We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Nearby Hotels
$174
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$171
$157
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Petersburg Northeast(St. Petersburg)(Great Value!)
$99
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hollander Hotel(St. Petersburg)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveler rating
184
213
139
66
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
213
139
66
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbeach baron stiltshot tubskyway bridgepools were cleanshuffle boardtiki huteckerd collegebeautiful view of the baypete beachbooked this hotelbit datedstaff was very friendly and helpfullong weekendan older hotelminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 666 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Overall it was a great stay! Everyone was so friendly. The location is VERY convenient to everything! We went to a concert at the amphitheater, visited friends in Treasure Island and spent a day in Pass a Grille. Location is prime for all that you could want to do!

Service - friendly, quick check in. Full of information on places to go and things to do. They answered all of our question and gave great directions!

Property - two pools and a hot tub. Well maintained with lots of chairs. Beachfront on the bay along with a great walkway around the property. Lots of little spots to stop and relax. The views are amazing! The property is older but well cared for. There are many scenic spots to stop and relax.

Room - the rooms were clean and spacious. We upgraded to a bay front room. It was clean and had alot of room to move around. We had amazing sunrises that you could see from bed!! The outside area had little benches, lounge chairs and tables/chairs to spend time enjoying the outdoors. There was a fridge, microwave and coffepot that were all in great working order.

Food and drinks - the dining was really good - super breakfast!! There is an onsite bar that is right on the bay. Good music, laughter and fun time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room on the bay if you can! It is well worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We have a beautiful property here at the Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove. We are all so happy you enjoyed it. It's very relaxing and tranquil. Our guests have had the pleasure of seeing manatees and dolphins in our marina! Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent two weeks at this hotel-August and I will never go back. There was a huge cockroach in my first suite; I told the front desk at 8am and when I returned to the room 2 hours later the very large cockroach was still walking around my shower. The front desk staff moved me to a new suite (for people with disabilities, which I told them I am not disabled) and after one night a large cockroach was again in my bathroom. This place smells like rotten eggs (sulfer) most of the time. Also, the food here was absolutely horrible; the wings were thick with batter and the grilled cheese was more like plastic cheese. I am not a fussy traveler and I have visited Mexico and Cuba many times with no cockroaches and excellent food. I absolutely do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennymclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience in Florida. We dislike Palmetto Bugs as much as you do. These insects do not like living indoors but can indeed fly into rooms as doors are opened. We have asked our pest control to treat the outside area so that we can discourage a repeat visit. Our Canadian visitors are always intrigued by the various differences nature throws at Floridians.

Our chicken wings are always served "naked" (without batter). We purchase some of the meatiest wings available. These have become a favorite of locals and tourists alike. If you had batter on your wings, they were not prepared or served here.

Florida is a great place to visit and live. Being positioned right on Tampa Bay and occasionally having to deal with the smell of seaweed is challenging and beautiful, all at the same time.

Thanks again for your comments and allowing us an opportunity to reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What Florida is all about! When visiting the St. Pete/Tampa area, I always stay at the Magnuson Hotel and Marina. Very convenient location, close to everything, shopping, dining, beaches, the bay. Best part is you never have to leave the hotel, the restaurant is fantastic and has a wide variety of food for the whole family. Enjoy the two sparkling pools, a playground for the kids, and a playground for the adults at the Napa Hut, a lively open air bar with a fantastic view, especially at sunset. The staff is warm and welcoming and the rooms are great with plenty of outlets for charging everyone's devices! Recommend a room on the point, your patio is right on the water. There is even a marina for those who care to float in. No complaints, just praise for this resort, without the resort prices and headaches.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Okinawa2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy you enjoyed our property. We do have everything you need for your stay right here at the Magnuson! The view is so beautiful! Come back and see us soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A group of friends and family stayed for the Labor Day Weekend. Very convenient location for boating activities. Restaurants, supermarkets, gas stations and some area atractions are within couple minutes from the hotel. Excellent service, very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were little outdated but clean. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelian00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel. Please come back and see us soon! Our staff would love to have you back with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Room stunk, outside smelled like sulphur, yes we forgot the 'do not disturb sign' but yelling quite loud "sorry we're in here" 4 times should've stopped the very loud knocking. I don't see many places that, even if they don't have conditioner, don't have a shampoo plus conditioner. Have signs about not washing towels if they're hung up, but took our 3 large towels away, even though they were hanging, and didn't replace them. Way too expensive for services/quality/amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErinOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews