We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Nearby Hotels
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$152
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Petersburg Northeast(St. Petersburg)(Great Value!)
$97
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn on Third(St. Petersburg)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveler rating
181
210
136
65
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
210
136
65
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbeach baron stiltshot tubskyway bridgeshuffle boardeckerd collegetiki hutbeautiful view of the baypete beachbooked this hotelroom was clean and comfortablestaff was very friendly and helpfullong weekendan older hotelminute drivest pete
Filter
Updating list...
595 - 600 of 656 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Our family wanted a place to stay on our family vacation that didn't break the bank.

The package with Busch gardens made this hotel a steal of a deal.

We were able to check in early, use the pools & playground and unwind from our long trip.

The staff was exemplerary. They knew it was our daughter's birthday & they had a birthday cake & balloon waiting for us after a long day at Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julana19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Family vacations are our speciality. We are so fortunate to parter with Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Being able to sell the tickets at our front desk, saves guests time when they get to the park. Happy Birthday again to your daughter. We are glad you all enjoyed the cake. Hopefully we will see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

What can I say? I didnt plan ahead. We were going to, 'play it by ear" during spring break! All the beach hotels were booked solid and I had to find somethng fast. My wife was getting steamed, my kids were getting restless. I found the Magnuson on tripAdvisor and although the location looked like it was on the freeway, I booked it..
The hotel is a great little gem! My 6 and 4 year olds loved the two pools and spend hours there daily. There were lots of little kids running around everywhere and the playground is terrific too. The Staff are all very friendly and helpful except for one guy who should just get out ot the hospitality business because he just doesn't care; but he's just a bad egg. We were upgraded to the kids suite which had a bunkbed and video games/tv. That was a cool feature. The restaurant was okay and after 2-3 meals there, we were done; but in a pinch, I would't hesitate to eat there. We booked an Eggmont Caye tour that left right from the hotel and that was really convienient... The beaches are 10 minutes away by car and we did that twice - not a bid deal. Overall, the Magnuson really helped us out and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: use a coupon or triple AAA for the best deal
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boulderjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Sometimes when you book things last minute, it works out for the best! We are glad you and your family had a great stay with us. We have 3 kid's suites at the hotel and they are usually a big hit.
We are so glad that we could help you out in a pinch. Next time you head our way over Spring Break, call us in advance and maybe we can assign you the same room. Creating memories is the best part of being on vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever been to....And I have been around the world!
The price is excessive (158$ +tax) for what you get.
Totally outdated....mold in the room (stinky), and dirty....found nasty hair in the tub, on the door, on the floor...It was old. The pools seemed dirty (the water was not clear)...and we even found a dirty underwear on one of the walk way. Plus trash in the bushes...
I mean, this was BAD.
DO NOT GO THERE EVER!!!!!!
I would not pay 10$ to stay there and would rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmmiiiaaa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

We all suffer when guest complaints like these come up. I will be the first to tell you that we are not perfect, no hotel is. What separates a good hotel from a bad hotel; the people that work there. We understand that this guest only had a 1 night reservation but regardless, why would you not say something during your stay so that we could have had an opportunity to make things right?
We are sorry but we just could not find what it was that upset you. Our pools are clear (perhaps the thunderstorms this week had something to do with what you saw)? We found no mold anywhere, no underwear on the sidewalks (but we did have 60+ high school girls here so maybe they were playing games) and the trash in the bushes, well it does happen because we certainly pick a lot up everyday. I could go on but all of that does not matter now. Our commitment to guest satisfaction remains strong. Read some of the other reviews for a fair comparison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is a frequent destination for my wife and I during February and March. Our stay this year was for 9 days and this year an added bonus was the beautiful weather for the full 9 day period. Quite a change from last year when we nearly froze and actually had to use the room heat just to be comfortable.
My wife and I are in our 60's, we have stayed in the Tampa Bay (mostly St. Pete) area almost every year since 1980 and have stayed in more motels and resorts than we care to count. The Magnuson, formerly the Holiday Inn SunSpree, is our favorite of them all and have recommended it to many. We love the place for a variety of reasons, the views are fantastic, the staff is always eager to please, it has it's own beach as well as wonderful pool and hot tub, nice restaurant and most of all it's only 15 minutes to the St. Pete Beaches and only 20 minutes to the Pier area downtown. If you like solitude and quaint out of the way places we think you will find the Magnuson as appealing as we do.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwcook01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Our weather this February and March has been great! We are so glad that you and your wife had a wonderful stay with us at the hotel and in St. Petersburg. This area has really grown since 1980 and we are so lucky to be a part of the community. You are right...although there are so many things to do at the hotel, we are just minutes away from all the area hot spots and attractions. Come visit us again, see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This is the 3rd time staying here over a 20 year period when it has gone from being a Days Inn to a Holiday Inn and now to a Magnuson Hotel. Whilst it is in need of a bit of TLC it is still a beautiful position away from the madness of St Pete Beach. If you are lucky or unlucky !!!! enough to be met by Joel Schunk and Jessica then that will set the mood for your stay. Like them, all staff seemed enthusiatic and very helpful and add to that the numerous birds, lizard and dolphin sitings and you can't help but enjoy yourself. And if you don' then you have Joel to contend with. Reasonably priced it is a family friendly hotel Ideally placed for visits to Busch Gardens etc Denis Golding

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springmans, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

Wow....how nice to know you have come back after all these years. We are so lucky to work at the hotel, so it makes us feel great when our guests come back for a visit. Our staff takes great pride in making sure each guest has an individualized experience. The dolphins have been out in the bay everyday now that the weather is getting warmer. We hope you come back to visit for a 4th time. Have a great March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews