We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the best Indian I have ever had” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of India Grill

India Grill
Ranked #523 of 894 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
PA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Some of the best Indian I have ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fabulous lunch buffet. Each dish has a distinct flavor (as Indian food should be). Typical buffet with a great variety. Lunch for two $23. Excellent value for money. Waitstaff is attentive even though it is a buffet. If I lived in St Pete I would go there as much as I could. No outside seating. Highly recommend the lunch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOULD NEVER RETURN”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I am English and have been eating Indian food most of my life, I also cook it at home so I know the taste and spices very well. This restaurant was very hot (no ac) and not very attractive, we ordered Chicken Ticka Masala and I have to say it was the worst I have ever eaten, the sauce tasted like it was made from Tomato soup, the only spice was coriander sprinkled on the top. I am very surprised at the reviews posted here rating a great experience. I can only think that the main chef had returned to his home country and they were filling in with some second rate cook.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You have to try this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent food! Have been several times and have enjoyed everything we have ever ordered. Quality ingredients and good portions for the price. Our kids love this place too!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food - good service - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This restaurant has a good variety of dishes. They are good about suggesting if you are new to Indian food. The naan was very good and came in several flavors. Tomato sauce in tikki marsala was very tasty. Atmosphere is nothing special, but clean and with Indian decor, and they have Bollywood videos playing. All in all a good value for good food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

First off, there are 2 India Grill's listed on Trip Advisor. They are the same restaurant but its location is on Central Avenue not 1st Ave. they have changed locations. Also, their website is http://www.indiagrillinc.com/

Well, I stopped here with my 8 month old and sister for their lunch buffet. I can't BELIEVE there are any bad reviews for the food! The buffet was lovely and had several options. It was not the biggest buffet I've seen but it had great options and everything was fresh. I highly recommend the butter chicken and the curried vegetables!

The staff was very nice and kept offering to make something special for my daughter. It was very much appreciated but she loved the curried veggies!

The decor was kind of cheesy but come on what Indian restaurant isn't. Personally, I enjoy that part about it :)

I cannot wait to go back for lunch and I look forward to trying their full menu for dinner as well!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahansen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Grill also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to India Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing