We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sweet B&B with a great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cordova Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cordova Inn
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet B&B with a great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Words can't explain how much I loved and enjoyed my stay at the pier. I have never encountered a more hospitable crowd of workers. From when I walked in til the time I left I felt special and really taken care of. The rooms are good sized and clean. Happy hour and dinner were full of laughs and my friends and I made great memories. Chef really aided with that. From start to finish the pier is quite the experiance. Thank you Pier staff for all you did for us to make our trip special and everyone reading this you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsten911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so glad that you had a wonderful time with us. We hope you chose to come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    112
    49
    36
    32
See reviews for
35
180
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's not a new hotel. It reminded me of my childhood when we went to Atlantic City and stayed a few blocks off of the boardwalk. BUT, a few friends came into down and we stayed with them here and had the time of our life. GET the deluxe room and book directly with them for the best price. They have a small breakfast, a quaint dining room for meals, and I loved my stay here. A few blocks from the heart of one of the countries great downtowns. The teens had a blast at the clubs, we took the ghost tour. Great jazz and food. Took in a Baseball game too! Great transportation. Easy walk to parks and museums. Staff couldn't be better, even the flaws added to the charm.

Room Tip: book with them directly for best price get deluxe room suite, it's so much bigger and worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sokemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again and continue providing many memories of laughter and joy at The Pier Hotel.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ive stayed here time and time again for both business and pleasure for the last 4 years and enjoyed it every time.

New owners who have really changed it up for the good. Like the lovely renovations and the dinner they offer which chef toby jas never failed me on. The front desk staff is super helpful and I would recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayalexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Quaint old hotel in downtown St. Pete. Nicely appointed, walk to pier and other trendy local restaurants. While our ghost did not make its presence, we called to him during the night nonetheless! Sat on the Florida style veranda for our happy hour cocktail before heading out to a nice casual dinner and drinks.

Room Tip: Go upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferdik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Charles has not made an appearance in awhile however we are happy you still enjoyed yourself. We hope you come and stay with us again and continue making fond memories at The Pier Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's been a few years since we happily had stayed at the Pier -- NEVER again. When we arrived the man on duty told us our reservation was for the day before - fortunately I had a printout of the confirmation with me.
The internet connection did not work well so we wound up going to a distant McDonalds with WiFi to do our work at 9pm. The hotel manager (owner?) couldn't get our PC to work either, but he blamed the problem on us and just walked away after giving us directions to a McD which turned out to be in a scary part of town .
The room has a mattress with a very mushy 2 - 3 " thick mattress topper, probably to save buying a decent new mattress in this old joint. The room has a very loud refrigerator but no on/off controls which could not be unplugged as well as a very loud a/c window unit. The shower is an improvised affair in an ancient tub with high sides which can be difficult to negotiate, but there are no handholds. One of us slipped.
At 7am, two men who turned out to be the cook and the person at the desk engaged in a loud conversation and laughter which resounded through the open hall and staircase to all the lower rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countylines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are a Historic hotel, the oldest in St. Petersburg, so there are a few quirks; some call it charm. We do have wall units and some of the rooms have refrigerators. We apologize for any inconvenience the noise may have caused you. In addition, the internet is out of our control we can only do so much to make it wok. We hope you give us another chance to make a better impression. If not thank you for your business and we wish you the best.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend. Most everything was booked up, but this was available. Atmosphere like a B&B. Could not ask for better customer service; rare find in today's world. Room was clean and it was very quite/peaceful. Breakfast was very good. The Chef was helfpul and courteous. Two things I would change, the price of the room and parking. Parking is in a public parking area. I got the last available park that day. The room was smaller than I expected, but grew on me; the price should be a little less for the size of the room/bathroom. Good location if you want to see downtown venues, most places are within walking distance. Would definetely come back!

Room Tip: Book Early, only 33 rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are so glad you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed yourself. If you chose to stay again let us know you are a repeat guest and make sure you call. We would love to help you make more memories here in St. Petersburg.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The pier Hotel has a lot of history and potential, but for the money our stay was disappointing.

My wife and I are Tampa Bay locals and went to St. Pete for a weekend getaway... the Pier Hotel was the only hotel downtown with availability (except the $250/night Vinoy). Even at booking I thought $175 a night was kind of pricey, but i took it over the more expensive option. That was a bad decision... I probably would have gotten my money's worth at the Vinoy. I paid 6$ extra per day to park in a dirt lot and an $8 credit-card payment fee. The advertised continental breakfast was miniature bagels, make-your-own oatmeal, or tiny cheese danishes. Not a single fruit to be found. Also, there is no elevator and the small a/c unit in the room was overworked during the mid-80s afternoon in May... I couldn't imagine staying in the hotel in July or August.

Anyhow, none of this stuff really ruined our weekend, as we were out of the room except to nap or sleep, but I left feeling really disappointed in what I got for the money I spent. We won't be visiting again.

A few good things: The coffee was decent, the wifi was free and quick-enough and the cleaning staff were very helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier253, Guest Relations Manager at The Cordova Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are sorry you did not find The Pier Hotel to be a good value. Breakfast has been improved and there always is a hot breakfast for those who do not wish to partake of the continental breakfast. We do still have the wall a/c units as do most historic hotels. We hope you give us another chance to make a better memory of The Pier Hotel.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#3 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#14 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#9 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#15 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cordova Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cordova Inn

Property: The Cordova Inn
Address: 253 2nd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3317 (Formerly Pier Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cordova Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordova Inn, located in historic downtown St Petersburg, welcomes you. We are a boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown St Pete, and all of the fun, romance and excitement of St. Petersburg awaits, just footsteps away. When you stay at The Cordova Inn, you'll enjoy modern amenities merged with historic ambiance. As an award winning boutique hotel, we'll work hard to make your stay in downtown St. Petersburg FL a wonderful experience while you enjoy all the best that St Pete has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cordova Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier Hotel St Petersburg
Pier St Petersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing