We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to steak house standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lee Roy Selmon's - CLOSED

Lee Roy Selmon's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not up to steak house standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Felt they relied on sauce instead of good food.
Just not comfortable or feel that value was appropriate for prices.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“birthday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

They were very attentive and offered us samples of dishes we weren't sure about. Everything they recommended and gave us a sample of was right on.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Great Sports Bar" 63”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Never been disappointed,several trips every year for 5 straight years.Really like the Dewey's Stacked Burger with oklahoma sauce.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank UBETME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Side, Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“It's Been Good For Us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Seem's Lee Roy's has been around for about ten years now. I hear they are a corporate owned business now and not a family business like way back when. But the food is still very good. Ever had smoked/BBQ chicken wings? These are the bomb! You are gonna love em! Last visit, I had the beef biscuit. It was tender, lean, and tasted of smoky barbeque in a sweet molasses sauce. Totally what I was hoping for. The side of cornbread casserole was out of this world tasty.
The interior is clean and full of flat screen TV's. Like most all restaurants these days, the high corporate profit item are the drinks here. The dinners are quite moderately priced and generally a good value. Great place for the family and well worth a trip from the beaches if you are visiting on vacation. Check em out! You may find a new favorite place in Lee Roy's. Lee Roy, if you are reading this from far above, I just want to thank you for your personal kindness every time we met. Will never forget your handshake and the smile. Thank you. You are missed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kidritalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“won't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

food ok but greasy i don't eat greasy food lee roy is just a name of a foot ball player. owned by outback.

Helpful?
Thank letsgetfoodnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee Roy Selmon's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing