We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Is it a resort ?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flamingo Resort
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Is it a resort ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Its on a busy main street,Next to the highway,and restaurants.The pool is nice.Could use a hot tub.Stayed 4 nights.Sunday tea dance was a major event.Lots of drunk people.Much smoking going on also.Everyone seemed to enjoy the food and drinks.
It could use a few updates.Staff was helpful. I didnt see much of any sexual activity going on.Its not clothing optional.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    39
    44
    31
    42
See reviews for
6
81
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Let's face it, the GLBT Community is, by and large, a picky bunch. Nit-picky and persnickity and very difficult to please. We are the standard bearers for great hospitality and superior service, amenities and luxury. There is not one single Gay Resort in the world that lives up to those standards. Not one. So the Flamingo is NOT a disappointment, not truly. It's more like a small miracle that is doing the best it can against an onslaught of snarky queens aching to whine over an earnest attempt to operate a very large property for the community as reasonable rates. It's not as if it were a Hilton, so stop expecting it.
The new (within the year) owners keep it clean, well maintained, properly staffed, and open. OPEN, in 2012! I repeat, it isn't closed it's operating! And that alone is a very difficult thing to do for what was long, long, long ago built as a motor lodge, in an area that is slowly coming back to life, and which only now has someone trying to make a go of it with some sense of what it requires. I found them to be succeeding by serving up three solidly performing bar/lounges, a poolside area that is clean and well maintained, old old old OOOOOOOLD rooms that are still clean and comfortable, and lots of things that need fixing. But it's a bit of a throw-back to the 60's, a little seedy in its stlye, but clean and cheap. (Face it, you're here to save money...it's not like you're on Trip Advisor because you just had to know exactly 'how good' the Mandarin Oriental was...really?)
LOTS of things about the property need upgrading, but these things can't be fixed until things are in the black. So, tell me where you can stay, get a decent night's sleep (so long as you are on the far outside ends - inside facing rooms will be VERY noisy, no matter what you do - like staying on the inside courtyard of a 1960s hotel where the poolside bar is an all-night gay disco is a shock for you when you book it and arrive to find the music still going until 2 a.m....again, REALLY?) and for less than $65 a night. That's Ecnolodge prices with big gay perks.
It's close to the beach and it's cheap, clean, and very gay friendly. So try putting your money back into the community like a good gay because NO PLACE ELSE is going to be this gay at this price and give you the things you're thinking you deserve (i.e. $500 a night quality for a tenth of the price....) So shut up, give it a try, and support some nice folks running a reliable old property that has a fun atmosphere, is a safe place, is clean but old, and old but clean, and incredibly well priced. As they build, I will expect more from them. Until then, I show up and refer people and help it succeed and profit and then I'll insist they re-invest and upgrade. A small business owner is working very hard here - support them.

Room Tip: WANT SLEEP? Get an outside room, at the higher numbers toward the back, away from stairwells. REME...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 953Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have stayed here 4 times now and it just keeps getting worse. We always try and stay in Gay resorts so we know what to expect. We are not under any dilusions about the quality of gay resorts but tend to prefer them since we can meet people.
This place does not deserve to be in business. The rooms are beyond dirty, Not a penny has been put into the rooms since it has opened. No fridge, even a Motel 6 in Iowa has a fridge. The WIFI still does not work . Whenever I call down to see what is wrong they say"It's working fine, we have had no complaints". (Once someone behind the desk admitted to me that they bought a cheap system that does not work and are stuck with it. At least he told me the truth!)
The TV gets about 10 stations. There is one cheap towel in the room for 2 people. The quality of the towels is just pathetic.
Like I said don't waiste your time or money. They are just taking advantage of the Gay Traveler and do not deserve our Money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jdmlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Have been there on a wednesday afternoon and stayed until the night for the first time.
As we liked it from the beginnjng and while we wanted to see the burlesque and drag queen shows on friday we made a reservation. We were not disappointed. The foot, especially the Pizza was as good as in Italy, I was very surprised I never ever had a Pizza in Florida that good.
Well the bathroom needed to be a little bit go be updated and in our toilet there was something coloured jndside which we couldn"t figure out what it was so far.
But anyhow, the waiters as the whole stuff were very friendly I (we) will definetly go back there again and not only once, big compliment to all of you, thank you

Room Tip: When you like to have the most fun by cruising take definetly a poolside room first level ! We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Partner said he knew people who had stayed here that did not have the same negative experiences as many on this sight, so we stayed here. The carpeting was the dirtiest caperting I have seen anywehre. Also, the bathtub not only drained slowly, but would spit back up drainage and hair from other rooms. The pool area is great and has alot of potential. I agree with the assessement of the front desk personnel although I think they at least tried to solve some of our problems. Honestly, I really would like a nice gay resort to visit a couple of times a year from some fun and relaxation. This could be the place with some attention. New carpet, new sheets, new bedcovers and spray to rid the rooms of dogs that previously slept in the rooms. Bar staff was very friendly but I wish they offered poolside service. Wonder how they get around the indoor smoking law in the Code bar? Maybe the owner(s) could get some advice from a gay resort in Saugatuck. They have grown a great business over the years and probably could help.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chicagotim60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Flamingo Resort has the potential to be great. The pool area is very well maintained and gets a lot of sun throughout the day. The Cabana Bar is nice as well. There are a lot of rooms. Beyond that, things are pretty atrocious.

From my understanding, this is an old Knight's Inn and has been open as the Flamingo Resort since Labor Day 2009. The rooms are minimally cleaned and can stand a lot of updating. My room had a king size bed, but the sheets were barely big enough for the bed and kept coming off. The carpet was filthy and didn't appear to have been cleaned (let alone vacuumed) in quite a long time. The tile on the floor near the spa was filthy and had paint residue on it, and the bathroom was tiny and had no vent fan. The spa tub in the room took forever to fill, once the hot water decided to turn on.

There are a few bars on the property, which is where I'm guessing the management has put most of its effort. The music starts by the pool right around 9am and continues until the wee small hours of the morning (3 or 4am), furthering the party atmosphere. The windows aren't well insulated, so expect to hear everything going on outside. The drapes barely covered the windows as well.

If there was a competently run gay guesthouse in the vicinity, this might be a better spot. Absent that, there doesn't seem to be much reason for management to invest much in the rooms. We only had breakfast at the outdoor cafe which was alright -- better food can be had off property.

Upside -- rooms are inexpensive and if you're willing to overlook A LOT, then this could fit the bill. Don't expect anything close to a "resort", though.

Room Tip: All rooms are accessible from the exterior. For rooms that are quiet, ask for something facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thm202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

I decided at the last minute on a Friday to book a room overnight so I could go to a show they were having on Friday night. The Drag show was excellent! The check in process was a little slow because there was only one young man behind the desk. He was very friendly and helpful. The cost for the night was $71.60 (this includes tax) which I thought was fair considering the Flaming is a one stop shop motel, restaurant, bar, pool, cabana bar, and all the Guys and some Gals you could ever want to party with. I have stayed here in 2010 and had about the same experience, except last time I was there all weekend.

I requested and was given a room on the ground floor which was clean. I can tell the property needs a little TLC based on some issues with wear, but nothing too awful.

Drinks in the bar area were fairly expensive.

Overall a great stay, I will go back for sure and recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, as for an "outside" room or away from the cabana bar where mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billysview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
Quality Inn & Suites at Tropican...
#22 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.4 mi away
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
Days Inn St. Petersburg North
#30 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#14 of 39 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
9.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast - Gateway
Comfort Inn & Suites Northeast -...
#10 of 39 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort

Property: Flamingo Resort
Address: 4601 34th St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4552
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FLAMINGO GLBT RESORT & ENTERTAINMENT COMPLEX. Just minutes from some of the best beaches in America, Flamingo is a must at the top of your list of Gay Travel Destinations. The Flamingo Resort has 130 Hotel Rooms, the Flamingo Grill & Cafe, 9 On-Site Shops, 7 Bars and an 80,000 Gallon Pool. Enjoy Tropical Drinks served at the poolside Cabana or relax inside at Flamingo's Video Bar... or dance the night away at the Flamingo Main Bar Night Club, complete with Live DJ's, Light Shows & The Flamingo Royal Players Cabaret Show! Our goal at the Flamingo Resort is to ensure your complete satisfaction while visiting Florida's Largest Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Resort & Entertainment Complex. We are able to do this by offering Non-Stop Entertainment, Great Food & Drinks, and a fabulous staff that understand our Customers are our number one priority. Our job is to create the atmosphere of your dreams where you can meet new friends, make new memories, and have a fantastic time!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel St. Petersburg
Jms Hotel St Petersburg
Knights Inn Saint Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing