We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Dolphin Racer

Dolphin Racer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take an exhilarating tour on the Dolphin Racer!Watch as acrobatic bottlenose dolphin surf and dive alongside!This high-speed tour lasts between 1-1.5 hours beginning with a narration by the Captain and then leading into a breathtaking chase with nature as the speedboat picks up speed and looks for dolphin.The huge wake created by the Dolphin Racer attracts jumping dolphins.It's sure to be an adventure you will remember for a lifetime. Don't forget to bring your camera.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Took this trip today and while it was a decent length cruise (about 2 hours), the best views of dolphins were from the shore after we returned to the dock. Certainly nothing like the videos on the website with the dolphins surfing in the wake. No offer of the promised free trip as a result though. While they obviously can't force the dolphins to play, this was pretty expensive for a bog standard trip out on the water, so I certainly wouldn't recommend this to others.

Thank Englishman-in-theUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLiteFlorida, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Racer, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your trip. A return pass should have been offered to you by one of the staff members; if not, you would not have been out of line asking for one. While we do everything we can to entice the dolphins to follow/surf in our wake, they are wild creatures and sometimes don't feel like "playing". As you can see from our other reviews, we rarely have complaints about the trip and hope you will give us another try if you return. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 439 of 461 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

If your in the area this is a must do! Make sure you sit in the back of the boat that's where all the action is!!The staff is friendly and funny.We go on this boat everytime we come down! The dolphins are amazing!! Love love love it!!

Thank Pileofcrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLiteFlorida, Director of Sales at Dolphin Racer, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for visiting us again! We appreciate you including us in your travel plans and recommending our cruise. If you have any pictures that you'd like to share, please post them on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

So I had seen wild dolphins before this trip and had some great pics of them too so my expectations were not THAT high. However the dolphins dropped my jaw to the boat's floor. They came so close to the boat my tele zoom lens was almost useless. They played, hopped, chased, surfed... It was just fun to watch and the pics I took are by far the best dolphin or action pics I've managed to take.

The captain was a hoot. He had the passangers rolling on the floor laughing. I just had to ask him after the ride if he had done stand-up, and guess what, he had! Very funny and entertaining.

Now here's something to the photographers. Take a wide lens with you. My 70-200mm f/4 IS (on a Canon 5D Mk II) was too long for the dolphins that were jumping only 3-4 feet behind the boat. I changed the lens to 24-105mm f/4 IS which was by far a better lens for this ride. Yes, there might be a change you MIGHT need that zoom lens if some dolphins decide to surf the side waves about 30-40 feet behind the boat, but the best pics if took was with 24-105mm lens, many of them with a 24mm focal length.

So all in all: do yourself a favour and take this trip. It will most likely to be the best experience you've had in a long time.

2  Thank TomiTakamaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLiteFlorida, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Racer, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for visiting us from Finland! You wrote a great review with some very helpful tips for fellow photographers. We would love to see your photos; would you please post them on our Facebook page? /DolphinRacer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We saw some dolphins in the distance and didn't seem to have much luck with close ups. The crew was very eager to make it an enjoyable ride and find some dolphins to watch and even didn't mind to extend the announced cruise time significantly. When we nearly gave up we had the luck to have a bunch of dolphins jumping in the waves. The fee is pretty low compared to other attractions and also compared to speed boat rides in other locations, which is a bonus. Try to sit in the last row, that's the top spot for pictures with the dolphins.

Thank Traveller0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLiteFlorida, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Racer, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for riding the Dolphin Racer! We're ecstatic that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is the BEST thing I have done in Florida! There was a momma and a baby out on our trip. We saw more than 10 dolphins on our trip, jumping an playing in the wake. Sit in the back of the boat for the best view. We went in January the weather was nice mid 70's and the boat was not full, so everyone got a great view. Can't wait to do this one again.

Thank SAM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarLiteFlorida, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Racer, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hi Sam - what great photos! We're so happy to hear that you had a great day and would like to encourage you to post your photos on our Facebook page. We're looking forward to having you ride with us again! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Racer also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Racer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing