We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel at Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I used this hotel on a Fishing trip to Florida with two friends, part of the trip was 3 days at Tampa Bay the cost was £65 per night and for £20 ($33) per night we hired a berth in the Marina for our fishing guides boat. The location is outstanding being able to see the skyway bridge from the beach and raised bar. The prices at the bar and in the restaurant again were very reasonable. The rooms were very clean with coffee making facicilities and spacious. Each room comes with a lockable safe.
It has two pools and a hot tub and private beach, in all a perfect place to stay.
I will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Rooms 135 to 150 are on the ground floor and open out onto the grass area in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Looeterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Your fishing trip sounds like a success. We have great fishing here at the hotel right in our marina, but the bay offers lots of options with other boats and charters. The Skyway Bridge is a picturesque background right behind the hotel. We sure hope you will visit again and that you enjoy another fishing adventure in St. Petersburg. Have a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 632 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

Hotel is clean and maintained well. Two very nice pools, one heated. On a small sandy beach, nice setting. Restaurant on site isn't great though.

Room Tip: ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilabet07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed the pool and grounds. We have a very tropical landscape that is quite peaceful. I am not sure what meal you had in the restaurant, but we hope you will give us another try. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We went with family and were not disappointed. Rooms were clean, pools were kept up well and the out door bar was a great place to relax and enjoy a drink. We also had breakfast in the morning at the hotel and were very surprised at the reasonable prices, good food and large portions. We will be back again when in this area.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor if you can. This way you don't hear the people above you walking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Sounds like a great trip. Our resort is very family friendly and it sounds like you really enjoyed several parts of the hotel. We have had some beautiful weather, so I am sure the pools were a hit. Come visit again, hopefully you will be back in the area soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the week of April 11-18. The hotel was fine, it is a little dated, but very clean. The staff was awesome. The pools are great. The beach is fine for laying out, but not so much for swimming, I don't like seweed. There are security guards at night, which I thought was great, no worries about people who shouldn't be there. The restaurant had good food. The Banyon Tree Deli was good as well. I checked for bedbugs, as I do everywhere I go, and there were none to be seen. I am amazed when people complain about WiFi, hello people, you are on vacation!!!!! There is a computer in the lobby if you really need access. Overall I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Thanks everyone at the Magnuson.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

It sure does sound like a great trip! The weather in April was perfect all along the Bay area.
We always strive for excellent service and clean guest rooms. I will pass on all your kind words to my staff. Hope you enjoy the rest of your summer. See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed for a week in April. It is a nice, quiet setting, but a drive to get to anything - including food. It does have a small private marina beach, a large unheated pool, and a smaller heated pool. The beach bar is fun, friendly and seemingly safe - unless Josh is the bartender. I'm convinced he "adds something extra" to select customers drinks. We absolutely did not have an irresponsible amount of drinks, and my SO was acting extremely strange well into the next day. Bartender Terry is an absolute professional, and wonderful to talk to. We had no problems with her service, or drinks. Our room did seem a little outdated, and the water temperature in the shower has some quirks before it settles. Periscope restuarant was the only food place nearby (on-site), and pizza was the only delivery option. Neither options are all that exciting, good or vacation-like. The Free Beach Taxi ($15) was awesome the days we didn't have a car, less expensive than calling a regular cab ($40). I highly recommend calling Andrea with Free Beach Taxi. We will probably not book there again, and I would seriously suggest that management pay very close attention to Josh the bartender.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdeanblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I want to let all you people out there know this hotel gets an a-one from me. The staff are friendly, do their job well and go out of their way to help. The hotel is clean and, unlike some assho...s who said otherwise today, April 30th, 2012,that the place has bedbugs.. WRONG!!!! These people were ticked cuz they were told they would have to move because they did not inform the hotel when they got there. they could have been moved to another area, but theystormed off and told lies about bedbugs which is not true. i've been here a week, and love the food, prices, rooms and service, and, we asked to move to a room on the saside and got one immediately, no extra charge! NO BEDBUGS!!! Will definitely stay again if I come to St. Petes!This three star gets a five star for cleanliness, service pools, and staff!! Many thanks for making our stay awesome. Wendy and Rob, Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada

Room Tip: seaside a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Magnuson hotel is a little worn and off the beat & path but would stay here again. Decent price, friendly staff, great views, nice pool, and little beach bar that was fun.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
12.8 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
5.4 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,476 reviews
5.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Crystal Bay Hotel
Crystal Bay Hotel
#14 of 43 in St. Petersburg
78 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St. Petersburg - Madeira Beach
8 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#9 of 43 in St. Petersburg
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Ln S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4901 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $90 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with bedfinder AG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing