We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Diversion”
Review of Flamingo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun Diversion”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel/restaurant/entertainment complex. As a hotel, very nice. Rooms certainly adequate. Housekeeping staff has been attentive ad amenable. Bar staff has been superb. Only drawback has been dining and food service staff. Dinner lady night (was supposed to be a ribeye and was replaced and no mention made) was sub par. And also the service was near inexistent. Get that together and this could be a great bunch of fun

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbear1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    45
    46
    35
    44
See reviews for
6
87
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This place calls itself a hotel? Where to begin? My bed was broken, like actually broken. The box springs was splintered and sagging. Phone in the room didn't work. Safe did not work. TV did not work. Water barely even fell out of the shower faucet, forget water pressure. Absolutely no bath towels, they try and pass off hand towels as bath towels. I guess that a lot of their guests are midgets.service was, well what can I say? Equally terrible and more than a little incompetent. When I first arrived and saw all the problems with my room, they tried twice to move me to other rooms, which at 5 p.m. were still not made up by housekeeping, and the front desk didn't even know it until I walked in the rooms to go into them.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Here is the honest truth. The rooms leave something to be desired. Lacks all basic amenities. No hair dryer, iron, coffee maker etc. Not the cleanest room either. Where they make up for it is the staff. They were all amazing. Larry and Tyler made my stay fantastic. Thanks guys! After speaking to the manager on a few occasions, I understand they are in the process of making room upgrades. I hope so. If it's true, I will be back :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stchuck_tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere....A rum bucket from Terry at the outside bar is a must....huge thumbs up!!!! The pool is great, good music , the food is good also....perfect place for a couple days or an afternoon...some specialty and general shops.....and close to beaches

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dtownmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Hanging out at the Flamingo is always a great time! The bartenders are really friendly and just fun to be around, especially Terry. It's got a really inclusive welcoming atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Rooms on the outside of courtyard are the quietest, but if you don't expect to party don't come here stay on the beach. There staff was very accommodating for the most part and always friendly though my first sunday I stayed there I talked to an older gentleman in a manager shirt and baseball cap he was far more concerned with drinking and chasing tail then helping me. This normally would be very discouraging but, we stayed Sunday til Monday and grew to love certain bartenders Terry puts on a hella awesome show, Will, Kyle, and Tyler are adorable. Though my all star favorite is Jake he didn't seem to have the best shifts so he is probably new, but always a smile on his face hopefully I will get to see him next time I vacation because I would definitely vacation across the country just to have a delicious drink and engaging (also hilarious) conversation with the greatest bartender I 've ever encountered.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nokidsjustcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great bars and facilities. We have great confidence that new manager Lyle can turn the Flamingo into a fabulous destination. Close to Fort Desoto beaches and the Alibi. Also great that it is pet-friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navy92a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Hotel
Crystal Bay Hotel
#17 of 42 in St. Petersburg
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#24 of 42 in St. Petersburg
650 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#27 of 42 in St. Petersburg
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 42 in St. Petersburg
143 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,352 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Property: Flamingo Resort
Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4552
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO GLBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEX. Just minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 130 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill & Cafe, 9 On-Site Shops, 7 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Video Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo Main Bar Night Club, complete with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Royal Players Cabaret Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering Non-Stop Entertainment, Great Food & Drinks, and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one priority. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends, make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing