We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Pleased with the Weekend The New Management is Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Very Pleased with the Weekend The New Management is Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It is not easy coordinating with a major event at any establishment . The Flamingo Resort did a superior job in my opinion. Any problems were taken care of promptly . Even though it was a Leather Weekend the regular customers blended in nicely.
The resort supports many communities and is open to all. The large pool and outside bars create an atmosphere of fun . They have several shops that will most likely have you finding what you didn't know you were looking for and glad you found it. The Code bar is their Leather bar while the inside bar caters to all with a dining room and stage for shows the drag shows are enjoyable . There is also another bar where you will find cowboys line dancing and boots a flyin around the dance floor on a Friday night.
The real difference that has happened is the New Manager Shane (sp) he is (will be) making amazing changes especially to the rooms,I have seen him early morning making sure there was coffee and even out walking around the pool making sure things are straightened up. Shane has a welcoming attitude ,a friendly smile ,and will help you in any way possible.
I recommend the resort completely. Please give it a try. I don't think you will be disappointed

Room Tip: the pool side rooms and bottom floor are the best because of location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xraydanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager999, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you also for acknowledging one of our very hard working Managers, Shane. I will be sure to pass along the kind words you wrote. We look forward to your next visit with us. - Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    43
    30
    39
See reviews for
6
78
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I just stayed there for Tampa Bay Leather Weekend which is held there every year. It a fun event that goes on and there other events going on all year long there Everybody should come out have a great time. The management Staff is more then helpful and they will work with anyone.. The are working on changes of the hotel in a very good way up grades of the rooms. Every Sunday they had a Tea Dance they would love all to come out an enjoy the hotel is open all year around so come out and have some fun with Events and the different Shops and services they have to offer. If you have a problem with the hotel in someway then management wants to hear this how they can improve it for your stay and stays there...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager999, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that our guests are noticing the upgrades we are doing to the rooms, the emphasis on customer service and the creative events to enhance your experience. We hope you visit us again very soon. Thanks again for taking time out to review us. Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am sad to report that the Flamingo has gone way downhill since my last visit. I have stayed here many times, but our recent visit on October 1-2 was not up to standard. Our first room had a broken bed that should have been caught by housekeeping. Also, our AC unit malfunctioned during the night and switched itself from cool to heat. Early the next morning I requested a change of room and the second one was better, but the beds are tired and the room was not as clean as previously experienced. The pool water and deck were not 'pristine' as my previous review indicated. It is obvious that they are undergoing some management changes and that housekeeping and grounds cleaning are not the priority that they were previously. I know that this is their off season, and was informed that the rooms will be updated and renovated this fall, but as a loyal guest here, I expected better.

Room Tip: Avoid room 135 until they have addressed the issues mentioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caliber35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager999, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are in the process of upgrading all of our rooms and are constantly improving common areas. We apologize for the room inconveniences and rest assured the a/c issue has been addressed as well as the broken bed. Usually, bed issues are not noticed by housekeeping (unless blatant) since they do not "test" them out when cleaning and we have to rely on guests to inform us of an issue preferably the departing guest and not the arriving one (which happened in this case). Unfortunately, this did not happen. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you in another room to your liking since the weekend was rather full with another outstanding event. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to your next visit so you can see all the new things we have done - Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This "resort" is nothing but an older Howard Johnsons with minor update. Stayed there for 2 nights (minimum) over Labor Day weekend. So ridicules were the charge for the room. The planned "entertainment" was lame. Never again will I waste my time or money at a place that is so poorly managed.

Room Tip: not at Flamingo Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bdwellnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager999, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback so we can address concerns and needs of our guests. We are beginning a renovation of our rooms and common areas. we hope you visit us again in the future to see the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I want to express my sincerelly great experience staying over at this fantastic resort.
All of the help there was very friendly and professional!!!
The new General Manager, Tamara Witeck was extreemly wonderful in making sure all of our requests were completely satisfied. I look forward to staying over there again very soon!!!!
I highly recommend this to anyone interested in an alternative lifestyle type resort!!
Thanks alot
TCarlton

Room Tip: Ask for Tamara at the front desk!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager999, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. we appreciate you taking the time to share your nice experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We visit here regularly to patronize the bar. ( by the way It's is pretty much just a bar with hotel rooms). Had an issue where I needed to speak with a manager on duty. One week, Shane at the front desk wasn't a manager, the next week he was. When a real manager was requested, Shane's exact words were, " I don't care what your problem is." When the next guy showed up who identified himself as a manager, he came with two security goons, who shouted explicatives. Still waiting for a phone call, (that was promised) for five weeks now.

Looking for a resort? RUN. Looking for a place to drink on a Sunday afternoon with a staff that is indifferent at best, and rude as the norm, then this is the place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mysmilingdog M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I spent the week before Pride '13, 6 night's at the Flamgino Resort. With the three theme bars on site there's plenty of fun on week nights and weekends. The pool and cabana bar can't be beat for a great spot to hang, tan and meet new friends. Also the front desk was very friendly. However, staying at the resort has it downside. The door key card lock often didnt work so over my stay i needed to get 4 new key cards. Each night of my 6 day stay, there very loud, throbbing music blaring at the pool until at least 3am; on two nights the music blared until dawn. Also, on three night's there was loud, rowdy people in. The pool until 3am. I love to have a good time, but enough is a enough with the loud music. Also over my stay my room was only refreshed on one occasion. When one came to clean the room, on the third day I asked Anna, a sweet person to refresh the room. At 5:30pm it still wasn't cleaned so I asked again and she came right away. Considering the reasonable price, I wasn't overly upset by the lack of housekeeping, but was surprised there wasn't a daily cleaning routine. All in all, in the future, I would use the fun entertainment complex but wouldn't stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodDeedDoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
4.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#21 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#14 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#31 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Property: Flamingo Resort
Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4552
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO GLBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEX. Just minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 130 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill & Cafe, 9 On-Site Shops, 7 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Video Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo Main Bar Night Club, complete with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Royal Players Cabaret Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering Non-Stop Entertainment, Great Food & Drinks, and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one priority. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends, make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing