We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff & customers were great; could be cleaner.”
Review of Flamingo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It was a fun experience. The front desk & bar staff were great. The rooms were cheap & could use an update; as well as a good cleaning. The overall environment was comfortable for guests of all sexual preference. The pool area was very nice as were the shops & bars.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelergurl711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just a basic old hotel that has a beautiful pool, too bad it is not heated. They should offer beach towels to guests since they have zapped my credit card $100 as a secrutiy deposit. Never tried the food due to the pricing. The beds were nothing grand but comfortable. Glad we took our own booze that we kept in the room because they were charging $12 for a Miller Lite and a Bacardi & Coke. Amazed they did not charge for ice. The bartenders at the Cabana Bar were awesome, friendly and fun. Mary from housekeeping was super friendly.
They only serve coffee in the lobby so there are no coffee pots in the rooms. Thank God there is a Wal-Mart down the street and did not feel bad about leaving a $9.00 coffee pot behind.

Room Tip: If you need your morning coffee and don't feel like walking to the lobby everyday, stop at Wal-M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Im not one typically to complain, however this resort needs alot of help internally.. The property was not bad, nothing to brag about either.. The staff was friendly, however no one was on the same page about anything at the resort.. I was checked into dirty rooms, after finally getting to a clean one, the front desk re rented my room out, so at 12:30 am, someone w a key to my occupied room came barging in! As if that wasnt bad enough, it happened again at 4:30 a.m.. At least this time I had the latch on..so not one, but two random ppl had a key to my room and my key would only work once and then go dead every single time I used it.. No one had any explanation what so ever and every time I went to the desk, they had no idea who was where or where was what.. Also, there is a $100 deposit on your card with any stay.. It was explained that It would be refunded w in 3 days.. I happened to check on the 4th day and of course.. No refund.. After calling, I was informed it was anywhere from 3 days to 3 weeks.. Pretty considerable difference there.. I would not suggest this place to anyone.. Suncoast Resort was much better in my opinion.. After booking this crappy place, I did find a little gay bed and breakfast in st pete.. Havent checked it out yet though.. Just know there are other options.. Beware of this hotel..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank calibchboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent two enjoyable days at the Flamingo Resort over New Years. I have been staying at this property ever since Jack Dougherty took it over a few years back. He has put a lot of time, talent and treasure into making this one the best Gay properties in the State of Florida. While it is far from luxurious, the grounds and rooms are spanking clean, the pool is huge and pristine, and his bars and dining continue to be outstanding. Jack has always known how to throw a party, but in the early years no one came. This has all changed now, as his reputation is spreading. Word of mouth from people like myself are his best advertising! The property itself keeps getting better and better. The food has gone from adequate to outstanding and several new bars have been added, from another outdoor Tikibar to the dark and sleazy leatherbar called CODE. What really makes Jack's opperation excell however, are his people. From the front desk to the bartenders and servers, to the housekeeping crew, you will not find a friendlier place to stay. His hard work finally paid off with this year's New Years Eve party. Every room, all 120 of them were booked solid and I would estimate that over the course of the evening over 1,000 friendly people partied hardy at the Flamingo. Everyone was pleasant and well behaved; they were having too much fun to be otherwise. There was live entertainment not found elsewhere, such at a Cique de Sole style show, go-go dancers, a balloon drop at midnight and free bubbly. There was a DJ at poolside and the party went on from early until well after 3AM. A wonderful time was had by all and I must say that this was the most fun I've had in years and perhaps ever! Kudos to Jack and his staff for throwing one hell of a party at a great venue. I'm sure I'll return next year and look forward to the continued improvements of the property and their creative party planning. Highly reccomended whether you are Gay, straight or just looking to have a blast!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are the most updated and deluxe, but can be noisy if you are not there to party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caliber35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

OK, time to get honest with the readers, this place is mostly a place to party with friends. There is a patio bar, sort-of main lounge bar, pool bar and even a neo-leather bar.

The pool patio rocks on weekends with loud music and Sunday's big pool party goes until the late hours of the night. If you want peace and quiet, stay in an outside room or another hotel. Just come for the party.

The rooms are nothing exceptional and housekeeping could give the rooms a little more attention. As could the maintenance for the hotel which was more than likely a Holiday Inn of sorts in a past life.

Midweek rates make staying at this hotel worthwhile; however, the higher weekend rates are a rip-off.

Just be aware, this can be sort of a "cruisy place" and you might want to ensure your window draps are fully closed or you may wake up only to find eyes pearing into your room. That can be a little strange...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed three nights for Leather Pride did not want to leave. Staff was very nice. The shows where amazing. Pool bar stayed busy the whole weekend. Room was nice 70's vintage hotel room. I did not find a parking space close to my room but small inconvenience for the crowd. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank learher_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed here mutiple times over holiday weekends-place is over-priced for what you get. The place was dead...nothing really going on at night. Some old drag queens-more of a camp style. If you are looking for something to do at night, this is not the place for you. I liked that I was supporting LGBT, but what a boring stay. Very close to the beack. Spent a bit more and stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BankerBoyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
4.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Hotel
Crystal Bay Hotel
#15 of 43 in St. Petersburg
62 reviews
4.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
194 reviews
4.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 43 in St. Petersburg
790 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,785 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4552
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $81 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO LGBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEX. Just minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 128 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill, 9 On-Site Shops, 6 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Glo Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo Main Bar Night Club, complete with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Blu Theater Players Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest LGBT Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering daily entertainment, great food & drinks, and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one priority. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends, make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing