We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply relaxing, clean & quiet!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply relaxing, clean & quiet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I got married at St Pete & based on the reviews we decided to stay 4 days here :) When we drove in we had a shock cause it does not seem to be great, a bit motel style BUT we had a good sized room with 2 windows, a private balcony & breathtaking views!! We could see stingrays, storks, pelicans & big fish from our own balcony. Room was very clean, slightly outdated. Staff was friendly, place was very quiet. They have 2 pools and a jacuzzi, we used only 1 pool and it was lovely! Hardly anyone around & clean. Cannot complain about anything except that:
- internet was very slow & often did not work, they did try to do something about it every time but the problem was still not solved.
- their private beach is in a cove & sea tends to be unclear & dirty (the views beat this negative point & the pools are awesome!)
- the huge truck tracks on the sand were disturbing. They should really be raked off. The beach is so sweet all in all ! We never heard trucks but we guessed they brought drinks for the tikibar some time in the morning/day? Overall I loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krysMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    181
    114
    56
    58
See reviews for
191
172
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

We picked this hotel based on many positive reviews on this web site and their location on the water. Overall, we had an awesome stay. Their pool was awesome (there was another pool but we did not use it). Having a couple of drinks at the tiki bar was just unforgettable. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Coffee was the best, prices were reasonable and service was second to none. We even played shuffleboard one night. One thing that I wish they would not advertise so much is their "100 feet of private beach". While they definitely have it, it is not a nice part of the bay. The water is dirty and there is a marina smell all around. I would not book this hotel because of the beach but everything else was awesome. Their beautiful courtyard and the pool more than made up for the subpar beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler42811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
We are so glad you picked us based upon reviews. Of course, everyone who stays with us may have a different opinion, but we love when guests give us a chance so we can show them all we have to offer at the resort. Our pools and Nepa Hut Beach Bar keep guests coming back for years. Hopefully you will make this a yearly vacation, we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed three nights at this hotel and visited Busch Gardens from there. The pool area is nice with a reasonably priced Deli on premises. We liked the beach bar. Rooms were quiet despite being close to I-275. Internet and parking is free. It's only 40 minutes to Busch Gardens and Tampa.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
We are a preferred hotel with Busch Gardens. It is a great parternship that our guests sure do enjoy. After the parks, our pools are the perfect place to relax and spend time with family.
We have no resort fee, complimentary parking and complimentary internet. We like to think of our hotel as the best place to visit in St. Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

I recently had a reservation with the Magnuson. 2 days before I was supposed to stay there for a wedding my grandmother passed away. I contacted the manager Joel, who by the way was the rudest person in the HOSPITALITY business I have come in contact with. He refused to give me a refund due to booking with travelocity. Instead offered me a reservation later at there hotel as long as and I quote,"It was not peak season." No compassion was offered instead just smart pretentious remarks. I was going for a wedding and do not plan on ever going to St. Pete. for a vacation. Do not stay here if you enjoy staying somewhere where the management will treat you with respect and as a person. Joel I hope you find yourself in my position somewhere down the road and remember this incident.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Tedwards912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
We really get upset when a guest is dissatisfied. When we make a mistake (or even if we have not; like in this situation), we will do everything we can to come to a fair settlement. Using third party web sites do sometimes have disadvantages. In this case the guest reserved their room on a travel site that does not belong to the hotel and to receive the discount he wanted, they had to agree to a non-cancellation term. The guest was fully aware of the risk when he reserved this room with this third party site. When something like this happens, we always try to accommodate a guest by allowing them to pick any other date; up to a full 18 months, provided they stay in the same rate category room. We understand this can be upsetting and we tried to work with this guest but no solution was acceptable except a full refund. It is always best to reserve a room directly with the hotel. In most cases, the hotel either has a lowest rate guarantee or is willing to offer room rates you may find on other third party sites. In any event, booking directly with the hotel always leaves you in a better position when something happens that prevents one from traveling as planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Petersburg hotels

Tallmadge. Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Noe was our server at the the hotel Resturant and service was poor. When we got there around 6pm we were his onl table. We had asked if the fish we ordered was fresh not frozen he stated fresh which it was not. I would not spend the time or $$$ at the resturant . The room was fine. Front desk staff was very good. Pool was great!!! Beach not so much. Nice place to stay if you was to fish from shore. We caught several fish from shore. AVOID NOE if you eat at the resturant. Poor Service 18% tip no matter what...Service was not worth the 18%.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cgonidakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for letting us know about one of our servers misrepresenting the fish as fresh. Once you have had “fresh” fish, everything else just does not taste the same (although “fresh frozen” is pretty darn good as well). We sure wish you would have said something while you were here. Many of our guests actually go fishing (like yourself) and return with their catch asking if we will cook it for them. Of course, if given enough advance notice, we are always willing to do this and we have delighted our guests with some great feasts! There is nothing like eating the fish you catch.

I am sorry that you misunderstood the tipping however we do NOT require restaurants guests to pay 18% gratuity, “no matter what”. We do however; provide tipping etiquette on every page of our menu and on all restaurant receipts. We also offer all restaurant guests an opportunity to talk with a supervisor if they feel the server did not earn 18%. We do this because many of our guests are not from the United States and do not understand how to tip.

Thank You for letting us know how much you enjoyed the room, pools and staff!! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

When you first arrive, you are greeted by rooms that look more like cabanas. The landscape throughout the grounds are tropical, plush, and very well maintained. I was reminded of Disney Resorts and hotels in the Florida Keyes. We had three generation on this vacation with ages ranging from 74 - 3. Everyone had a great time. The hotel offers shuffle board, tennis, bicycle rentals, a pool table, electronic darts, two pools and a hot tub. There is a bar on stilts overlooking the beach and pools. The beach is actually sand the hotel put down over 1000 feet that lets you stroll out in waist high water where the manatee play and the fish jump. We encountered horseshoe crabs on our visit. The hotel sits so far down on the tip of St. Petersburg that I felt cut off from the rest of the world. However, traveling less than one mile brings you to a grocery store, drug store, and many resturants. The rooms were some of the cleanest I have encountered. I have found my new favorite spot. The drawbacks are easy fixes. The coffee makers provided by the hotel make one cup at a time. You get 3 regular and 3 decaf pouches. If you are a coffee drinker, bring your own coffee and maker. Also, the hotel provides microwaves for $5 a day plus tax. If you need one, bring one. Also, ask your server if gratuity is figured into your check total. I ended up double tipping.

Room Tip: Book online and take advantage of flexable dates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryB0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
I loved the title of your post. Our hotel is truly a "secret getaway close to everything". We have amenities for guests of all ages. We are so glad you had a great time here with us. We have had perfect weather for a vacation in St. Petersburg.
Our hotel sits at the most southern tip of St. Petersburg; that you actually have a water view as far as you can see. But like you said, there are so many local attractions close by for you to visit. Perhaps now you can make it a tradition to vacation here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed in the two story suite. It was very clean and spacious. It comes with a two burner stove, microwave and mini fridge. The bathroom is upstairs though. Nice showerhead and two sinks. The beds and pillows were so comfortable. Also has a second floor balcony, not private though. Loved the outside tiki bar, two pools and view of the bay. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassyroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Our 2 story townhouses are perfect for a family vacation. They can sleep up to 6 people and have great amenities for a weekend away. The outside Nepa Hut Beach Bar is a favorite amongst locals and vacationers alike. It has drink specials and a perfect view of Tampa Bay. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Petersburg
5.4 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flamingo Resort
Flamingo Resort
#29 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Property: Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Address: 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Petersburg
Holiday Inn Marina Cove
Holiday Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing