We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay with a large group of friends. Really gives you the B&B experience in a big city. The owners were fantastic, and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. They also took special care to get to know the group and provide recommendations as the weekend went on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eightonesix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your sweet review! We enjoyed having you all and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to St. Pete.

All the best!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    174
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
89
279
44
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was my second time staying at the inn. The owners, Brian and Stephanie, live on site and are most gracious hosts. The inside is charming and Victorian.

The rooms are small, but perfect. They are simple, efficient and spotlessly clean. The hotel is centrally located in a nice neighborhood (surrounded by churches), only a few blocks from Publix grocery store and about 1.5 miles from Tropicana Field.

Brian took care of calling us a taxi to ride to the baseball game - he made it effortless for us. We rode the free baseball shuttle back to 2nd St., only about 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

Breakfast is decent with coffee, juice, milk, fruit, cereals and pastries. It's nice to sit out on the front patio with coffee in hand and feel the cool morning seabreeze and watch sunrise.

The best part is the value of this hotel. Less than $100/night smack in the middle of St. Pete with spotless rooms and wonderful owners. Give it a try -- you will come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FL_Adrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
You are a sweetheart! Thank you for adding your wonderful review here on tripadvisor. It was a pleasure welcoming you back and having your uncle experience his very first baseball game ever. Yes, it was a loss for our Rays, but it made your uncles first game so much more exciting as "his" team, the A's, won. I am all for a great experience, so the Rays loss that night didn't hurt as much. We'll see you in the fall!

All the best!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Unfortunately we only had a 1 night stay.
This Inn is just great; although we were a bit sceptic before we arrived about a b&b atmosphere.
The owners were very welcoming and make you feel at ease in a minute. If you need any tips or advise, they were happy to assist.

The rooms ware spacious enough and nicely decorated. Everything was clean and well maintained.
The location is good, the centre is within walking distance, with nice restaurants and bars.

Breakfast is good.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay here if we would ever be in St.Pete again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l1eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you and greetings to Antwerp! Brian and I are happy to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us. If you ever come to St. Pete again, we'd love to welcome you back.
Until then we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I like to get out of Sarasota once in a while and spend the night in St. Pete. Americas Best Inn is not only in a great spot (very close to main Street), but the owners are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. In fact, I have stayed there so often it's like staying with family and friends (but without the terrible cooking). No pool or workout room - just a great clean comfortable room! You will definitely feel very welcome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
You guys are the greatest! And to us you too are more like friends/family. By the way, please consider yourself luck that we only offer a continental breakfast, as my cooking is truly awful. Don't keep away for too long - Brian and I are looking forward to seeing you two again soon.

All the best,

Stephanie & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I visited St. Petersburg last weekend, Our daughter goes to college there and we will certainly be staying at America's Best Inn whenever we pay her a visit again. The hotel had the feel of a b & b: welcoming host who lives on site, rooms furnished with period pieces and an atmosphere of conviviality in the common areas for breakfast and afternoon snacks and drinks. Our room and bath were updated and spotlessly clean, and since I have a bad back, I was pleased to find a supportive and comfortable bed. The hotel provides free parking and is within easy walking distance of downtown St. Petersburg as well as easy access to the interstate. A great package at an affordable rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you, thank you! Your wonderful review of our inn is greatly appreciated. It makes us more than happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we get to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for 5 nights. I was a bit skeptical when I booked because the rate was so reasonable but the reviews were consistently great so we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The owner, Brian, made us feel right at home. The room was comfortable and clean. It was not fancy and there were no frills. But, for the price you can't beat it. When we told Brian we were going to the beach, he happily offered a couple of beach chairs and a beach umbrella he had laying around as well as some sun screen! When we said we were going on a day trip, he offered a thermal bag for us to carry our food in. He was a wealth of information when we asked for restaurant recommendations or local information. It is a warm, friendly place to stay. We grew very fond of the Inn and will stay there the next time we come back to St. Petersburg!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It makes us so happy to hear from our guest that they enjoyed their stay with us. It's these nice reviews that make all the hard work and dedication worth while. With this said, we hope to welcome you back to our inn soon!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here one night to visit with a friend in nearby All Children's Hospital. Very nice and quaint hotel (bed & breakfast type) with the friendliest of hosts! Antique style with new mixed in. Two of us in a room with 2 twin beds, very comfortable. Walking distance to waterside restaurants, parks, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms have window units, but they are very quiet. We had a room on the main floor and heard no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. It's always a pleasure to receive these positive reviews from our guests and we appreciate your time in writing it.
Hopefully we will get to welcome you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#21 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important information: Starting mid July 2015, our hotel will be called "The Inn On Third". It will be the same owners and innkeepers as the last 10 years, so you can expect the same great service and hospitality as in the past. We look forward to welcoming you! Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 22 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 Minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Happy Hour, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing