We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, convenient”
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I visited St. Petersburg last weekend, Our daughter goes to college there and we will certainly be staying at America's Best Inn whenever we pay her a visit again. The hotel had the feel of a b & b: welcoming host who lives on site, rooms furnished with period pieces and an atmosphere of conviviality in the common areas for breakfast and afternoon snacks and drinks. Our room and bath were updated and spotlessly clean, and since I have a bad back, I was pleased to find a supportive and comfortable bed. The hotel provides free parking and is within easy walking distance of downtown St. Petersburg as well as easy access to the interstate. A great package at an affordable rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you, thank you! Your wonderful review of our inn is greatly appreciated. It makes us more than happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we get to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 613 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for 5 nights. I was a bit skeptical when I booked because the rate was so reasonable but the reviews were consistently great so we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The owner, Brian, made us feel right at home. The room was comfortable and clean. It was not fancy and there were no frills. But, for the price you can't beat it. When we told Brian we were going to the beach, he happily offered a couple of beach chairs and a beach umbrella he had laying around as well as some sun screen! When we said we were going on a day trip, he offered a thermal bag for us to carry our food in. He was a wealth of information when we asked for restaurant recommendations or local information. It is a warm, friendly place to stay. We grew very fond of the Inn and will stay there the next time we come back to St. Petersburg!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It makes us so happy to hear from our guest that they enjoyed their stay with us. It's these nice reviews that make all the hard work and dedication worth while. With this said, we hope to welcome you back to our inn soon!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here one night to visit with a friend in nearby All Children's Hospital. Very nice and quaint hotel (bed & breakfast type) with the friendliest of hosts! Antique style with new mixed in. Two of us in a room with 2 twin beds, very comfortable. Walking distance to waterside restaurants, parks, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms have window units, but they are very quiet. We had a room on the main floor and heard no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review. It's always a pleasure to receive these positive reviews from our guests and we appreciate your time in writing it.
Hopefully we will get to welcome you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Residents of Orlando, we wanted to get away for a few days so we sought out St. Pete. This Inn was just what the doctor ordered! Excellent service, the owner was pleasant and offered great tips for our stay. You are less than 5 minutes from shopping, restaurants and nightlife. About 15 minutes to St. Pete beach and the to Simon's nearest Mall. The best thing, the rooms were QUIET! No screaming children and we NEVER heard noise from other rooms or guests. Great for singles or couples! We will definitely go to this inn again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Another wonderful review! Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review of our inn. It means so much to us to receive positive feedback like this from our guests. It shows that our hard work and dedication pay off, which makes our "jobs", or should we say lives, as this inn is our life, so truly enjoyable.

All the best,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had a great time staying here! Stayed the weekend in St. Pete / Tampa area for a surprise vacay on my girlfriend's birthday. We both loved the vibe of the place and would love to return for a longer stay. There are dozens of attractions, sites, and places to eat all within walking distance. I had my best sleep in months; wish I could sleep in such comfort all the time!! Definitely was a highlight of the trip. Go see for yourself! We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you guys so much for this glowing review! Brian and I surely appreciate it as well as the opportunity to welcome you back to our inn one day. Until then, we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I visited St. Petersburg for a couple of nights to enjoy watching the TB Rays and the local flavors of St. Pete. I have stayed in various locations around town, but had never heard of this gem before. Upon arrival, we were graciously welcomed and offered any assistance possible. We found the rooms to be clean, well kept and fresh. The accommodations were reminiscent of a historic bed and breakfast. I loved my stay and staying here is a must on return trips whether for a night or a week!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSpotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We too are excited that you found our inn on your recent trip to St. Pete and want to thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review - it is greatly appreciated.
With this said, Brian and I are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to town.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place is great! It's clean, quiet, the owners are friendly and helpful, you get a good breakfast and a free happy hour drink. The hotel was built in the 1920's and has been well kept. The rooms are smaller than the newer more modern hotels but plenty large for the purpose and filled with antique furnishings. It's within walking distance to the downtown area, pier, shopping, restaurants, and night life, as well as Tropicana field if you like baseball. HIghly recommended if you're staying in the area. We stayed three nights and were very pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericasBestInn, Manager at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you very much for this review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our inn and are most appreciative of the time it took to out of your busy day to submit this write up. Brian and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to St. Pete in the future. Until then we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#23 of 43 in St. Petersburg
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#26 of 43 in St. Petersburg
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $104 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 20 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Social, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing