We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good new, bad news”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in Feb. 2014. The room was nothing special, but comfortable. Nice view of the water and the rather dirty man made beach. The bathroom fixtures need to be updated along with the TV's. They also need to update their info books in the rooms which are outdated. The wireless was probably down about two hours every day. The food in the Periscope was good and reasonable. However, there was always some drama over who should be waiting on whom and where people should sit. Some of the wait staff added an 18% tip to the bill, some didn't. Confusing. Yesenia was our favorite server, kept a smile on her face through all the drama. The property was nice and clean and pretty good for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a courtyard bay view or you get a parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olddude65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 617 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

It is obvious that someone is taking pride in ownership here....it's not new and fancy but our room overlooked the bay, was clean and the entire grounds was so well taken care of. All of staff was very friendly and we really enjoyed it. The larger pool is beautiful! We were pleasantly surprised and I would stay there again for the price. Yes, the rooms could use some updating but it was clean and well taken care of overall!

Room Tip: It was much nicer to stay in a room facing the bay area! Just a really cute place for a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAWtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very old style rooms and tired. The TV should be in a museum and I did not think they existed anymore. It could be a nice place if the owning group put some money back into it. On the up side, the rooms are a good size and the view from the balcony is nice. The breakfast was pretty good and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BGZBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This Hotel/Motel is located on the point of Pinellas County in St. Petersburg. It is right on the Bay and beside a Marina so if you have a boat this is an awesome location for you. It has a small man made beach. There was a pool and hot tub, but we didn't venture out to use them this chilly weekend. They had a Tiki Bar and a restaurant too. We didn't dine in either.

We stayed in the less expensive standard motel room side of the property. They do have suites in the Hotel.

I was using a free 2 night complimentary stay certificate and Magnuson was one of my choices. I only paid $27 in sales tax to my vacation club, so I have no idea how much the room rate for standard motel style rooms at this location would cost.

We had 2 full size comfy, firm beds. We had a small bathroom and small refrigerator. Classic mirror closet with a safe. The television was the older box style and worked fine for the little television we did watch while staying there. It was quiet and we never heard our room neighbors. We had a small plastic table to sit outside that I believe would be used by smokers since the rooms are non-smoking.

I did notice the bathtub in our room didn't drain quickly and I forgot to mention it to management. Otherwise, we received nice little shampoos, soaps, lotions, etc... all was fine.

The Magnuson staff were very friendly and we will stay there again if we decide to take a fishing trip weekend to St. Pete.

I believe this is rated as a 3 star property and I would agree given my room experience, I didn't see the suites so I can't report on those rooms.

Room Tip: I chose this location because it was close to the Skyway Pier so my husband could fish off the pier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tonijoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for business symposium about parasailing and was very impressed overall. This is a smallish inexpensive family resort with good service. Rooms very clean and basic. You could spend a lot more and get less. Would definitely stay again and bring the family.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
5  Thank eywphm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Even with renovations the rooms are nicely put together. everything looks very clean and put together. the day manager n staff are very polite and make you feel like your at home. the courtyard includes a beautiful pool n places to lay out. i couldnt ask for a better place to stay. cant wait to come back the next time we're down here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aemoore2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I are locals and we have stayed at many places in the area, yet this is our favorite place to get away.
This is not the Taj Mahal, yet it is a fun, simple, and practical place to stay. The basic rooms are the ones we have booked the most, they are adequate and clean. Plenty of amenities here for all ages. The beautiful landscaping compliment the views. To top it off, the great team of people that work here are very approachable, friendly, and helpful.
We love the raised Tiki bar w/ wrap around porch which has a breath taking panoramic view of Tampa Bay to the Sunshine Sky Way Bridge, which at night , when lit up is beautiful. You will not find both , these views and great hospitality anywhere else.

For these reasons, we decided to have our Wedding reception here, buffet style and carving station under the Pavilion. The backdrop was the Marina and as you looked out onto the bay watching the boats and ships pass under the beautiful Skyway Bridge.
We had family and friends (some picky,critical,and hard to please) come from NY, NJ, and CA to stay here so we could all be together. We practically had the whole place to ourselves.
Everyone was pleasantly pleased and the staff once again, was a big hit with our guest, they were all friendly and accommodating as ever!!

Kudos to the Chef, he has been here nearly 20 years and his experience really shows.He was absolutly amazing ! All my guest were very pleased. He was getting compliments left and right on how tasty and delicious everything was. Not to mention his presentation, service,and timing was right on!

I have to mention the manager here too, she is truly a professional, approachable, and very friendly person. She has been here for many years too. We truly enjoyed working with her. She did an outstanding job orchestrating everything for us and our guest, and she did it with such poise.

We knew we couldn't please everyone, but somehow it happen, here at the "MAG" and on our Wedding Weekend...priceless!
We can't thank the management and staff enough!!
Good times n great memories! Be back soon :)

Room Tip: Courtyard first floor south side w/ bay view are private, breezy, and pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kimberlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
12.8 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
5.9 mi away
Crystal Bay Hotel
Crystal Bay Hotel
#13 of 43 in St. Petersburg
66 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#11 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,670 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#9 of 43 in St. Petersburg
798 reviews
5.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Ln S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4901 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $85 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing