We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rooms Not The Highest Priority” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
277 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Rooms Not The Highest Priority”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

OK, time to get honest with the readers, this place is mostly a place to party with friends. There is a patio bar, sort-of main lounge bar, pool bar and even a neo-leather bar.

The pool patio rocks on weekends with loud music and Sunday's big pool party goes until the late hours of the night. If you want peace and quiet, stay in an outside room or another hotel. Just come for the party.

The rooms are nothing exceptional and housekeeping could give the rooms a little more attention. As could the maintenance for the hotel which was more than likely a Holiday Inn of sorts in a past life.

Midweek rates make staying at this hotel worthwhile; however, the higher weekend rates are a rip-off.

Just be aware, this can be sort of a "cruisy place" and you might want to ensure your window draps are fully closed or you may wake up only to find eyes pearing into your room. That can be a little strange...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    38
    43
    30
    37
See reviews for
6
76
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed three nights for Leather Pride did not want to leave. Staff was very nice. The shows where amazing. Pool bar stayed busy the whole weekend. Room was nice 70's vintage hotel room. I did not find a parking space close to my room but small inconvenience for the crowd. I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank learher_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed here mutiple times over holiday weekends-place is over-priced for what you get. The place was dead...nothing really going on at night. Some old drag queens-more of a camp style. If you are looking for something to do at night, this is not the place for you. I liked that I was supporting LGBT, but what a boring stay. Very close to the beack. Spent a bit more and stay on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BankerBoyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Cape Coral, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed in the past, and will never do so again. However, we were in town for a quick weekend and decided to staop in for a few drinks Saturday evening. The place was dead. We sat out at the pool bar, and were treated rudely by both bartenders. As we sat watching the bartenders at work, I realized they were skimming the drawers! Almost every single drink they rang in was $1, and the rest went into the tip bucket. Every drink, every time. I inquired if there were drink special, and was told it was Saturday - what a stupid question! LOL..really?

We left that bar, and went inside, and wouldn't you believe it, the bartender was doing it there too!

This place has systemic issues that it cannot overcome. It is staffed with untrustworthy employees, and that is a shame. I will never step foot in the place again. I am told I am a generous tipper, and love to tip - especially in gay establishments. But I won't give a dime over to thieves.
I encourage you to avoid this place. If they will steal from the owner, they certainly will steal from you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is your basic gay/lesbian motel with ool, bars, and restaurant. For the money, our king sized bed was very comfortable. More updates needed to the bathroom as still very dated but the room was clean. Our only issue was that the internet never worked. We called the front desk and they advised that they had had problems during the day but that it was now fixed. It never worked that night or the next morning.

Room Tip: if you want more quiet then choose an outside room, it you want the music all night then pick a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Flamingo Resort Rating 3.5 out of 5
Overall Rating - Recommended
Value Rating - Good
Price Rating - Good
Service Rating - Good
Cleanliness Rating Fair to Good
Security Rating Fair
Location Rating Fair

The Flamingo is truly an urban oasis, a place to stop for refreshment (potent cocktails at great prices), a decent meal and perhaps a cooling dip in their huge pool. You might choose this establishment as a destination and stay for days at a time. Whether you will be happy with your stay might depend on your expectations going in.

I had the opportunity to speak with some of the people working the bars and restaurants along with hotel management and I made it clear that the negative reviews I had encountered while researching places to stay had convinced me not to choose Flamingo for my 5 day pre-cruise stay in St. Pete. A friend of mine convinced me to give it a try, and I'm glad that I did. It's not a perfect paradise but I am hopeful that the management has made a commitment to address the complaints that are common in reviews.

The staff are among the hardest working group of people I've ever encountered. They work long hours to provide a resort experience for their guests. This is a full service operation and quite a handful to maintain. It is refreshing to see people trying hard in a sometimes difficult environment. The result may not be perfect, but I felt comfortable to interact with staff whether positive or negative.

And, no---it's not a Hilton; but you're not paying Hilton prices either. I'll choose the high end if I want to luxe out and dress up. If I want to r-e-l-a-x, I'll choose the Flamingo, let my hair down and get my gay on. No screaming kids or bad attitudes here. Watch a show, grab a bite to eat and enjoy the dancers in Code Bar---it's anything but boring.

I would stay at Flamingo again. I hope this review doesn't sound like a ringer----I'm inclined to accentuate the positive and the staff clearly won me over. Give it a try...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my first time here, I had read reviews on another site that were pretty positive so my partner and I decided to spend our weekend here. Big mistake. When so got into our room the first thing we noticed was the smell which luckily we were able to fix by turning on the AC. We then noticed the blue sitting chair with all kinds of stains on it, we made sure not to sit on it or put anything on it. I go to sit on the bed and the white down comforter the was brown stains that looked like someone had wiped their behind on it. No kidding. The pillow on the bed was a small traveling pillow. After seeing this we decided to buy some bed sheets and pillows. The bath tub had yellow rust stains all over it so we made sure to shower with flip flops. I'm a guy thats usually easy to please but I was totally disappointed about my experience and will not be returning, The only thing we did enjoy with the gift shop where they sold swim suits, post cards, and ornaments.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jim854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#21 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#14 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
6.4 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#31 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#8 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
Days Inn ST. Petersburg Central
#19 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Property: Flamingo Resort
Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4552
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO GLBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEX. Just minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 130 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill & Cafe, 9 On-Site Shops, 7 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Video Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo Main Bar Night Club, complete with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Royal Players Cabaret Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering Non-Stop Entertainment, Great Food & Drinks, and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one priority. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends, make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing