We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice neighborhood tavern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Northeast Taven

Old Northeast Taven
Ranked #152 of 857 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
129 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Good beer and wine selection. We enjoyed the few drinks we had here. Would highly recommend. Service was good and it was a nice, friendly atmosphere. We will be back again!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reese5033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get there early to get a table, popular with the locals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I will visit this little tavern every time I am in St. Pete. Have had my expectations exceeded twice. Unique stuff on the menu, like a flank steak sandwich, apple cole slaw with a kick, unique cracker style pizza crusts. Good beer. I stick with the Tampa light. Friendly service. Leisurely pace. Sports bar atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fine example of a pub every neighborhood needs...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I visit every time I am in St. Pete... it's Saturday night, Labor Day Weekend, headed to Jannus Live to witness The Hip Abduction, I suggest to the group, we've got to hit the Old Northeast Tavern. It was a true hit, a great place for fine bar food, the gourmet pizzas, the roasted portabella, the menu is incredible... a nice selection of craft brews, an atmosphere like no other! Live music added to the experience along with a friendly staff, I highly recommend a visit...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great atmosphere with great food and a huge beer selection. Only complaint I have is it's hard to find a parking spot

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Torregrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Funky Neighborhood Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Apparently The Old Northeast Tavern is the place of choice by locals....and for good reason. It was packed on a Friday Night with mostly young couples and families...some with a couple of kids in tow. We turned a few heads when we went in the front door...obviously we were from out of town.
The menu offered a nice variety of small plates, pizza and sandwiches. My wife raved about her scallops and I was more than happy with my rueben. We both raved about the reasonable prices and friendly service.
If you are tired of being a tourist this is a great place to make you feel at home.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank platterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Northeast Taven also viewed

 

Been to Old Northeast Taven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing