We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is one of the most relaxed hotels that I have ever visited. The staff was really helpful and were not breathing down your neck about rules and regulations. The private beach, two pools, restaurant and tiki bar are all amazing. If your looking for a place to forget and let yourself unwind I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greshicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others. We love it here and it is always nice when guests agree. I am glad you enjoyed the wedding and your stay with us. Come back next summer...we'll be here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 632 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

OLD and run down! The bathroom vanity was dirty, the tiles old and cracked...the sink in our bathroom wouldn't drain. Standing water after 3 people...not a pretty sight! The blow dryer in our room didn't work and was falling out of the wall. :(

We had 3 rooms b/c we were in town for a family graduation. Our daughter and her family's room had an A.C. that wasn't working. The maintenance man said keep it on low. HUH? And then, while we were gone for the day, the maids turned the A.C. OFF!! HUH? Come on people, it was 98 degrees and 100% humidity that day!

Our son and his family's bathroom just looked "ghetto-ish".

The ice machine wouldn't even fill up one bucket of ice!

Front desk at 3:30 a.m. was inattentive when we needed to check out for early airport arrival.

I would NEVER stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LasVegasLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Please do not allow one guest's opinion to be your opinion. Come stay with us so we can show you how much we have to offer. There are several other great reviews below. We have a beautiful property right on Tampa Bay.
It is always our hope that if you have any issue in one of our guest rooms that you would call the desk and inform them so we can provide an immediate solution. We do not turn the A/C's off when the guests are not in the room, especially in the heat of the summer. We hope that you will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We booked this hotel for a 4 night/5 day stay in the Tampa area. When we got there the check in was easy and fast. The room wa snice with a front and back door with the back door opening to a small deck with chairs overlooking the private beach. The beach is on the bay side, so don't expect large waves. However, they have brought in some nice sand and have made it actually really pretty. We enjoyed our stay alot and took advantage of the hotel offering rentals on family size bikes. Plus there is a pool, and playground located centrally in the backside courtroom. This hotel wasn;t made for luxury vacations, but for a family getaway like ours, it was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustinsspace12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

We like to think we have a great hotel right on Tampa Bay. The views across the water are just perfect and on a clear day you can see past the Sunshine Skyway Bridge. We have 2 great pools for relaxation too.
All of our amenities are complimentary, such as tennis, volleyball, shuffle board, etc. The bike rentals are a great addition for our guests, with a small fee.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel several times over the years. Every time we've stayed it has been a stellar experience. We held our wedding on the beach at the hotel and the reception in the pavillion. The staff made our wedding day perfect in every possible way. We had over 100 guests, 40 were from out of town. All the out of town guests stayed at the hotel and many have gone back on their vacations because they had such a wonderful time. We live in town and stay on occasion due to home renovations. I always request to stay near the marina. Almost every trip I have walked out of the room and have seen dolphins playing in the marina. They have the nicest and most accomodating employees. If you haven't been, I would recommend this hotel. It's close to the beach, downtown St Pete and has very easy access to 275.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stpetestephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We do have some great people on staff who truly love their job. I am glad that your wedding was a great success. I will pass on your words to the staff. Even though you are in town, please come visit again soon. If you do, bring us a picture or two from your event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel is nestled conveniently on the tip of the peninsula of St. petersburg. Its location is perfect with there own private beach and beautiful views, close proximity to the activities of downtown, and easy access to St. Pete's beautiful gulf beaches. The property is absolutely wonderful and lush, with a great restaurant and deli as well as a tiki bar that transports you straight into vacation mode. The staff is also very pleasant, always friendly and helpful. Overall great hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavyTraveler373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Our property is a great getaway for families and couples alike. Guests sure do love our private beach. On occasion there are dolphins and manatees that come in for a visit.
Being that we are just a few minutes from downtown, maybe next time you visit you can go to a Rays game at Tropicana Field. The new Dali museum is always great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

What a nice experience! Business travel but it felt like a vacation! There is a beach and a couple of pools. The staff treated me so nice! I ate at the restaurant and the food was good and reasonable. Had a cocktail at the little outside bar and again the service was great. Not a new hotel but nice and clean. Lots of fun. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinggirl094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We contracted with the Magnuson to hold our Annual Skunk Show here. We spoke with Sarah and with Steve and at no time was it ever mentioned, nor was it in our contract, that we were only permitted two pets per room and that there was a pet fee. We tried to straighten this out with Steve but he didn't even have the decency to get on the phone and speak with us. Had we known, we would never have wasted our time going there to look at the venue. Now we're forced to scramble to find another venue available for the same dates as many of our members have already booked vacations. We're off for Orlando on Sunday to view some hotels that don't have this policy - they're obviously glad to have our business.

Room Tip: Never had the opportunity to find out
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Brenda and Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

There are two reviews on Trip Advisor that reference this group; this one and another headlined “Do not stand by their word”. One of these people never had any direct contact with the hotel during the contract phase and is responding only based on what another individual told them.

As one can guess, there is another side to this complaint. This group contracted to bring a skunk show to the hotel. The group contract did not state the number of pets allowed per room however the group was aware of the pet agreement the hotel issues to all pet owners. This document states that we limit the number of pets to two per room. The hotel was willing to make limited concessions on this restriction with the group. When we received a phone call from the very first person looking to reserve a room in this block, they informed us they wanted to put 14 skunks in one guest room. We informed the guest that this was not possible. The group then informed us that is was not acceptable to them to have any restriction as to the number of animals in any of their guest rooms. The group coordinator told us that one year they had over 20 skunks in a single guest room. (They did say this was unusual but it could happen again) When the hotel declined to allow this quantity of animals in a single guest room, the coordinator pulled the group from the hotel. We regret the misunderstanding with this group and we are take full responsibility for this misunderstanding. The hotel made this decision based on what we thought were the best interests of all current and future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
12.8 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
5.4 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,476 reviews
5.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Crystal Bay Hotel
Crystal Bay Hotel
#14 of 43 in St. Petersburg
78 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St. Petersburg - Madeira Beach
8 mi away
Comfort Inn North
Comfort Inn North
#9 of 43 in St. Petersburg
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Ln S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4901 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $90 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with bedfinder AG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing