We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Experience at Marina Cove”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Experience at Marina Cove”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I live in St. Pete and spent most of the day at Marina Cove visiting family from out of town this past weekend. The grounds of this hotel are gorgeous and laid back. Around every corner was a new surprise and a new view. If you have kids or a large group, this is an awesome place to just hang out. I did find the main pool to be very nice but the 2nd was looks like it was either dirty or in need of some repair work. The beach area where the kids played was clean and I saw no debris washed up there. I have seen people complain about this in other posts but it could just be debris comes in with the tide. Speaking of tide, at low tide it did get smelly but again this is a FL problem and depending on the time of year, you will find this common in some places more than others. Overall a a really good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cope-Brennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    186
    119
    59
    60
See reviews for
199
177
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This place was not what we expected. The beach was gross we even had the hotel service desk gal tell us she wouldn't swim in the water. It smelled gross the room was ok out dated and there were bugs every where. The pictures are very miss leading and the manager was less than helpfull and would not refund any of our money even though we left and got a much better hotel. We even had a cop when we were leaving tell us South St Pete was not a safe place to visit and to get out of there and roll up our windows. Yikes!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yonker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The beach does experience periods when seaweed blows onto our beach (depending on weather and winds) but this is cleaned up daily, tides permitting. Your experience with lovebugs was an unfortunate luck of the draw. Lovebugs invade Florida every year and last for about 10 – 14 days. They die within 3 days; right after mating. You will be glad to hear that they are long gone already.

Guest safety is not something we take lightly. According to crime statistics compiled by the FBI, the neighborhood the hotel occupies is rated three times safer than the city of St. Petersburg as a whole.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the Magnuson Hotel. Please read some of the other fine comments we have received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights as our "base camp" to better familiarize ourselves with the St. Pete Beach area. The hotel is conveniently located to three of our new favorite places- Pass a Grille beach, Ft Desoto park, and Mazzaro's Italian Market. You are also close to Tropicana Field, Publix, and Walgreens. After spending the day exploring, it was nice to come back to the resort and enjoy the pools angle Tiki bar. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the pools are wonderful. The tiki bar was also very nice- good drinks and view. Our room was more than adequate- clean, balcony, surprisingly quite, small fridge, maid service.... Even though the resort is on the water, don't expect a gorgeous sandy white beach. It is nice to be on the water, but do expect to drive to the beach.

Room Tip: Hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaKenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Our hotel location sure is perfect to get to your 3 favorite spots; Pass a Grille Beach, Ft Desoto Park, and Mazzaro's Italian Market. You can always catch a Rays game at Tropicana Field too.
We sit on Tampa Bay with endless water views of the Sunshine Skyway Bridge. We are in a quiet cove just minutes away from St. Pete Beach. Hope you had a great Memorial Day weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We took spring break with our daughter's family. Our biggest challenge was slow service in the resturaunt. They seemed to be under staffed at critical hours.
I suppose we could look at that as family bonding time!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slke59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I got married at St Pete & based on the reviews we decided to stay 4 days here :) When we drove in we had a shock cause it does not seem to be great, a bit motel style BUT we had a good sized room with 2 windows, a private balcony & breathtaking views!! We could see stingrays, storks, pelicans & big fish from our own balcony. Room was very clean, slightly outdated. Staff was friendly, place was very quiet. They have 2 pools and a jacuzzi, we used only 1 pool and it was lovely! Hardly anyone around & clean. Cannot complain about anything except that:
- internet was very slow & often did not work, they did try to do something about it every time but the problem was still not solved.
- their private beach is in a cove & sea tends to be unclear & dirty (the views beat this negative point & the pools are awesome!)
- the huge truck tracks on the sand were disturbing. They should really be raked off. The beach is so sweet all in all ! We never heard trucks but we guessed they brought drinks for the tikibar some time in the morning/day? Overall I loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krysMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We picked this hotel based on many positive reviews on this web site and their location on the water. Overall, we had an awesome stay. Their pool was awesome (there was another pool but we did not use it). Having a couple of drinks at the tiki bar was just unforgettable. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Coffee was the best, prices were reasonable and service was second to none. We even played shuffleboard one night. One thing that I wish they would not advertise so much is their "100 feet of private beach". While they definitely have it, it is not a nice part of the bay. The water is dirty and there is a marina smell all around. I would not book this hotel because of the beach but everything else was awesome. Their beautiful courtyard and the pool more than made up for the subpar beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler42811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
We are so glad you picked us based upon reviews. Of course, everyone who stays with us may have a different opinion, but we love when guests give us a chance so we can show them all we have to offer at the resort. Our pools and Nepa Hut Beach Bar keep guests coming back for years. Hopefully you will make this a yearly vacation, we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed three nights at this hotel and visited Busch Gardens from there. The pool area is nice with a reasonably priced Deli on premises. We liked the beach bar. Rooms were quiet despite being close to I-275. Internet and parking is free. It's only 40 minutes to Busch Gardens and Tampa.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
We are a preferred hotel with Busch Gardens. It is a great parternship that our guests sure do enjoy. After the parks, our pools are the perfect place to relax and spend time with family.
We have no resort fee, complimentary parking and complimentary internet. We like to think of our hotel as the best place to visit in St. Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
4.1 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
1.4 mi away
Flamingo Resort
Flamingo Resort
#31 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Property: Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Ln S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4901 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing