We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pool is AWESOME and the place was spotless- Very Clean”
Review of Flamingo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Pool is AWESOME and the place was spotless- Very Clean”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I live in Anna Maria Island, Fl and travel on business to St. Petersburg FL several times a week (40 miles one way). Many times I find myself working late and staying for drinks with friends and business workers. In St Pete (as throughout the State of Florida) the Police / Highway Patrol set up "check points' in which ALL cars are made to pull over and they conduct an inspection to make sure you have your drivers lic, Insurance card and your reg. documents. What they really are doing is looking to hand out DUI situations as they only do these "check points" between the hours of 11PM and 3AM. Long story short, its best to stay put and don't drive and take a chance getting a ticket and going to jail. The Flamingo Hotel now has a 'VIP" program for area residents that will you allow you a great discount. I stayed at the Hotel and it was wonderful. The staff are great, the bartenders all seem to be Models from GQ and very nice.
Curb side appeal: SUPER
Rooms : SUPER
Staff: Super GREAT
Price: VIP PRICE IS SUPER
Watching the action by the pool : Spellbinding !
Parking: Great and Free and when the place is packed by locals going to the bar, park next door at the Maxi Mall

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avenuedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    45
    46
    36
    44
See reviews for
6
87
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2010

We have stayed here numerous times and just love it! The guys treat us soooo well. We always feel welcome. The music and dancing is the best, especially the Sun. afternoon T-Dance at poolside. The Sat. evening drag shows are usualy great. Food is very good. The pool and courtyard area with Tiki bar is inviting . If you want to actually sleep at night, just request an outside vs. poolside room, as the partying goes on forever. Our rooms have always been OK, not fancy but clean. Housekeeping staff has always been great to us. No refridgerators (at least in ouside rooms) so we just bring a cooler for the weekend. Just a great place to have fun and dance your butt off. We hate leaving when weekend is over.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingQueen1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Stayed labor day weekend for 4 nights and 5 days. The front desk personnel were friendly, and helpful. Rooms in Saint Pete average 152 dollars, so 90 bucks a night to stay here wasn't bad, especially for the quality of the rooms, and atmosphere. The restaurant was delicious every time I ate there. Some of the younger bartenders seemed to be a bit inexperienced with high volume, but the veteran bartenders definitely made up for their short coming. The on site shopping could be more extensive, but the ones there are OK. I have been to this resort every month since they have opened.. They have come along way, and continue to draw in more people. Local and abroad.. I suggest this resort to anyone staying in the area, or visiting the area...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyler8715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I just spent two nights at Flamingo and had a blast! The place is very clean, the staff is very attentive and friendly, the pool is good, the music is wonderful, and the bartenders make excellent cocktails. In addition, the other guests were very friendly and polite. It is very easy to make friends there.

I enjoyed it so much that I am going back for Labor Day weekend. I highly recommed Flamingo to anyone looking for a fun and relaxing break!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catdude_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

When i walked into the room, the smell was awful, the carpet filthy, the bedding dingy, and looked like the old furniture from when it was a budget motel.
The rooms need a complete re-do. Will say the pool area and common rooms were acceptable, and staff friendly.
My guess the owners are on a tight budget, but c'mon you need to have clean and updated rooms to compete today. My opinion one "P" house is enough.
I wish you success and sincerely hope you get the bucks to offer your Resort to those not interested in only a sex palace. I'm not opposed to a sex palace but i want a clean bed without leftover's from other's.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank whatdafuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I'm from Orlando and the Flamingo Resort makes a great little weekend get away for me at least once a month.The rooms are nice, and the one time I had a problem with the safe in the room, maintenance was there with in minutes.The pool and tiki bar at the pool are really nice.I'm not crazy about the dance floor that's also used for the drag shows and breakfast buffet area. It's very small and just doesn't seem to be laid out right.But the staff and bartenders are all very friendly.I enjoy the stay there, every time I go.I would definately recommend Flamingo Resort to anyone .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, fl
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Forget about the stuffy reviews. Go if your looking for fun ... if your looking for the Ritz then stay at the Ritz..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlotsLoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Hotel
Crystal Bay Hotel
#16 of 41 in St. Petersburg
53 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#28 of 41 in St. Petersburg
180 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#24 of 41 in St. Petersburg
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 41 in St. Petersburg
163 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 41 in St. Petersburg
758 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Property: Flamingo Resort
Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4552
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO LGBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEX. Just minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 128 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill, 9 On-Site Shops, 6 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Glo Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo Main Bar Night Club, complete with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Blu Theater Players Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest LGBT Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering daily entertainment, great food & drinks, and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one priority. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends, make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing