desk assistant, Susan, is a former St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce employee, so she was also a great source of information.

The hotel rooms are simple, but spotless. Excellent firm beds and a quiet location made for a good sleeping environment. The complimentary continental breakfast was a good way to start our mornings. With only 22 guest rooms, you will find that the hotel has somewhat of the feel of a Bed and Breakfast. With only a little effort, you are sure to get to know many of the other hotel guests. A very good all-around experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubedoobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate your time and attention to detail on this write up. Brian and I are happy you both enjoyed your stay with us so much and we will also pass on the compliments to Susan. Hopefully we get the chance to welcome you back again on your next trip to St. Pete. Until then we wish you all the best as well as Happy Holidays and a fantastic New Year.

Sincerely,

Stephanie Cox
America's Best Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#14 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important information: Starting mid July 2015, our hotel will be called "The Inn On Third". It will be the same owners and innkeepers as the last 10 years, so you can expect the same great service and hospitality as in the past. We look forward to welcoming you! Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 Minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing