We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early to get a table, popular with the locals.”

Old Northeast Taven
Ranked #135 of 902 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get there early to get a table, popular with the locals.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I will visit this little tavern every time I am in St. Pete. Have had my expectations exceeded twice. Unique stuff on the menu, like a flank steak sandwich, apple cole slaw with a kick, unique cracker style pizza crusts. Good beer. I stick with the Tampa light. Friendly service. Leisurely pace. Sports bar atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fine example of a pub every neighborhood needs...”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I visit every time I am in St. Pete... it's Saturday night, Labor Day Weekend, headed to Jannus Live to witness The Hip Abduction, I suggest to the group, we've got to hit the Old Northeast Tavern. It was a true hit, a great place for fine bar food, the gourmet pizzas, the roasted portabella, the menu is incredible... a nice selection of craft brews, an atmosphere like no other! Live music added to the experience along with a friendly staff, I highly recommend a visit...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great atmosphere with great food and a huge beer selection. Only complaint I have is it's hard to find a parking spot

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torregrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Funky Neighborhood Bar”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Apparently The Old Northeast Tavern is the place of choice by locals....and for good reason. It was packed on a Friday Night with mostly young couples and families...some with a couple of kids in tow. We turned a few heads when we went in the front door...obviously we were from out of town.
The menu offered a nice variety of small plates, pizza and sandwiches. My wife raved about her scallops and I was more than happy with my rueben. We both raved about the reasonable prices and friendly service.
If you are tired of being a tourist this is a great place to make you feel at home.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank platterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great find in St Pete”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This was our first visit to the Tavern and we will be returning. The staff were extremely pleasant and knowledgeable about all the wonderful beers on tap. The food was excellent. We ordered two appetizers, one was the chicken and plantain quesadilla and the other was the lump crab cake, both were delicious. The only thing i would mention is that because of the restaurant's location the parking is limited, but it is worth the walk....

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thepublovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Northeast Taven also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Old Northeast Taven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing